Skip to content

Bits from Marvin Williams Interview, 1/9

January 10, 2014
tags: ,

marvin

Do you see yourself as a long-term member of the Utah Jazz?
I love, love, love being in Salt Lake. I love playing for the Jazz. From the moment I got traded here, man, I really have enjoyed myself. Now, obviously the NBA is a business and I do understand that. I’ve been around long enough to understand that.

But if it was my choice, without a doubt I’d be wearing a Utah Jazz uniform next year. So, hopefully things work out for the better, and hopefully I am able to return here next year…I hope I can continue to be here long term.

On being a complementary player
You know, my whole career, you know, I’ve always been a piece. You know, I’ve never really been the guy, on any team I’ve ever played on in my whole life, you know, outside of high school. But, heck, even still on my high school team I was a piece of the team. So, I’ve always enjoyed being a piece.

You know, when I was in Atlanta, I was a piece of that core group that was down there for very, for so long, and you know, here in Utah I’m a piece of the puzzle as well. So I’ve never minded.

The only issue is when you are drafted so high, you know, guys kinda expect a lot more from you. They want you to be the guy. But you know, I can’t say I’ve ever been comfortable being the guy. I’ve never asked to be the guy. I’ve just always enjoyed being a piece of what is going on, and I think I’ve done a pretty good job just kinda playing my role.

Were you surprised by how quickly you were able to come back from Achilles’ surgery?
I have to be 100 percent honest, man. I was a little surprised I was able to come back as soon as I did. When I had the surgery, the doctor told me it would be four to six months, and he thought it would be closer to six months…He was kinda shooting for December/January, kind of around this time, actually, he thought I would be back playing games.

But you know what? I kept my faith in God the whole summer, man, and you know, He definitely healed me, and He got me back to where I needed to be, and I’m thankful to be a part of this team right now.

On his mask
I kinda like the mask, though. You know, I hated it at first, man. I was so mad at Derrick [Favors] for like three weeks for breaking my nose. But you know, it wasn’t his fault, man. He was just playing hard. But I hated the mask at first. I hated it. But then I got a custom mask…and it doesn’t bother me at all. I don’t notice it at all…

I think I’m gonna wear it at least for the rest of the season. At least for the rest of the season. I’ve spent so much time in it and I became comfortable in it now to the point where if I don’t have it on, I’m uncomfortable in the game [if] I don’t have it on. So I don’t like having that on my mind. So I think for the rest of the season I will keep it on and then I’ll kinda [get] used to playing without it again this summer.

On getting his degree
I’m about to graduate, hopefully at the end of the summer, so I’ll be excited to have my degree under my belt…[Degree] could be African-American studies, it could be sociology. But either way, I’m close to getting it in either one, so I’m pretty excited about that…

Obviously going to school for one year, I had a long road ahead of me. But you know, it’s looking like 10 summers later, I’m gonna finish it. (1280)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    January 10, 2014 8:29 pm

    I wouldn’t mind resigning marv if the price is right. It’s really cool that he recognizes that he’s just a piece. Seems like a pretty cool guy too, I just wish he was coming off the bench.

  2. cubsmodano permalink
    January 10, 2014 9:49 pm

    Marvin’s filled the role that Ty’s given him this season and has always seemed like a quality individual. I hope everything lines up and he’s a rotation player again next year.

  3. Paul Johnson permalink
    January 11, 2014 12:36 am

    As a long SF or stretch-4-PF, I’ve always liked Marvin for what he could offer on the defensive end of the floor. He has the length, size and mobility to be able to competently guard some of the mobile, hard-to-guard, all-star forwards in the league, such as Kevin Durant, Carmelo Anthony, LeBron James, Kobe Bryant and Dirk Nowitski. Almost no one can really guard any of those guys effectively, but Marvin can at least slow them down and maybe hold them to their average. Also, he doesn’t hurt the team on offense, but brings some great slashing, shooting, passing and rebounding skills to the forward positions, as well. Finally, he is in the prime of his career at age 27, in his 9th year in the league, and probably is not expecting to receive an outrageous amount on his next contract. I don’t really like him in the role of “every game starter at the PF position,” because he really doesn’t have the strength and bulk to match up effectively with proto-type power forwards. However, I do think he is very good in the “stretch-4” position or at the SF position, so I think he should be getting at least 25-30 minutes per game, if the Jazz bring him back next year. I think he is the one veteran player on the current team that the Jazz would really like to sign and bring back with their young core. Unless the Jazz get a really great trade offer for him prior to the trade deadline, I suspect they will keep him around and try to re-sign him during the off-season.

  4. January 11, 2014 5:26 pm

    I’m all for resigning Marvin if the price is right. He’s a solid player who can offer something to the team. It’s good that he recognizes he’s a role player. Now if we get a coach that doesn’t continuously start him at the PF and play him in front of rising youth, then keeping Marvin is bueno.

Thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.