Skip to content

Bits from Joe Ingles Interview

July 28, 2017

On re-signing with Utah
I’ve said it, obviously, many, many times. I love Utah. I love the city. I love the state. I obviously love the organization…It’s kind of a perfect fit for me, and to be able to improve the way I have is a credit to coach Quin [Snyder] and Zach Guthrie, who I work a bit more day-to-day basis with.

And just the, for them to believe in me and to keep pushing me to get better and — I wasn’t enjoying my time in Europe toward the end of my career, so it was, kind of in a bit of a rut with what I was gonna do, and coach Quin has just brought out, brought that, the love and how much fun I have.

On what the loss of Gordon Hayward means for the team
I think it’s exciting. I think when Gordon announced what he was gonna do, I think Utah and the Jazz fans saw the sun rise up, come up the next day, that we all, we’re all still here and it’s still really exciting for our [team]. More opportunity for other guys. There’s gonna be obviously different situations. Guys might get more shots, more minutes…

A lot of opportunities are out there for other guys, and I think obviously the loss of Gordon is, has happened. He’s gone. He’s not coming back, and I think Dennis [Lindsey] and Quin and the staff have done a great job to kinda remodel our team, I guess, around what we already had, and I think it’s really exciting.

I think defensively we’re gonna be really, really good, and we’ll figure out offensively what the best way our team to score is…Really excited to see [the core group] step up and kinda take control of the team.

On what Ricky Rubio brings
I played with him seven or eight years ago in Barcelona. We, my first year in Barcelona was his last year before he came over to the NBA, and he’s a pass-first guy. He’s gonna get guys involved. That’s what he likes to do.

He likes to get guys easy baskets. He’ll get Rudy [Gobert] dunks. He’ll get [Derrick] Fav[ors] dunks. He’ll get Rodney [Hood] wide-open shots. He’s gonna get guys shots they want, in good positions.

Defensively, he’s just one of those annoying little guards that’s always seems to be there, and always seems to h–he obviously [has] a pretty big wingspan. Always seems to have his arms and hands deflecting the ball or tipping it and obviously being able to get it being however s–I don’t know how tall he is, 6-4, maybe?

Being able to rebound and push the ball, and I think that’s a way we can get some easy baskets this next season, is by pushing the ball a bit more than we have in the past. And I mean, Utah and Jazz fans should be excited by him coming in.

On hat-wearing Gordon Hayward
Disgusting…I will not be purchasing any of them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kashif permalink
    August 3, 2017 4:18 am

    I think you should add Haywood to your shit list.

Thoughts?

