Skip to content

These Weeks in the Utah Jazz

April 29, 2017

One. Dennis Lindsey, asked about the plethora of injured knees on the Jazz in the last few seasons: The catastrophic injury with Dante [Exum], as you know, was with the national team and not on our watch.

But look, y–we’ve had this debate many times and over a number of years in Houston and San Antonio, and now in Utah. We do — especially in San Antonio and Utah, we have to scout and recruit and be aware of every talent in every country, and i–when you do that and you get Rudy Gobert from France, he’s going to want to play for the French national team. …

I think Mark Cuban frankly’s right, in the overall scheme of things, that we’re putting our best players at risk, you know, without a lot of benefit. But you do need to acknowledge there’s some national pride, so I would imagine Dante and Joe Ingles, going forward they’re gonna wanna play for the Australian national team.

So, and again, we want to have an international flavor, just because the talent pool, especially for us, demands it.

Two. ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Three. Quin Snyder on Rudy Gobert’s return: He was determined to play. Fortunately, we were all on the same page. If we weren’t, h–I, you know, I don’t know who would’ve won the wrestling match between him and, like, the whole staff…

It’s hard to overstate what he means to our team. He’s just a, he’s a unique player, and he’s so competitive. And it was also neat to see him get behind [Derrick] Fav[ors] at the end of the game. You know, Fav’s, you know, Fav’s, you know, battled through some injuries this year, so that was, for me, that was a moment in the game that I really appreciated.

Dennis Lindsey on Rudy Gobert: You know every fiber in his body wants to play. I think it was two years ago when we moved him in the starting lineup [after trading Enes Kanter], and I think we were out of [playoff] contention and we were talking about, you know, just resting a few guys, and I think Rudy had a few bumps and bruises.

And so, I think as the story goes, Quin went to him and said, “Hey, thinking about this.”

And he said, “No, coach, it’s important to me personally that I play all 82 games.” So, that mindset on how he’s approached things, that coupled with his unique tools, is the reason why he is the player h–that he is today.

Four. No, that’s not some random Lakers fanboy walking around L.A. That’s a Utah Jazz player. And no, his explanation does not make it better lol.

Five. Poor Rudy Gobert, subjected to continued shaming with these questions while being interviewed on 1280 over month-old comments when he didn’t do anything wrong: What did you learn from that day, whether it was from your head coach or Dennis Lindsey? What did your teammates say to you? What did you learn from that day when you said that to the media?

Rudy’s response: What did I learn? I mean, not much. You know, I knew, I know it’s always better to keep things in the locker room, but you know, I feel like that was a, probably a good time to say it. And I don’t think any of my teammates took it, you know, personal or took it as disrespect.

You know, it was all about getting the team better, and I think if you look back at it now, I don’t really regret it because we, when, after that what happened, I think we won three games in a row. You know, so maybe it wasn’t s–because of that, but I don’t think it was disrespectful in any means, you know, to my teammates. I think it was just a way to express myself, and you know, that’s it.

👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

Six. So Drake is now a Jazz fan, right?

Seven. Joe Johnson on what he remembers about playing Karl Malone in 2001 after the photo below circulated on social media:

Ah, man. It was Boston, I got caught in between — it was like a three-on-one, and I was the one guy back on defense. And I remember him just coming down the lane, and I was telling myself to take a charge. But you know, he always comes in with his knees high, and I got out the way. And coach took me out — I was a rookie. I’ll never forget him cussing me out and everything. And I didn’t get back in the game either, but I wasn’t taking that charge.

Eight. Poor Alec Burks. Being on the inactive list these games has triggered PTSD from the Tyrone Corbin years. This is manifesting in his sartorial choices:

Nine. Gordon Hayward, asked what’s the most important thing Quin Snyder has brought to the franchise: Well, that outfit right now that he’s got going on, with those socks.

via @lockedonsports

Quin Snyder’s response: My pants are too short. It’s really simple…I’m glad [Gordon] is focused on the right things.

Hayward’s real answer: He’s just, he’s been so good for our team, and really changed the culture here. And his preparation, his passion. He’s always in the gym, always trying to find ways to help me, help u–help the other guys on the team be successful. So detail-oriented and really just — you know, I think he’s a huge part of our turnaround from 25 to 30 to 40 to 50 wins. And he’s been our leader, and we, you know, we appreciate everything he’s done. …

I think the NBA, a lot of it is building relationships. Because once you get to this level, there’s so much knowledge and guys are so good, you, sometimes you have to build trust. You have to build relationships, and, you know, to take the next step. And he started that first, you know, year one…Our relationship has really gotten pretty strong, and I think you need to have a good relationship, you know, to coach a player, like I said, to take the next step.

Ten. Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Week (UDQM)
** Joe Ingles on the playoffs returning to Utah for Game 3: Obviously, getting too excited or too anxious for it can obviously hurt as well.
** Quin Snyder on Gordon Hayward: I took him out at one point just to try to give him a blow, and then, I wasn’t, after the first quarter, I didn’t see it coming, you know?
** Snyder’s version of “it’s not the size of the boat”: Personally, I don’t think it’s the level of your socks.
** Dennis Lindsey on Rudy Gobert et al.: With how the team’s built and especially Rudy’s unique ability, that we want to get our grind on. We want to get deep.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

