Skip to content

These Weeks in the Utah Jazz

February 26, 2017

One. DJ/PK to Joe Ingles on his disinterest in the Super Bowl: I mean, come on. When you gonna America-ize yourself a little bit?

Ingles: I did. I ate a chicken wing.

ingles-tweet

rudy-tweet

Two. Dennis Lindsey on Derrick Favors’ health: We knew that we were going to hit the season and have to manage Derrick and his condition, and there’s nothing that’s surgical that needs to be done or anything like that.

It just, he had a couple things that he had to take care of in the offseason, and it was clear that we needed to, you know, manage his way. And, to give you an example, so Derrick put in really good work this offseason, but was limited. And coming into the season, he was 274 pounds with 8 percent body fat. So that’s very fit.

And so, I took Derrick aside and I said, “Hey, look. I can’t say that you’re not fit, but [there would be less strain on your body at a lower weight].” And Derrick took the message, and he’s really grown in a lot of ways, and Derrick’s weight’s now 259 pounds. And he feels better. Not that he was heavy or not performing well, but he got the message and he’s doing extra work and good work.

Quin Snyder on Favors’ health and changing role: It’s hard to work on Derrick and Rodney [Hood] in the half-roll when one of them’s out half the time. So, we just gotta keep at it, and Derrick’s gotta keep rolling…

I think with Fav, he’s healthy enough. It just, we just want to keep him that way for an extended period of time and build on it, you know, and so, that’s the philosophy there. You know, he’s expressed some of his frustration about that, and, which is normal…but it’s more important for us to have him in a good place where he can be effective.

Three. Derrick Favors on his new role handling the ball more at the top of the key: It’s a new challenge for me. Just gotta go out there and accept it, do the best that I can, you know, but I’m up for the challenge. And, just see how it goes.

Favors on Rudy Gobert getting some of the roll touches this year that used to be his: Just gotta adjust. You know, just gotta, you know, figure it out offensively. You know, just gotta adjust to it. So, that’s basically what I’m doing now.

[As trade rumors swirl…]

favors-tweet

Favors, asked about his tweet: I was just particip–I was just being on Twitter. You know, just using it. You know, just tweeted that. You know, it was just a tweet I did, so it wasn’t that big. Just a tweet.

Nothing to do with the team?

Nothing to do with the team at all. Nothing to do with nothing. Just a tweet. You know, just using Twitter.

Do trade rumors bother you?

Not at all. Not at all. I’ve been through it already, and I don’t really pay attention to it…If I’m here, I’m here. If I’m not, I’m not.

tweets

Four. Greg Ostertag(‘s Instagram) is the best.

ostertag-chickens

Five. Trey Lyles on being chaperoned in New Orleans: Yeah, they gave us a good talk yesterday. You know, they made sure that we knew what was going on and that we’d have people with us at all times, just for, you know, safety precautions, whatnot. And you know, just so we’re not rebels out there doing nothing we’re not supposed to do.

Quin Snyder, asked what he did over All-Star break: Nothing I’m gonna talk about.

gone-to-his-headBeing selected to the All-Star team gone to his head lol

Six. Dennis Lindsey, asked if the team is tough enough: I think a more appropriate question would be is, does our team need to get punched before they respond?…Do we have an instigator? I think that would be of argument.

I think there’s some times that Rudy instigates inside with his interior presence. I think George Hill is a naturally tough guy. I think Gordon [Hayward], since he’s come here at 200 pounds, now 232 pounds, has improved his physicality and by definition is tough. I think Derrick Favors is quietly tough.

So, the other part to that is, it’s an appropriate point. Look, we don’t want guys elbowing guys and hitting guys…What we want is to compete great with great competitive poise. And so, at times we’ll — our opponents get physical with us, and we still need to have a real composed response.

[Also], we’re very good at effective field goal percentage and we’re very good at not fouling. When you couple the two, there’s an accelerator to that so that’s not necessarily us taking fouls. What it is, is showing great discipline.

Is the team mentally tough enough?

I think that will show itself out these last 30 games [and if we make the playoffs]…There are times when our mental approach has been really good in some o–several of our fourth-quarter comeback wins that we don’t seem to talk about…So, we have been mentally tough in several comebacks. So, it’ll be an interesting and open-ended question, really.

Are there times when the Jazz lack fight against top-tier teams?

We’ve had, certainly, some bad losses as well as some good wins; probably less good wins than bad losses to date. But I, you know, so, there’s a lot of ways to look at it. I’m not sure I’m ready to go with [that conclusion]. I think it’s premature. It’s premature for a number of reasons [including injuries to Hayward, Hill, Hood and Favors]. Really, Rudy’s been the only player that’s been available to us every night. So, we’ll put our group together. We’ll get healthy. We’ll coalesce, and we’ll take our chances.

Seven. Jerry Sloan watching the game with Felton Spencer ♥

jerry-felton-spencer

Eight. Possibly creepy dad tweets by Bryon Russell:

bruss-tweet-1

bruss-tweet-2

Nine. Dante Exum on his goals for the last 25 games of the season: I think, you know, just to establish myself, you know, in the rotation. You know, that’s the biggest thing. I’ve kind of been up and down and out of it, so I just wanna kinda get that established role and hopefully, you know, continue to grow my minutes and have a bigger role.

Ten. Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of These Weeks (UDQM)
** Craig Bolerjack on Matt Harpring’s pizza order: You’re going large, I know that. And loaded.
** Harpring on Mike Muscala: Caught Alec Burks sleeping a little bit, got behind him.
** Harpring on block totals: Anthony Davis is right behind Gobert.
** Kristen Kenney on Gordon Hayward: He’s less worried about the contact in the pocket.
** Harpring on Alec Burks’ fall: You always hold your breath when AB goes down like that.
** Harpring on Burks: He’s gonna have to go in with a little bit more control.
** Boler on Joe Johnson: Quin is riding his veteran right now. (H/T @5kl)
** Boler on the Jazz’s large lead against the Pelicans: They can just ride and rest. (H/T @5kl)
** Boler: How about Ingles playing some backcourt D?
** DJ/PK in response to Joe Ingles’ disinterest in American football: If I lived in Australia for three years, I’d be getting into kangaroos.
** Quin Snyder on how hard it is to take get away mentally from the game from during the break: It’s hard, just like it is hard for everyone. It’s a little different, because the period of time that you aren’t able to do that is extended.

Bonus. Dancing fans:

No comments yet

Thoughts?

