Skip to content

Where Are They Now: Jeff Malone

July 18, 2016

via Athlete Speakers

Where are you now?
I’m down in Chandler, Arizona, right outside of Phoenix. Been here about eight, nine years now. Moved from Macon, Georgia, where I was living when I was playing there…[I] coached in the D-League for about six or seven years, and then kinda became a born-again Christian.

And then always wanted to live out west, and my wife and I chose to come here, so really enjoying it…I’m doing a, my church have a facility there. I do director of basketball operations stuff with kids’ camps and men’s leagues and things like that.

On his years with the Jazz
I really enjoyed it. You know, leaving Washington, which I really had a fun six or seven years, and to come and be in a team with Karl [Malone] and John [Stockton] and Jerry Sloan, that was a really great opportunity for me, man. And just recently, I spoke with Mark [Eaton] and John. It was nice to reconnect with them. And I told Mark I know he’s still around a lot, and I told him I’m gonna be up in that area.

So, it was just nice. I think the fans was definitely a big change for me. It was great to be around all the support we got, and I really had a lot of fun, man. That’s the highlight of my career, and that’s kinda why a lot of people relate me with Utah anyway. So when I sign stuff now, I kinda put “Utah Jazz 24” on everything.

Is it disappointing you got traded right before the Jazz took off?
No. You know, I appreciate what I have. I’m that kind of guy. I, ’cause I watched those guys during the Finals and I know they played against
some tough Bulls team, and they really played well.

So, you know, clearly it was tough to go [to Philadelphia] being a veteran and you know, they weren’t playing well. It was a tough situation over there, but you know, I enjoyed my four years there.

On playing for Jerry Sloan
Jerry’s great. Upfront; holds you accountable. And the way he dealt with those guys is, and the way John and Karl respected him, and the way he treated everybody the same…I have the utmost respect for him, and you ask me who was the better, best coach out there, and I’m gonna, I would say Jerry Sloan in terms of the way he did things.

And I got his number the other day from Mark and John. I think I need to give him a call. And I’m definitely coming up for a game this year, so I look forward to it.

What do you make of the current Jazz team?
I think they got a lot of young, untapped talent…

They just gotta maintain the core group. If they do that, and coach [Quin] Snyder is doing a great job with that too, so hopefully they can get that thing back the way it used to be and get the opportunity to get in those Western Conference Finals and those championships. (KALL)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    July 19, 2016 1:05 pm

    I always liked Jeff Malone. I am glad to hear he is doing well.

  2. russellkanning permalink
    July 19, 2016 11:25 pm

    Yea gotta send Trey Lyles down there to learn that smooth jumper. :)

Thoughts?

