Skip to content

Jerry Sloan honors NBA Coaches Association by accepting Chuck Daly Lifetime Achievement Award

June 9, 2016
tags: ,

The selection committee for the Chuck Daly Lifetime Achievement Award is made up of Rick Carlisle, Billy Cunningham, Pat Riley, Gregg Popovich, Donnie Walsh, Bernie Bickerstaff, Lenny Wilkens and Phil Jackson.

jerry award♥♥♥

NBA Coaches Association President Rick Carlisle: Jerry, you know, is a guy that, all the guys coming up in my generation — you know, Jeff Van Gundy’s here. You know, Mark Jackson* is a guy that, you know, really respects the history of the game. There’s nobody looked up to, you know, more than Jerry Sloan and what he stood for. You know, he was all about keeping it simple and doing it hard, and he wasn’t into a lot of the fluff. So you know, it’s a great honor to be here tonight.

all time ass kickers

Jerry Sloan: I’m not one that like to be in the [limelight] of what goes on in this business sometimes, but I’m really honored by the fact that I would be thought of at this stage of my life, to receive an award. I always thought awards should go to the team and not to me…The MVP award, it should be the people that go play and do the hard work. Assistant coaches, I think, deserve to be recognized m–as much or more than the head coaches. The head coaches get to be talked to every day. I want to thank the Coaches Association for having me here, and I’m very fortunate that Tammy could be with me.

* Ugh. How does Carlisle not know? And then the camera had to go and pan to Jackass sitting there like a lumpy, cancerous potato,** no doubt wondering why the selection committee didn’t choose him for the award.

jackass

* Apologies to potatoes. And lumps.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. John C. King permalink
    June 9, 2016 11:39 pm

    Wonderful, well deserved tribute to Jerry. But I’m not sure why you apologized to potatoes and lumps, and not to cancer.

  2. russellkanning permalink
    June 12, 2016 12:02 pm

    I can’t wait for potatoe jackson to coach the Lebrons next year. :)

    Go Jerry.

Thoughts?

