Skip to content

Off-Season Odds and Ends

May 27, 2016

One. This is a piece about Jerry Sloan written by his long-time hunting buddy, Tony Abbott. Read it. Read it now.

Two. Dante Exum on being in the sunshine in LA right now: It’s good. Obviously, it kind of sucks, you know, having to play during winter, but definitely being injured and having to stay kind of in the cold, but I, you know, it’s good to kind of get out of Utah and trying to get back in the flow of things. …

It is the off-season, so as much as I am focusing on rehab and stuff, you know, being able to go down to the beach and, you know, just kind of relax and you know, take some time off from being in Utah, just kind of reenergize before I have to head back.

Exum on where he is in his rehab: I’m pretty much in that, kind of that last bit of my rehab. I’m just, you know, I’m, I got an appointment on the 26th to kind of just sort of clear me for everything.

But I’ve been pretty much doing a lot of the, you know, normal stuff, day-to-day stuff, except for playing. That’s the biggest thing that I haven’t kind of picked up yet…So May 26, I’ll start to play one-on-one, two-on-two, and stuff like that.

Three. From the Steve Starks deleted tweets files, in which he rescinds an invitation:

starks deteted tweets

Four. Lest anyone is getting any fanciful ideas that the Jazz, led by Gordon Hayward and Derrick Favors (both going into their seventh seasons) can no longer be called a young team, let’s nip such nonsense in the bud right now.

** Dennis Lindsey, Apr. 22: We have an extremely young team, especially when you do a winted–a weighted minute average for who’s actually playing and who’s scoring for us. I think we’re second in the league in points under 25 years old.

** Steve Starks, May 17: People forget how young we still are, and, in terms of minutes played and age.

** Quin Snyder, May 19: I mentioned the fact that we were young a lot [during the season], and I mentioned it ’cause it was true. At some point, that can begin to sound like an explanation or an excuse or whatnot, and it’s really not. It’s just the reality, and hopefully the reality next year is we’re a little older, and those young guys get better.

Five. Will this be the first time in history this line works on an NBA player? Stay tuned this summer to find out!

come to utah

Fournier did not publicly reply to Rudy, “You go live in Utah,” so I mean, that’s a good sign.

Six. Did y’all catch Barack Obama consorting with a known felon?

obama lowe

Seven. Quin Snyder on what he’s been up to this summer: You know, I live up by the Capitol(?) area…so I’ve been doing some hiking, which is always good to kinda, clears your head. I’m gonna try to get out and do some mountain hiking. I want to get my hip feeling real good.

Things are, you know, I’m enjoying my family, really. I’ve got these little ones that are wrestling with me all the time, which is fun…Kinda trying to get to know everything, and know the area, so it’s, that’s been great…

I’m not gonna go into the very beach book literature that I’m grinding out to get my mind a break from basketball, but I’m trying to get away from it as best I can, and you know, hopefully as the summer progresses, I’m able to do that some more.

I think it’ll probably make me a better coach if I can have some balance, you know? But, I’ll work at it…I’m trying to not think about our team as much as I can for the next two weeks.

Eight. You just keep doing you, Booz (via @mrcbooz).

(Guess it’s true what they say about time healing all wounds. As a Jazzman, he frustrated me to no end. Now, he just makes me laugh.)

Nine. If the Jazz must roll out sleeved jerseys, and apparently they must, this is probably as good as it gets (via @utahjazz).

JAZZ1617-Jersey-Pride-Carousel

Now let’s bring the purple back to the court.

Ten. Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Week (UDQM)
** Dennis Lindsey on vertical alignment within the organization: Things aren’t always going to be perfect. Quin’s gonna bang me around. I’m gonna bang him around. Millers are gonna bang both of us, around.
** Quin Snyder on the draft: The level of detail and how deep we dig into potential picks and, is on a level with anybody.
** Lindsey on enjoying debate with his staff: If you do it the right way — we do try to have fun with it. And I do try to keep it loose and give guys the business, and vice versa.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. cubsmodano permalink
    May 27, 2016 10:18 pm

    Dante seems really happy about getting away from Utah. (Cue the paranoid Jazz fans that he’ll never resign here.)

  2. Kashif permalink
    May 28, 2016 1:07 am

    My thoughts exactly. Sounds like he really doesn’t like Utah.

  3. Colten permalink
    May 29, 2016 1:48 pm

    Thanks for sharing the Jerry story. It’s crazy to me how this man was such a basketball genius. I wish I could have known him personally. Great read.

Thoughts?

