Skip to content

Bits from Jerry Sloan Interview

May 14, 2016
tags: ,

tammy and jerry

** On his diagnosis: It’s kinda a tough situation ’cause you’re getting away from something you’ve always loved to do. I haven’t heard anybody say it’s gonna be easy, so my whole saying is take your lumps and go on.

** What’s the toughest part of all this? Not knowing…I’m not scared. I’m just scared of the shaking all over, days on days. If I could get that stopped, I’d be in pretty good shape. You gotta take advantage of every day you can, ’cause it might be a rough road ahead of you.

** On the future: We were always taught to fight our way out. I’ve been lucky so far. This may be the end, though…The bottom line is, you try to enjoy the day and see what tomorrow brings. That’s the way I’m looking at it. It’s the only way I know.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul Johnson permalink
    May 15, 2016 12:13 am

    I have always admired Jerry Sloan for his inimitable toughness and perseverance in the face of adversity. One of the main things I loved about the Jazz teams he coached was that they mirrored his tough, never-say-die attitude. I love that he is displaying the same tough, positive attitude in the face of his recent health issues. What a great example he is for all of us in how to deal with the vicissitudes of life, whatever they may be.

Thoughts?

