Skip to content

And here’s your final Utah Jazz wrapup of the season

April 16, 2016

final standings

One. Quin Snyder following the loss to the Mavericks: Unfortunately, Dallas was a better team tonight. I mean, they were comfortable. You know, they looked like a team. We looked like a team that is the youngest team in the league, and that’s what we are. So, this is a good experience for us.

Gordon Hayward following the loss to the Mavericks: They’re veteran guys. They know how to get the right looks too…They hit their shots, you know, so. Tough one to swallow for sure. But, you know, it is what it is.

Two. Quin Snyder after the Mavericks game on how “unfathomable” it is that the Jazz lost four of their last five at home: It’s really not unfathomable, frankly. I mean, we lost to Golden State, you know, on a last-second shot. You know, we lost to San Antonio. We lost to the Clippers in overtime, and now we lost a really, we lost a tough game to a playoff team with a hall-of-famer.

So, I would object to the idea that it’s unfathomable. I think we finished the season well. I don’t know what our record was in the last 15 games, but it was pretty good…[The Mavericks] have won six of their last seven, so, and the one game they lost, they didn’t have [J.J.] Barea. So — those aren’t excuses. But I just don’t think that’s fair to our guys.

Three. At least the final home game of the season did produce this highlight:

pink papas

pink grandmas tweet

Four. Deron Williams on Jerry Sloan after the Mavericks game: I heard the news about his health, and it’s definitely sad. And you know, I got a chance to spend a couple minutes with him before [the game], and he looked great, sounded great. You know, sounded like he was upbeat about the situation. And you know, I told him I don’t, there’s not a tougher man I know. So you know, if anyone can, you know, battle through stuff, it’s him.

Williams, asked whether getting booed by Jazz fans got him going: A little bit. I’m not going to lie…It definitely got me going out there a little bit. Not only the booing, but the stuff that was being said from, you know, when I was sitting on the bench, dead balls, things like that. I heard a lot. So, definitely got me going.

Five. Scene from an alternate universe (and yeah, that’s Wesley Matthews at the end there asking Randy Rigby where Coach Sloan is):

alternate-universe-s
Six. Lol.

dirk tweet

Seven. Trey Lyles engaging fanboy mode about Kobe Bryant’s last game: Kobe’s last game, for me, him being my favorite player of all time, you know, me looking up to him pretty much my whole basketball career, it’s kinda a surreal moment for me, being able to play against him in his last game ever…

Me having the opportunity to play against him, you know, in preseason and four times during the regular season’s been awesome for me. Being on the same court as him, same court as my idol, and then just being able to be a part of, you know, pretty much history tomorrow night, you know, is gonna be a great, surreal experience for me.

And it’s definitely going to be something I’m gonna remember for the rest of my life, and I’m just thankful and blessed that I’m able to have this opportunity. And you know, it doesn’t come a lot in people’s lives to, you know, be able to go out there and be a part of something with somebody that they idolize, and I’m just lucky enough to be in that position to do it.

trey cry face

Our thoughts are with Trey at this difficult time.

Eight. Rudy Gobert posted this during the final game of the season:

rudy ig

Nine. Gordon Hayward, post-game after playing the Lakers: It was a fun night. Historic night. Glad we got an opportunity to play against [Kobe Bryant] on his last game, and definitely vintage Kobe. So, it was cool.

Ten. Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Week (UDQM)
** Rudy Gobert, asked if Derrick Favors is playing against the Mavericks: I don’t know. You know, I’m not in his body.
** Quin Snyder, asked how much Shelvin Mack’s size matters against Deron Williams: Hopefully, it’ll have an impact…Shelvin’s obviously, you know, 3 more inches and 5 or 6 more inches in length (than Trey Burke and Raul Neto).
** Craig Bolerjack to Gordon Hayward after the Lakers game: Gordon, you just kind of have to take it rough for a minute.

One Comment leave one →
  1. russellkanning permalink
    April 19, 2016 3:15 am

    We love your Trey …. but you have a lot of work to do, to make up for all this Kobe love. :)

Thoughts?

