Skip to content

And here’s your weekly Utah Jazz wrapup

March 19, 2016

standings 318

One. The sartorial stylings of Mr. Alec Burks:

burks shirt

Two. Hubie Brown on Lyles v. Frye: “I give Lyles a lot of credit, because he stood his ground. He didn’t do anything, all right? He didn’t push off. What he did was, he stood his ground, ’cause he’s not gonna allow you to intimidate him, ok, and I like that. I don’t care what they call here, I like what Lyles did.”

Exactly. Good to see a Jazzman standing up for himself.

fryles-s

Trey Lyles on his little scuffle with Channing Frye: I haven’t [ever been head-butted in a game], but you know, like I said, you know, tempers flare and you know, I ain’t gonna hold it against him…Gotta stand my own ground…I don’t think it was intentional at all, what he did or what I did. But you know, it’s just how, you know, the game goes. We getting into it, and you know, tempers flaring here and there, and you know, it’s nothing too big.

Three. Quin Snyder on Shelvin Mack flirting with a triple double, how aware he is of these things during games, and how much he wants these milestones for his players: I’m not aware of them…I guess I’m, I should probably be more aware of the stastistical milestone part of it. If that happens, I’d certainly be happy for him, but I’m not gonna adjust anything we do to get that.

Four.

chuck taylor

Five. Quin Snyder, asked if it’s frustrating he can’t find more minutes for a productive Trey Lyles: Well, I mean, you want me to tell Trevor Booker I’m frustrated?

Dennis Lindsey on whether Trey Lyles is making a case for more minutes: Yeah, I think he is, but again, there’s a time and place for Trevor and his leadership and his energy and his vertical athleticism. There’s a time for Trey and his spacing and ball-handling and improved shooting.

So, I think Quin’s done a masterful job of keeping a veteran that’s very important to us in Trevor Booker relevant on the court and in the locker room with consistent playing time, and also playing a rookie that we’re trying to develop with a talented frontcourt in Rudy [Gobert] and Derrick [Favors] as, with our starters…We’re very lucky that we have the coach that we do, that has some imagination on how to get those guys in games. …

We’ve been able to use those minutes that Derrick was out, specifically, to speed up [Trey Lyles’] development. I think you can make an argument he’s a year ahead of schedule with his comfort level and his confidence.

Six. Old Jazz and New Jazz collide:

hood carr

Seven. Joe Ingles on Quin Snyder saying he played 37 minutes against the Cavaliers because it was him or Alex Jensen: Alex Jensen is terrible. I can’t believe he put me in the same category as Alex Jensen.

Alex is actually my individual coach as well…We do spend a lot of time together, so I know that if we did play one-on-one, I mean, I would absolutely clean him up. But he did, he had a solid career at the [University of Utah], and they got to a championship game I think. So, he’s a decent player, but not anywhere on my level.

Eight. ♥ Part 2:

watson on sloan

Nine. Happy St. Patrick’s Day from the Utah Jazz!

harp boler paddy

Joe Ingles, asked if St. Patrick’s Day is a thing in Australia: Not so much St. Patrick’s Day, but beer is. So, anything that involves beer or the chance to drink a beer is usually a pretty positive day in Australia.

Ten. Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Week (UDQM)
** Matt Harpring on Alec Burks: You gotta think that he’s close. He looks close, anyways.
** Craig Bolerjack on Chuck Yeager in the Kings crowd: Having his way with a box of popcorn, I might add.
** Harpring on officiating review: Hayward does lean into [g]ay.
** Harpring to Boler on his car knowledge: You drive into the place, they say, “Boler, we’re done” and you pick it up.
** 1280 to Trey Lyles after the Suns game: In this locker room at halftime, could you sense you had the chance to really knock out one?
** Boler on whether fans can win Chick fil-A twice in one game: I don’t know if you can do it twice. I don’t.
Harpring: I don’t see why not.
Boler: Probably that won’t work.
** Quin Snyder on Shelvin Mack: I’m more aware with him of, you know, of him continuing to learn how to use our, use his teammates and use our players, and I think that’s a process for him…He’s, you know, he’s got size and length, and he’s down there, and he mixes it up…When people get into Gordon and Rodney, those opportunities are gonna be available.
** Dennis Lindsey on Quin Snyder: Quin, as you know, goes quite deep into the bench, and all of our guys have to be ready.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 19, 2016 6:10 pm

    We are close to secure a playoff spot. Go Utah!

Thoughts?

