Skip to content

Bits from John Stockton Interview, 10/29

October 30, 2015
tags: ,

Some breaking news yesterday…

stockton tweet


stockton dan patrick

Did you have to interview for this job?
No, not exactly. I’d say this is a little bit of an unorthodox thing to begin with…They’d had a couple coaching changes. A couple of their regulars that had been there forever have left, the last one just, about last week. So, they’re short-handed. My daughter Lindsay is a senior there, playing for women’s basketball team, and they asked.

Coach [Tricia] Binford called me the other day, and said, “Hey, would you come help out? We’re short-handed. To try to find somebody new in this short a time period would be difficult, and we know you’re familiar with the team and we know you’re gonna be there a lot this year, so can you help out?” That’s how it came about.

Which coach will you be channeling?

Wow. You know, I think every time I coach, I channel a little bit of everybody. [Jerry] Sloan comes in. Frank Layden comes in. My high school coach comes in. Dan Fitzgerald with Gonzaga. I mean, the–you just kind of absorb these guys over the years and borrow a little bit from everybody. So hopefully, they all come in and help out. I need the help.

Did you have to ask your daughter for permission to take the job?

Oh, I wouldn’t say “permission,” but we sure talked about it, and she was for it…After they go to college a little bit, sometimes they like their mom and dad around a little bit more.

So yeah, I’m not moving in. It’s definitely a part-time thing. I’m coming when I can, a couple days a week, and trying to get to most of the games that we were gonna try to get to anyway. So, i–this isn’t a big lifetime change for us or a career change. It’s just an opportunity to spend some more time with her and enjoy some basketball.

Are any of your kids gunners?
Most of them have been influenced by Karl [Malone] over the years, and he sa–he always told them, “Hey, listen, only one guy in this league gets paid to pass. Shoot the ball.” So, I think they’re more influenced by him. But, not quite gunners, which Karl wasn’t either, obviously.

How many dunks did you have in your career?*
I had one, and nobody even noticed it. I could tell you the time, the place, the game. And it was late in the game, and I, you know, I didn’t tear the rim down or anything, but I was pretty fired up about it, and nobody even came up off the bench or noticed. So I said, “Well, that’s as good as it gets, boys.” So I didn’t really try it again.

Is there video of this?

I doubt it. They didn’t have video back in those days…It was a Cleveland game, I think in my first or second game at the old Salt Palace.

* Patrick asked Stockton the exact same question during Stockton’s book promotion tour last year.

Favorite players to watch now?
I’ve really grown fond of watching Chris Paul, and I’ve seen him a lot. I’ve grown fond of watching the Jazz again*, with their resurgence from last year, and their defensive — they’re tough to score on. So, and of course, I always like San Antonio. They ha–they play a great style.

* Emphasis mine.

When’s the last time you talked to Karl Malone?
Just a couple weeks ago…His son’s playing down at LSU in football, and we always turn on the TV early Saturday morning to see if we can see Junior kicking it around in Death Valley. So, you know, we stay connected.

What would Karl Malone have been like as a football player?
We used to talk about that. I mean, tight end or defensive end were two positions I thought he would’ve been a monster at, but I’m glad he made the choice he did. (The Dan Patrick Show)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    October 30, 2015 1:01 pm

    I love how Karl is just a natural part of the conversation. So nice to see they are part of each others lives.

  2. russellkanning permalink
    November 2, 2015 10:38 pm

    everyone likes the new defense :)

Thoughts?

