Skip to content

How Trevor Booker met his wife, and how he popped the question

August 29, 2015

As told by her:

I was never into Clemson basketball or never even been to a game until I started talking to Trevor. I didn’t even know who he was until I had a friend that talked to his roommate at the time and she would invite me to come hang out with them but I never did. From my correct memory, I remember walking across campus heading to my car when we came across each others paths and we spoke to each other. I remember thinking “Aww, he looks so young” (he was a Sophomore and I was a Senior) but you know how when you walk by someone and you can feel they are staring at you. Well that is exactly what happened, I did a quick glance back and he had turned to look as well. From my surprise about a few hours later, my friend texted me and was like “Trevor wanted me to give you his number, are you gonna text him???” All I can say is that the rest is HISTORY and was probably one of the BEST decisions I have ever made…

As told by him:

As you all know, I was the man in college, big man on campus if you will. April claimed she had never heard of me, but everybody knew or heard of T Book. Her friend at the time, Sheena, talked to my teammate/roommate, David Potter. Sheena and DP were on the phone one day and April was with Sheena. I guess Sheena had told April how fine I was or something because when DP told Sheena he was with me April started trying to holla at the boy (me). DP put the phone on speaker and you could hear her in the background yelling “put me on that Dave”. Of course, me being me at the time just blew it off. I had too much on my plate already, so she had to wait in line. To this point, I had only seen a couple of pictures of April but nothing in person. Fast forward a few weeks, we finally run into each other on campus while I’m walking to class and her to her car. As I walk and text on my phone, I look up and notice her walking in my direction. She made sure she made eye contact with me once we got close to each other. “You don’t even know who I am do you”, says April. “April right?”, T Book’s response. That instantly put the biggest smile on her face. It wasn’t much said after that and we went our separate ways. I texted DP a few minutes later telling him that she was straight and he could pass my number along to Sheena to give to April. My phone lit up with a number that I didn’t know about two minutes later so I knew it was April. The plan was to talk to her for a little while then move on to the next, but that didn’t work like I planned. The connection was crazy from the start and she ended up being the love of my life. Thanks to Sheena and DP’s short lived relationship, they gave us a long lived life together.


20121225_095931

The proposal, as told by her:

Since we barely get to see our families for the holidays, we decided since Trevor had a few days off from baskeball that we would go home to see our families. We decided to meet back at our home in Arlington, VA (at the time) on Christmas Day to spend Christmas together as a family.

After we all got home and we let the kids open their gifts, I was tired from driving back so I decided I was gonna take a shower and get in the bed. The first time I went upstairs, Trevor was in the bathroom and I thought to myself “why did he have to go in there knowing I was going to take a shower”. So I went back downstairs to do a lil cleaning then once he came downstairs I headed up to take my shower. I gathered my clothes and noticed the bathroom door was closed. So I’m already thinking “Maaaan, he just did number 2, I cant take a shower now” But I was so tired and needed to shower so I was like forget it, I’ll just have to suck it up.

So I cracked the door to see how bad the smell was and it was a different smell than I expected. It smelled like FINGERNAIL POLISH. So I was like “why does it smell like fingernail polish in here” so I threw open the door and flipped on the light and boy did I get the surprise of my life. He had wrote WILL U MARRY ME? on the mirror with some red fingernail polish (because that was all he could find lol) with the ring sitting on the counter. For a minute, all I did was just stand there and look at what was really in front of me. By the time I realized what was going on, he had walked up the stairs and was standing behind me. I turned around and all I remember saying over and over was “FOR REAL BOOKIE? FOR REAL?” (The Knot)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Paul Johnson permalink
    August 29, 2015 10:46 pm

    I feel like the story about how Trevor proposed to Sheena has a bit too much information, if you know what I mean (the potty talk).

Thoughts?

