Skip to content

Utah Jazz Summer League Game 3 of 3: Utah Jazz vs. Philadelphia 76ers (3-0)

July 10, 2015

One. Trey Lyles’ debut for the Jazz!

I’m sure you can find his first NBA (preseason) bucket a million places on the Internet by now, so I’m giving you something else. Lyles’ first complaint about the officiating!

lyles-complaining

Two. Rudy Gobert’s cat is named Deez Nuts, in case anyone is wondering.

Three. Raul Neto is officially a member of the Utah Jazz! His first interview as a Jazzman:

Four. Neto on his dad being a John Stockton fan
I grew up watching videos — John Stock vid–John Stockton videos. So for me, it’s a dreaming, it’s a dream be here.
Did your dad want you to play like John?
Of course, I think. He’s a really good player. He was a really good player. I think, my dad always talk to me about him.

Five. Joint discovery with @AllThatAmar: Chris Johnson (Chris is short for “Christapher”) has a UDQM name. Chris “Tap Her” Johnson.

Six. From Gobert’s takeover of the Utah Jazz Twitter account:

rudytakeover

Seven. Why was the camera so zoomed in on Randy Rigby?

rigby

Probably because it was *cold* in the arena and RR had some serious pokies going on. Click or don’t click, your choice.

Eight. Alex Jensen on Trey Lyles’ performance
He’s, he played well. That’s, he has really good feel. Things come easy to him, and you know, we just have to, you know, see it progress from here. But that was the nice thing. It seemed like he was steady for a 19-year-old…He showed a wide range of what he could possibly become to do.

Jensen on Rodney Hood’s summer league
I think he’s one of the guys that’s advanced for his age. Just playing with, in the pick and roll, reads he’s has–he has a great feel as well, but he, the good thing he had I think in the summer is he’s kind of a leader. He’s the veteran. Same thing with Dante [Exum]. Like, they gotta take charge. Like, you know, late game; like he, give, put the ball in his hands and see what he can do. And also, just be — ’cause they’re all, they’re such good kids. They’re quiet. But just to be vocal and you know, kind of come out of themselves and their shell.

Jensen on whether Dante Exum will play in Vegas
I’d like to hope so. Maybe a game or two, but it’s obviously wait and see. It’s not something that obviously you rush him back from.

Jensen on Bryce Cotton’s performance
You know what, I talked to coach [Quin] Snyder today, and we both, I think, he mentioned, you know, we need to get Bryce to be, you know, take a couple bad shots. You know, it’s kind of a hard thing ’cause every, he’s so quick, every time he comes off the pick and roll in the middle, he has a shot…[We want him] setting up guys, but kind of be selfish a little bit. And he did that tonight.

Jensen on the summer league experience for him
Well, it’s great. I learned how to, you know, how and when to call my timeouts again. I thought I learned that in the D-League…It’s great. Like, it j–like I said, the players, it’s different. You have, I think the number one thing is you have a greater respect for coach Snyder. It changes one or two seats down, and I think it’ll help me help him better in the future.

Nine. Trey Lyles on his first game
It was good. First time playing five-on-five in a long time, so it was fun…I was kinda, you know, nervous about the, you know, first-game nerves, but after I got settled, then I was fine. You know, I felt very comfortable. I felt like I had some freedom, so it was good…I picked up the plays pretty quickly. You know, it was pretty easy for me, and you know, I feel like I went out there and executed when I was supposed to.
What were your goals for the first game?
Just play my game. You know, I’m an aggressive player, and you know, I play with my own rhythm, so I just wanted to make sure I went out there and didn’t get sped up too much and just, you know, hold my own and just show what I’m capable of.

Ten. Undefeated! Champion of our own summer league!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. russellkanning permalink
    July 11, 2015 8:12 am

    that call was a ripoff for Lyles

    btw I got to actually go to the game!!!!
    First time for me inside the Delta Center …. I mean Energy Solutions Arena

    Best highlight for the Jazz was a Bryce Cotton dunk. He just puts on the burners and leaves defenders behind.
    It was great having the crowd get into it and put the pressure on the 76ers. They crumpled and Cotton and Cooley took over. :)

    • July 11, 2015 7:27 pm

      Making opponents crumple is what the Delta Center did best and ESA, well, there’s effort among the fans that show up :)

  2. modernagejazz permalink
    July 11, 2015 9:16 pm

    Regarding Raulzinho, wow, Steve Brown actually nailed the pronoinciation of Raul! However, of course you do pronounce the R! It just happens that when R is at the beginning of a word its sound is the same as an H in English (for some Portuguese accents, not all, if you want to nitpick!).

    Of course R is not the only letter that sounds different between English and Portuguese, all vowels are different too. And that’s why Steve’s correct pronunciation of Raul sounds nothing like “haul”. :)

    • July 12, 2015 7:34 pm

      Will you be coming back to Jazz Land while Raul on board now?

  3. russellkanning permalink
    July 11, 2015 10:25 pm

    so we shouldn’t say Raul anything like a Spanish Raul, but with an H?

    • modernagejazz permalink
      July 11, 2015 11:47 pm

      Yup, swap the Spanish R for the English H for the best result. :) I must say that the Spanish R is much closer to the R in some Portuguese accents than the English R, so by going for the Spanish version you’d already be in a good place I’d guess.

Thoughts?

