Skip to content

Utah Jazz Summer League Game 1 of 3: Utah Jazz vs. Boston Celtics (1-0)

July 7, 2015

One. Summer League is back, and you know what that means! Kevin “Sexy Legs” O’Connor is back on the sidelines! Sadly for all the fans of KOC’s glam gams out there, sometimes people get more conservative with age and that’s the case with KOC and how much leg he’s comfortable with showing nowadays. But we take what we can get, right?

CJRLcSUUcAA4sVcvia @JimboRudding

Two. Randy Rigby’s ticket sales pitch: It’s gonna be perfect. Hot outside, and great and cool temperature, but some hot NBA basketball on the court.

Three. In the house:

house1

house sloan

house neto

house carr

house millsap

house memo.

Four. Alec Burks on the broadcast: I can’t wait to be back and play with [the team] and be coached by coach Quin [Snyder] and the rest of the staff…Quin’s a straightforward guy. Everybody knows that. He say what he want, say what he means. So I mean, we have a great relationship…We can talk about anything.

Five. Be well, Dante Exum and Grant Jerrett.

dante-fall

jerrett elbow

Six. People calling…
** People calling Dante Exum “Mouth Breather”: Craig Bolerjack
** People calling Alec Burks “Aa Brrs…”: Ron Boone (H/T @UGottaLovItBaby)
** People calling Utah “the city of Utah”: Alec Burks

Seven. Alex Jensen on the game: It was nice to coach in shorts and a t-shirt. We did a good job, much better in the second half. I think everybody was a little jittery. Got a little anxious and tried to make things happen too fast, but we did a great job settling down in the second half.

Eight. Jensen, asked what Trey Lyles is missing with the team right now: It’s just like I said with our guys. They’ve been in the gym. We’ve drilled them for hours. They’ve shot — just the experience of now putting it into practice. You know, a five-on-five game situation with refs. It’s just, it’s, that’s what makes summer league so good, is ’cause you get that experience.
How long does that take to make up?
It’s hard to say. It’s, every player’s different…With Rodney [Hood], he’s mature beyond his years. With Dante, he has a long way to go. But they’re both making progress.

Nine. Jack Cooley on fouls, post-game: Yeah, I mean, when you give me the guidelines that I get 10 fouls in a game, kinda, my eyes get pretty big when I see that…I was a little afraid I’d had my, I got a little, jumped the gun a little bit on the fouls, and [Alex Jensen and Antonio Lang] just sat me down and talked to me. He’s like, “I know you get 10, but you want to try to keep this a little more realistic.” … The coaches do a great job. I mean, to have assistants that are that good, to be able to talk players down like that, it’s fantastic.

Ten. Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Ron Boone on Phil Johnson and Jerry Sloan: I played under Phil, and so I knew exactly, you know, what Jerry liked. I mean, what he wanted…Those two guys have been together for a long time.
** Craig Bolerjack on Grant Jerrett: Has an interesting shot, Ron. Kinda starts around the numbers, and then he cocks and fires.
** Boler on Jack Cooley picking up his fourth of 10 allowed fouls: Don’t forget, he’s got 10. He’s not even halfway there.
Booner: He’s not even halfway there, absolutely.
** Booner on Rudy Gobert: …see if he was a little chubby, but he was rock hard, and very, very proud of it…He had some ripples in it, that was for sure. And he was very proud of it.

P.S. Joe Ingles will be back with the Jazz, and the nickname “Slow Mo Joe” has made its way to the guys on the team:

slow mo back

6 Comments leave one →
  1. hhhhkau permalink
    July 7, 2015 8:41 pm

    Boomer on Rudy. Oh my.

  2. russellkanning permalink
    July 7, 2015 9:47 pm

    the first thing my phone told me this morning was Joe’s tweet. :)
    #9 gotta like our big guys wanting to use fouls to stop drives

  3. July 7, 2015 11:01 pm

    the girl in the black tshirt in the booker picture is my niece..! she showed me booker’s autograph after the game.!!

    • July 8, 2015 6:04 am

      Nice!

      • Mike h permalink
        July 9, 2015 10:49 am

        The picture with booker and millsap is my daughter getting their autographs. Thanks moni for catching the making of a Jazz fan.

        • July 9, 2015 4:49 pm

          Love it, Mike/dw’s fam :)

Thoughts?

