Skip to content

Utah Jazz Draft Workout: Anthony Brown, Jesse Morgan and Bobby Parks Jr.

June 16, 2015
tags: , ,

Also working out, but with no interviews posted: Corey Hawkins (UC Davis), Mateusz Ponitka (Poland) and Wesley Saunders (Harvard)

brown

** Stanford – G/F – 6’9 – 211 – Senior – 22 years old
** Ninth workout; has four more
** Comment on the altitude
It was a good workout. Obviously with the altitude, you know, you get a little bit tired, but overall, everybody competed.
** What would you bring to the Jazz?
Outside shooting. The ability to defend. You know, they have a lot of creators. You know, [Dante] Exum, Burks*. Both Burk(e)(s). [Gordon] Hayward. You know, just being able to space the floor for those guys, and you know, compete on the defensive end.
** What’s the most interesting question you’ve been asked by a team?
I don’t know if you guys have heard the bat and the ball question…A bat and a ball cost $1.10, and the bat is a dollar more than the ball. How much is the ball? That was the most interesting question…I didn’t see how it was relatable to basketball, but I got the correct answer, so it was all good…I went to Stanford, so I should be able to get that.
* Unclear whether he meant Alec Burks or Trey Burke here. If it’s the latter, insert your own “People calling Trey Burke ‘Burks'” comment here.

morgan

** Temple – G – 6’5 – 190 – Senior – 24 years old
** Sixth workout. Already worked out for Brooklyn, Philadelphia, Milwaukee, and Oklahoma City. Clippers got next.
** Comment on the altitude
I did well with the altitude. I know — I heard the altitude was real bad, but I think I did well. It was a good workout.
** What do you bring?
Just spreading the floor. You know, being able to spot up and shoot. Shoot it and move, and you know, getting some movement on the offensive end.
** Has this been a fun process for you?
It’s a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, so you know, it’s been real fun…Trying to learn as much as I can. Learn the terminology on this level. It’s been a fun ride.

parks

** Philippines – G – 6’4 – 205 – 22 years old
** First workout. Brooklyn got next, followed by Dallas, Atlanta and Boston
** You were highly recruited. What have you been doing the last two years?
I’ve been in the Philippines, really, just playing for the national team and just growing there. And the reason I moved back to the Philippines was to play for the national team and also for my father, who was still [alive] at the time. And really now, it’s just the opportunity that I have to [come] back here to the States and pursue my NBA dreams.
Did you think the NBA would still be a possibility when you moved to the Philippines?
Well, it was in the back of my head, but for the most part, I was just thinking about my father and my family.
How do you think that decision affected your basketball career?
Well, for me, it was the right thing. I mean, to be there ’til his dying seconds was a blessing for me. And I mean, basketball, career-wise, I still have the opportunity. I’m here right now, working out for Utah. So, it’s a blessing…[The NBA] was a dream of his; also mine. And at the same time, I’m so happy that the Filipino community is really helping me out and supporting me.
** On the popularity of basketball in the Philippines
There, it’s really tough to walk the streets, ’cause, I mean, they follow basketball so much. So, they’ll mob you, and I mean, after the games, they try to ask everything and strip you down to your underwear.
** What do you bring to an NBA team?
Really, just energy. I mean, being a tall guard that can play the “one” and the “two,” and defend both spots, really, I hope I can bring that to the next level, and hopefully teams would see that. And anything on offense would just be a privilege, you know, if I can knock down open shots, get layups or something like that. But for the most part, just be a leader and just energize the team.
** Do you have any idea of where you might be drafted?
I have no idea. I just leave it up to God. Just want to honor and praise him in everything that I do. And just, every time I step out on the floor, I just want to give it my best.

perrin

** On Bobby Parks Jr.
Yeah, we, I don’t travel over to the Philippines much to watch players, so yeah, he i–he was a mystery. I did s–he was in the workout in Vegas, so I got a chance to see him there and watch him shoot the ball. He shot it very well in Vegas. Struggled a little bit here, in terms of shooting. He’s got some things — again, coming from the Philippines, not playing college basketball, there’s a lot of things he needs to probably do more on the defensive end than on the offensive end that’s he gotta learn and get better at. So, but it was good to get him in and have an opportunity to look at him.
** On Anthony Brown’s workout
I thought Anthony had a really good workout. I thought he shot it well. I thought he handled the ball well. Played, tried to play defense…During our three-on-threes, he shot it well.
** Do you guys ask the bat and the ball question?
No, we don’t ask that question.
Do you know the answer?
I don’t even know the question.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

