Skip to content

Utah Jazz Draft Workout: Andrew Harrison, Terry Rozier and J.P. Tokoto

May 25, 2015
tags: , ,

Also at the workout but no interviews posted: Vince Hunter (UTEP), Treveon Graham (VCU) and Aaron White (Iowa)

harrison
** Kentucky – G – 6’6 – 213
** Second workout
** Comment on the altitude
First two minutes, you’re like, oh my goodness, how am I gonna make it? But you gotta get your second wind and be tough, and fight through it.
** On playing and working out without his brother
It’s gonna be tough, but I’m excited to show, what he can show without me, and you know, what I can do without him. So, it’ll be exciting to be looked at as individuals…I kinda like being in the room by myself, you know what I mean? But I mean, he’s doing fine. He’s in California. He’s waiting for his workouts. He didn’t do that well in the combine, but he’s excited to get in the workouts.

rozier
** Louisville – G – 6’2 – 190
** Third workout; has 17 scheduled. Has already worked out for Chicago and Houston; headed to San Antonio next
** Comment on the altitude
I kind of felt it a little bit. It’s kind of weird. It’s, like, hard to breathe a little bit. But yeah, I work out with this mask, and you know, it’s like you’re in a high altitude place. So, I’m kind of used to it a little bit.
** What do you bring?
Toughness, defense. You know, scrapping for the ball, winner’s mentality, things like that…Tough, got that winning mentality, want to win. So, take pride in defense. That’s the type of guy I am.
** On transitioning from shooting guard to point guard
I’ve been playing point guard all my life. I sacrificed for my team to play 2-guard this year. So, a lotta people may have doubts, but I know that I can play the point guard. So that’s something I’m just, you know, I’m trying to show people in the workouts, what I can do.

tokoto
** North Carolina – F – 6’6 – 196
** First workout; has roughly 13 more
** Comment on the altitude
[There were] water breaks, ’cause of the altitude and stuff, and guys being tired, like myself. But overall, it was a great workout.
** Why do you take so much pride in defense?
I mean, laterally, laterally moving, I’ve always been able to do that. So you know, cutting a guy off is a little easier. I have good hands. I get the, my hand on the ball a lot. You know, deflections. You know, with those tools, why wouldn’t you, you know, give it all on your defensive end? That was kinda my mindset.
** What do you bring to an NBA team?
I mean, definitely it’s always defense. You know, that’s first. It’s number one. It’s what I’m known for. Getting out on the break, making plays, finishing or dishing off. Those are the main things. And what I tried to stress, that, you know, in the interviews at the combine was, I’ve been working very diligently on my jump shot down at the IMG Academy, and had some great work down there. Some great coaches, and they’ve helped me fix a lot of things that I needed to fix…Just mechanical things, like, you know, keeping my elbow in; snapping my wrist towards the rim, not away from it; stepping into my shot; you know, extending my hands when I’m reaching for the ball instead of having it back here and letting it hit me; just having a consistent rhythm. Just keep doing the same thing over and over again. It’s all about repetition.
** Is the workout process lonely?
No, it’s not. ‘Cause like I said, I have guys like Terry Rozier who I’ve known. Andrew Harrison. You make friends at the combine. I’ve always been a friendly guy, so it’s really easy. Aaron White was working out today; he was my roommate at the combine. So I mean, you make friendships, and you know guys just from playing AAU and from, you know, playing in college. So, it’s not that lonely.

perrin
** On Andrew Harrison’s workout
I thought Andrew, I think he could’ve shot better. I think he had some shots, especially in our shooting drill, where he would normally make, and I think he got mad at himself for not making them. I thought he played pretty well. He’s coming in off of a slight injury he had two days ago.
** On J.P. Tokoto’s workout
He shot it very well in Chicago. He struggled here today. If he can become a much better shooter than what he’s shown, with his athleticism, with his ability to play defense, with his length, yeah, he could find a way onto a team.
Is he a guy whose shot can be fixed?
That’s a tough one to answer right now.
** On Terry Rozier’s workout
He’s a fighter. Terry’s not backing down from anybody. So, Terry had a very good workout today…Played very well. Competed. Shot it well.
** Any pleasant surprises today? Anyone do anything you weren’t expecting?
No.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

