Skip to content

Bits from Rodney Hood Interview, 4/7

April 8, 2015
tags: ,

hood

On Duke’s championship
I’m very happy for those guys. You know, some of those guys, I hosted on recruiting visits, or you know, I played with last year. So, I think I have a direct connection with those guys and you know, I’m just proud of ’em. You know, proud for Duke, you know, as a whole, you know, just to get another championship.

Why do people hate Duke so much?
I don’t really know. I don’t really know. You know, it’s been like that for years. And you know, I think at Duke, you know, we embrace that. You know, we embrace people hating us, and you know, but we, I think we have a lot more supporters than we do, I guess, haters.

How confident are you that you can be a big-time player in the NBA?
I’m very confident, you know, in myself. You know, it’s just been a rough year, first year for me, you know, just going through injuries and things like that, and trying to get back on the court and get back in a rhythm.

But you know, I feel like if I stay healthy, you know, I’ll have a really good career, and, you know, ’cause you know, I have a really strong work ethic and a, you know, I feel like I got a lotta good people behind me, you know, with the Jazz. So you know, I just gotta continue to work hard, listen to the older guys on the team, and hopefully I can stay healthy.

Do you have any idea why you fell in the draft, and did that bother you?
Nah, I don’t. And you know, the draft night, it did. But you know, once I got here in Utah and I really got to know, you know, Dennis Lindsey and Justin [Zanik] and the, and then the coaching staff and stuff like that, you know, I knew I was in a perfect spot, you know, where I g–be, get a chance to be able to play, you know, right away and play on an up-and-coming team. So, that’s all you can really axe for, you know, and I think it worked out well for me.

What do you expect out of next season?
Hopefully, it’s a playoff run. You know, obviously, it’s, you know, it’s still gon be tough in the West. You know, it’s, everybody’s still gon be here, so you know, it’s not gon be that much easier because we’re older, but I think, you know, we’ll have a different mindset and we’ll expect, you know, to have a good year rather than hoping to have a good year.

When did you know Rudy Gobert was gonna be really good?
Me, I kinda knew during summer league when I first got here. You know, we got a chance to play with each other during summer league, and you know, he was having great games. He was blocking shots, and you know, the thing that surprised me the most that he knows the game so well, you know, as a center. And he wants to win so bad, so I, since I met him, you know, I always knew he was gon be good. (1280)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. russellkanning permalink
    April 8, 2015 11:11 pm

    another of our likable players

  2. Tony permalink
    April 9, 2015 1:03 am

    Lol ‘axe for’

Thoughts?

