Skip to content

Game 73 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Oklahoma City Thunder (32-41)

March 29, 2015

rudy refRudy Gobert’s down low message to the refs

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the game
It was gutsy, the way w–you know, from the way we started the game. I didn’t, I thought they were really the aggressors at the beginning of the game. And you know, our guys picked it up. I thought it was, a lot of just, the things that we’ve tried to be, you know, communicative and competitive and unselfish, that’s what we were. And we got rewarded for it.
** Snyder on what changed after the first quarter
You know, I, we–for one thing, you know, they were playing great and shooting the ball great. I thought they were getting to the rim too much, and our pick-and-roll defense, we made a few little changes that I thought helped us. And we just started, you know, like I said, I think we were, started playing harder. It was like a little bit of a wake-up call for — you know, this team will keep you on your heels all night, and, if you’re not aggressive.

black patch

** Gordon Hayward on the game
We’ve been on a really tough stretch here. We’re playing every other day, and then tonight, we go back-to-back. Like I said, with injuries and everything, no one expects [Derrick] Fav[ors] to be out, and so, it definitely was good. Just a great win for us. We battled, we fought, big win.
** Rudy Gobert on what changed for the Jazz defensively after getting down by 16
Just made some adjustment. Especially myself on pick and roll. I was just staying back and trying to protect way good on the drive and stay below the roll man, so they don’t have to come and give open threes. So basically, it was just putting pressure on me and make [Russell] Westbrook go at me at the rim, and it worked out pretty well in the second half.
** Trey Burke on what changed for the Jazz defensively after the first quarter
I think we just, we started competing at, even at a higher level. You know, we took this game personal. You know, came out with a sense of enthusiasm that we needed to win.
** Burke, asked if this was the most emotional win of the season
Yeah, I definitely think so. You know, one, the crowd was in it, the way it w–the way the crowd was in it, and then coming off the five games, losing four or five straight, you know, we wanted to come out and you know, give a good effort, and you know, try to get the win.

jerry bdayThe Jazz are 2-1 this season when they show Jerry Sloan on the broadcast.

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Craig Bolerjack on Joe Ingles: Big Joe’s wiggle, I love it.
** Boler: Jiggling Joe. (H/T @hessrp)
** Thurl Bailey at halftime: I like Trey Burke’s penetration. (H/T ‏@jwinskowski)
** Booner on Enes Kanter getting fouled: It’s a rough play. Of course, I love it. I like this. I don’t like softly played games.
Boler: Well, there was never a soft game in your day.
Booner: No, it was not. (H/T @5kl)
** Booner on Gordon Hayward: Gordon just a little too tight. (H/T @5kl)
** Boler on Chris Johnson: Johnson right on the end of that pile. (H/T @5kl)
** Boler on Johnson, Part 2: Johnson with a great look, in and out. (H/T @5kl)
** Boler on Russell Westbrook jumper: Oh my. How quick. Exploded out of his shoes.
** Quin Snyder, post-game: There was a couple possessions where they got on the floor for a loose ball, and we bent at the waist, and we talked about that in a timeout.


Red denotes most recent game.

game 73

Thanks to @allthatamar and @TaylorLangston2 for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. russellkanning permalink
    March 30, 2015 7:00 am

    Is it fair that I didn’t start watching until part way into the 2nd?

  2. The Jorge permalink
    March 31, 2015 6:55 am

    I was at the game, what a good time. The comeback after the 1st quarter was a lot of fun to be part of. The team stuck together and just continued to work their offense and stay committed on defense.
    One suprising thing from Kanter: I hadn’t expected the crowd to take Kanter out of the game as much as they did. We (unashamedly the rest of the crowd and I) booed him at every touch and it rattled him. Frustration showed. But he still got his. At the end of the game, I thought there was no way that his double-double streak was maintained, but the box score showed otherwise and Amar’s write-up at SLC Dunk showed that he had one of the top three revenge games against the Jazz. That is why I will miss him, the offense that he has. I loved watching him play and wish we could have had Snyder earlier. Maybe Kanter could have developed some defensive ability if properly coached.

Thoughts?

