Skip to content

Game 67 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Washington Wizards (30-37)

March 19, 2015

booker tweet

Pre-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder, asked how specific he is about positioning on passing
Well, I think there has to be a connectivity, and everybody, you know, we need to not pass the ball to Rudy [Gobert] at his waist, you know, when he’s, but he’s learning he’s gotta get his hand up. And so, a lot of it’s getting to know each other. We, you know, to pass the ball to the guy in the corner, a lot of times you don’t see him there right away. You gotta go up and trust he’s gonna be there. So, that involves spacing. You know, passing the ball to a guy at his knee is different than in the shooting pocket. So, all those things just have a tremendous impact not just on turnovers, but on shooting percentage. And it’s something we gotta continue to work on because we’re not a team that spreads the floor like Houston or certain teams. So, our passing becomes even more important; passing movement, too. That’s running an efficient offense.

contradiction booker

** Trevor Booker, asked if there’s any extra incentive playing against his old team
Just another game. You know, I didn’t expect to stay with one team my whole career, so you know, it’s just another game for me. Come out and play with energy, and hopefully we can get seven straight.
** Booker, asked about his bracket
I’m not gonna fill out one. I don’t watch college basketball.
** Gordon Hayward, asked about his bracket
I haven’t done a bracket yet, so. I’m rooting for Butler, though..I think you gotta fill out one bracket with them winning [when you] fill out multiple brackets.

grandmasPink Grandmas and Entourage!

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the game
I thought we played really hard, but I also think the physicality of the game had an impact on our shooting. We got a little hesitant at times, and we struggled in the third quarter especially. I think the game slowed down. …
There’s 82 games, and I don’t want to read — you know, I’ve said this — I don’t want to read too much into each game. But that said, you know, I thought we really competed. And against, I mean, I, they played as well as any team we’ve played. I mean, they made big plays. They were physical. And we were there. You know, we were right there. And give them credit; again, I think they made some plays down the stretch, but we had some good looks and they made some big baskets, and, so I’m not at all discouraged by how we played. I’d like us to be able to, I think we can play better and shoot better, but that’s, you know, a lot of that has to do with them, and how physical they were.
** Snyder, asked what he thought of Trey Burke’s defense on John Wall
I feel like Trey’s been playing better and better, you know, passing the ball well. You know, he just hasn’t made shots. And tonight, he made shots. I, th–ear–there was a possession early in the game on [Ramon] Sessions that he just, I felt like he hit a screen and didn’t fight over the top, and I, you know, I got on him and showed it at halftime and he really responded. You know, I was, when, you know, J–I thought John Wall made some really tough shots, and I think we could’ve done a little better job contesting, but there were some tough shots.

Salute of the Night #rudygobert #utahjazz

A post shared by @monilogue on

 

** Derrick Favors on how the Jazz played down the stretch
I loved the way we played. You know, just growth. You know, we execute the plays down the stretch. Defensively, you know, we did what we wanted to do on the defensive end. Just, you know, Washington made a lot of tough shots and you know, we missed a couple of shots.
** Gordon Hayward, asked what he was thinking when his last shot left his hand
I knew as soon as it left my hand — I didn’t think it was good. I kinda rushed it a little bit. I didn’t think I had as much space as I had, and I hit him with the jab and he backed off…It’s a learning experience. Next time I’ll know what to do and I can do better.

rudy tweet 318

** Rudy Gobert on his missed free throws
You know, I make 10 in a row every day. I just, it’s just in the game, I don’t understand. So I think I just gotta stop thinking about it and just think about making, you know? I think too much, and that’s when I miss them.
** Gobert on his four assists
I mean, I try to make it easy for my teammates, and I love to pass when I see my teammates open. So I try to make it easy. I think the team needs that too.
** Gobert, asked if he can learn from the way Marcin Gortat was holding him down to prevent him from getting rebounds
I mean, he did a great job boxing me out. He was facing me, so basically, he just let the guards get the rebound and you know, make sure I don’t get it. So, that was a good strategy. I don’t think I will need to do that on defensive ball. I just gotta make sure I box out and get contact on my guy and, to get the ball.

Random Stuff, etc.
** In today’s edition of Geography Mis-education with the Utah Jazz:

toyoko

** Shabazz Muhammad. Samuel Stockton. Dwayne Wade. Kevin Durant. Pink Grandma. Rudy Gobert. What do they all have in common?

Stockton and Malone socks! Here’s Gobert today, via @utahjazz:

** Finally, Tyrone Corbin could be headed back to college.

stephen howard tweet

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Giggling Matt Harpring on Rudy Gobert: He puts his butt a little bit in, and then contorts it a little bit.
Craig Bolerjack: That’s tough to do in mid-flight at 7-1.
** Harpring, all about that butt: Gortat put his butt into Hayward. (H/T @FrankNooch)
** Boler on Gordon Hayward: He’s hammered from behind and from the side.
** Harpring on a Gobert deflection: Wow, what a one-hand grab by Gobert!
** Boler on a couple (or man and woman sitting next to each other) in the crowd: That was a yawn. That’s not good. This could be a quick ride home.
** Boler on Secaucus review: That looked like the best angle. He was right on top, but just a bit short. A fingernail away.
** Media member to Hayward, post-game: The final possession there, you had your ball, uh, the ball in your hands.


Red denotes most recent game.

After starting the season 0-12, Johnnie Bryant went on a two-game win streak. Unfortunately, he got iced and didn’t get another interview for 40 days. Not helping tonight was Quin Snyder’s beige tie, which is now 0-3. (The Jazz are not 0-3 with beige ties, but 0-3 with the particular one Snyder wore tonight.)

game 67

Thanks to @AllThatAmar, @UGottaLovItBaby, @davidjsmith1232 and @dianaallen for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

One Comment leave one →
  1. russellkanning permalink
    March 20, 2015 5:34 am

    Rudyyyyyyy gotta make the free throws. That jam he had previously salute was Malonesque in its speed.

Thoughts?

