Skip to content

Game 66 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Charlotte Hornets (30-36)

March 17, 2015

It was 81-37 at one point. EIGHTY-ONE TO THIRTY-SEVEN.

old teammates

miss boys

marv and grandmas

Pre-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on Rudy Gobert’s growth
We’ve seen his ability to pass the ball. He likes to pass the ball. I think he’s gonna become an even better passer when his balance begins to improve even more. You know, I think the other thing is just his in–understanding and intellig of the ga–intelligence about the game, which is something that, you know, is valuable to us.
** Snyder on Rudy Gobert’s saluting
Yeah, you know, Rudy’s got, there’s a flamboyance about him, and there’s also a humility about him. I think he loves to play, and sometimes we see the flamboyance and not so much the humility, but humility also manifests itself in hunger. And you know, I don’t want him to go crazy, but you know, there’s a lotta guys that, you know, it pumps them up to play and gets the team going and the fans going.
** Snyder on Bryce Cotton
I think he just, he fits what we wanna do and the, his work ethic. And you know, I think he’s a communicative point guard, and you know, one of the things that really stands out about him is his ability to shoot the ball. I think he can make shots.
** Snyder on NCAA brackets
I got a lot of friends that are coaching in college…I root for people more than anything, so I, my, if I filled out a bracket it’s probably be pretty biased. My wife’s better at it than I am.
Are you obligated to take Duke every year? Is that an unwritten rule?
I like taking Duke. So, it’s not unwritten. You know, it doesn’t need to get written.

rudney-bench

** Rudy Gobert on defending Al Jefferson
Just stay down. You know, try to make him make the tough shot…Just make sure he don’t get me off my balance…and don’t make stupid fouls.
** Gobert, asked what is his favorite nickname
I like Gobzilla. I like Stifle Tower. I like a lot of them. You know, they’re pretty funny, so I just like them. I didn’t choose one al–yet, but I like them.*
** Rodney Hood, asked if he likes starting or coming off the bench
It really doesn’t matter. You know, my job is just to bring, as a rookie, is just to bring energy, and you know, spot up, and coach wants me to shoot the ball. So you know, I’m just trying to play my part.
** Bryce Cotton on signing a multi-year deal with the Jazz
Just signed it this morning. Feels good to know I’ll be here for the rest of the year, and I just wanna continue to work and do whatever the team needs and just try to keep getting better…It’s a wonderful feeling, but you don’t want to get complacent, and you wanna keep doing the things that get you noticed.

* For the record, I’m partial to the nickname OLAF, or “one long annoying fuck” as a Bulls fan called Gobert when he dominated the Bulls in Chicago earlier this season.

andy tweet

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the game and having multiple players that can handle the ball in the pick and roll
It puts pressure on the defense. It, tonight, what happened is, the pick and rolls, we pa–like I said, we passed the ball. The ball moved even more. I think our guy–I won’t say they’re buying in more, but they’re getting better at passing the ball. You know, passes were delivered in, on time. They were more accurate. Just li–you know, little differences that can make it — you know, we’re not gonna shoot that way all the time, obviously, and, but we were, it’s a very good defensive team. You know, a very good defensive team. And they caught us on a hot night, and we caught them on a tough night. And those things, we’ll be on the other end of something like that. We have been. So I know we’re fortunate in that respect, because they are so good defensively. And you know, they missed [Cody] Zeller too. You know, he gives them some physicality and some athleticism on both ends of the floor. So you know, kind of everything lined up for us tonight.
** Snyder on Rodney Hood’s development
You know, he’s confident, you know, and I think he’s getting some of that from the group. You know, he’s working so hard. I think he’s so focused defensively, that offense just kinda flows. And I think he’s also understanding that it’s OK to miss. You know, so it’s, the shot isn’t, you know, if he’s got a good shot, we want him taking it. And you know, that’s, he is, he’s taking ’em. The other thing is, he’s really, he’s got a, his mid-range game, you know, adds a lot. And so, he’s getting, he’s taking good shots, because his threes are clean, and if they’re, you know, if he’s not open, he shot fakes and goes in.

rudy no salute

** Rudy Gobert on the game
Yeah. Fuck yeah. You know, I think they scored like 66 points, and they got two threes at the end…So basically, they scored 60 points.
** Gobert, asked how hard was it for him to stay patient and wait his turn earlier in the season
That was hard, you know? Sometimes, you know, I wanted to be on the court. Especially early in the season, I wanted to be on the court at the end of the games. You know, and most of the time I was just watching from the bench. It was very frustrating for me, you know, sometimes to watch the players dominate inside, and I [couldn’t] do anything. But I trusted coach from the beginning, you know? I really trusted him. I knew he believes in me. I know I just have to be patient, you know, and just play, just do the best when I’m on the court and show him, you know, my abilities. And I knew he really liked me, and I like him too. So I knew it was just a matter of time before he really put me, give me more playing time.
** Gobert on handling success the right away
It’s important, because we’re not even in the playoff. So, I would say we have done nothing. We’ve done some ni–I mean, some great improvement, but we’re not even in the playoff. So, it’s only the beginning, you know? Now we get more respect, and I would say the hardest part gonna start now, because we getting more respect, and this season and early in the next season gonna be the most important.
** Gordon Hayward, asked how the team keeps its offensive focus when up by 30 before halftime
I think just the focus that we have as a team. I mean, everybody was saying it in timeouts, “Let’s keep it going. Make it 40, make it 50.” You know, I think we were just really, you know, competitive tonight, and we were really focused, and we were able to execute what coach wants us to do.
Was it about running up the score, or being the best that you can be?
No, I mean, I think it’s trying to be the best that we can be. And none of us want to get yelled at in film either, so we gotta make sure we make the right play no matter what the score is.

rod-treyA different side of Rodney Hood. And it’s adorable.

** Rodney Hood, asked what he’s thinking when the Jazz are on fire from downtown
Defense. You know, coach is always, no matter how we’re playing on the offensive end, he always preaching defense. So you know, but it’s, always helps to hit shots like that, and you know, it might not be like that e–it’s not gonna be like that every game, but we just gotta continue to defend.
** Hood, asked if he talks to Mike Krzyzewski
Yeah, I talk to, you know, coach K, you know, every other week, and you know, I talk to the assistant coaches all the time…Being there to talk to me, you know, when I need to vent, or you know, when things not going well, I can always call back or remember a time that I had at Duke that, to help me get through a tough time. So they always been there for me, and they’ll continue to. You know, it’s a great friendship that we have. [During the injury], they were always checking up on me, making sure everything was good and you know, making sure I was in high spirits.
** Dante Exum on whether his shot has improved since he was drafted
I think it has, and one of the main reasons behind it is just the confidence. And you know, I’ve had a couple games where it’s not been happening for me. You know, I’ve had people come up and say, you know, keep shooting it, like, you can make it. And you know, it just kinda gives me that little bit of confidence [that] when I’m gonna get that next shot, it’s just gonna go down, so.
** Exum on the Jazz hitting 11 threes in a row
You know, it would’ve been even more fun if we hit 12 threes in a row, but you know, Joe [Ingles] had to put his foot on the line.

dante gq

joe tweet

Random Stuff, etc.
** The LHM Group announced today that Greg and Steve Miller were stepping down together and the group was being restructured with an outside board of directors. According to multiple sources (ha), Mommy (Gail) had had enough of the two not getting along.

Randy Rigby had this to say — with possibly a Freudian slip in there — in response to a highly leading and likely scripted question from Steve Brown (“A lot of folks been asking what is the difference now that Greg has stepped down as CEO, and really, not much, I would think?”):

“You’re exactly right. Nothing has really changed from the Utah Jazz. This, we’re still going forward as we always have, and we will continue to report to Greg, Gail, and Steve as it relates to matters with, for the team, of moving — team moves with players, salary issues. The Miller family is every bit as involved. The Miller family owns, operates and will continue to run all this group of companies. And so, nothing has changed. …

It’ll be a board…A board of directors, I serve on many boards. And boards give advice to the owners, and advice they might want to look at from an outside perspective.”

** Was this supposed to be funny? I don’t get it.

bear-hornet

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Rudy Gobert, asked when he decides to salute: I don’t know. When I feel like it. You know, I can’t control it. It just comes.
** Gobert, asked what he thinks of his various nicknames: I think it’s pretty fun. I didn’t choose one yet, but I’m just watching, you know? I’m just watching what comes up, and it’s pretty fun.
** Rodney Hood on returning Rudy Gobert’s salute: Me and Eli just happened to do it at the same time. You know, we might make it something that we do all the time.
** Matt Harpring on the opening tip: Already, Al Jefferson’s smiling, saying, “Oh man, this guy’s long.”
Craig Bolerjack: He’ll get a heavy dose of Gobert tonight.
** Boler: Exum, does he feel it again? YES. YES! (H/T @dianaallen)
** Harpring on Big Al and Gobert: I don’t think he needs a double team down there. Al’s gonna give you the whole buffet of moves.
** Boler on Gordon Hayward block: Nice job by Hayward. Put up a hand and said, “No way. You’re not coming down my lane.”
** Boler on the Jazz’s 3-point barrage: Matty, they’re just coming in waves after wave.
** Boler: Rebounds are just coming in buckets. (H/T @JuMuJazz)
** Boler: Big Al, inside. That ball —
Harpring: He just couldn’t get it up —
Boler: –get it, Gobert. (H/T @Johnny_UT, @JuMuJazz and @timebomb801)
** Rodney Hood, asked how big the basket felt tonight: It felt big. (H/T @dianaallen)
** Hood on the next game against Washington: We got a big one coming in a couple days, so we gotta get ready.


Red denotes most recent game.

Note: Prior to today, Greg Miller had missed three consecutive home games, which was the most consecutive games he’s missed this season.

game 66

Thanks to @AllThatAmar for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. brett permalink
    March 18, 2015 1:20 am

    yes it was meant to b funny. the mascot came out dressed as an exterminator and sprayed everywhere – then all those little hornets dolls fell dead from the roof. something of that nature. the hornets fans comment about in their gameday comments.

    • March 18, 2015 5:46 am

      I saw the whole thing…guess it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

  2. russellkanning permalink
    March 19, 2015 6:21 am

    think of all the Golbert inspired fly swatters they could come up with

    • March 19, 2015 6:27 am

      That’d make a great giveaway at a home game!

  3. The Pimp permalink
    June 7, 2015 10:18 pm

    I GOT HELLA HOES I GOT HELLA HOES!

Thoughts?

