Skip to content

Game 62 of 82: Utah Jazz at Brooklyn Nets (26-36)

March 9, 2015

happy quin

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on playing equally well on offense and defense tonight
Yeah, well, our offense was ahead of our D. You know, hope–it’s yin-yang, you know, but I do think we took better care of the ball. That’s been something we’ve talked a lot about, and you know, I — Derrick [Favors] was really good. And I, part of it for us is even if we’re not making certain shots, we still gotta take ’em ’cause they’re good shots, and then when they go in, you know, things feel a lot better. And I thought that was the case tonight.
** Snyder, asked for his overall assessment of this road trip
It’s been a good trip. You know, I told the guys I feel like, you know, every time we’ve gone on a road trip, we’ve gotten a little better.
Was there a certain area you improved in more than others?
Well, you know, I think just the, almost the professionalism of handling a trip. You know, handling a big win at Memphis and then going and losing a close game, and then playing a Philadelphia team you saw beat Atlanta the other night, which was, I think, gonna be a really difficult game, energy-wise. It felt, you g–it was, you know, early on. And then today against a team that’s been playing very well, in a game that they’re on their home floor. And so, I think a lotta things that we did just the per–preparation to play, I liked. And I think we’re, you know, we’re beginning to have an identity, you know? I, doesn’t mean we’re, you know, we’re a good team yet. We’re getting better, but I think we’re starting to find out who we are and how we need to play to be succe–to be a good team.
** Snyder on Dante Exum’s performance
Yeah, I mean, he’s, he just, he’s learned how to use his length. And you know, he’s disciplined, and for a young guy, he’s got some savvy on the defensive end, where he has a good kind of feel for what’s going on and where to be. And he takes a lot of pride in it.

canceled shootaround

** Trey Burke on holding opponents to under 100 points in 14 consecutive games
I think we’re really confident. And you know, we’re s–we always say that we’re a young team, but you know, we’re getting better every day, you know, and it starts on the defensive end. Coach is holding us accountable, you know, each and every day, to allow us to get better in that area, and that’s feeding off of everything else.
** Rudy Gobert on the physicality of this game
Yeah, this type of game, very physical, you know? I think, especially myself, I wasn’t really ready at the st–beginning of the game, but I came back in the second quarter and in the second half more physical.
** Gobert on collecting a career-high five assists
That’s just what I like to do. You know, I’m unselfish, so sometime I just like to pass the ball.
** Gobert on being one possession away from a 4-0 road trip
Yeah, exactly. You know, we’re getting better and we’re getting more confident. I think we building an identity, and we feel good.
** Dante Exum, asked when he feels like the team took the next step and broke through
You know, I think after All-Star [Weekend]. You know, we had to get the, a little bit of a break from each other. And then once we came back, we knew we were gonna regroup and you know, focus on the last half of the season, and kind of locking down on defense and finishing out the right way, and developing for the future.

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Alec Burks “Alex Burks”: Craig Bolerjack (H/T @BandwagnJazzfan)
** That beard tho.

deron

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Matt Harpring on Trey Burke 3-pointer: This is a long, deep one.
** Craig Bolerjack on turnovers: They seem to come in bunches, Matt. A lot of times with a young club, you can expect that.
** Mark Cuban (H/T @dianaallen):

cuban udqm

** Harpring on coming up with lines like “Trey-mendous”: It just comes, Bol.
** Harpring on Rudy Gobert dunk and replay: He just goes straight up, and hammers it home…Sometimes it’s so good, Boler, you gotta look at it twice…It’s so good to look at, you wanna see it twice.
** Boler on Gordon Hayward turnover: Hayward trying to force it inside just in front of Gobert.
** David Locke to production, post-game: Could you give me a little more Dante volume, if you could?


Red denotes most recent game.

game 62

Thanks to @Mac_Jazz, @billylea, @AllThatAmar and @Malavoltron for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2015 12:20 pm

    Its the real face of Torry Ellis.

  2. russellkanning permalink
    March 9, 2015 9:14 pm

    I don’t even see the string that holds the beard in place.

Thoughts?

