Skip to content

Game 59 of 82: Utah Jazz at Memphis Grizzlies (24-35)

March 4, 2015

Rudy Gobert slam, salute and salute #rudygobert #utahjazz

A post shared by @monilogue on

 

Pre-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder, asked if he’s more concerned about repetition or rest at this point in the season
A little of both, you know? I think, someone told me we have, like, seven rookies right now on our roster, which has gotta be some sort of — it’s great, you know? And obviously, a couple of our rookies are older in Joe [Ingles] and Eli[jah Millsap], but they’re still rookies, so. We sh–in theory, we should have fresh legs. We’ve pra–we practice hard. So, I think, I’ve tried to be conscious. You know, we were off yesterday, completely off. Kind of called a lockout day, where, you know, I didn’t want anybody in the gym. Guys always sneak in, but we’ve gotta be, you know, I feel good about kind of w–trying to work with Mark McKown and Gary Briggs to make sure our guys, you know, we’re not overworking ’em, where they can stay fresh. I mean, I think if we’re not, you don’t get as much out of it as if you’re dragging, you know? You don’t get as good an indication of where you are as a team, and, but we try to balance that with practice. We’re still practicing.
** Snyder on Dante Exum’s next step, and if it’s just a matter of being aggressive and confident
I think that’s part of it. I think there’s some skills too, and some strength, that, some, really some things that are, you know, that are real areas of improvement. You know, just his strength and his physicality. I think in the next year or two, we’re gonna look at him and go, “Wow, you know, he’s really grown physically.” And I think the same is true of just, you know, his ability to get in the paint and create and use his tools, you know, in the game situation when the game goes faster.

** Gordon Hayward on what the the Jazz have to do to be more efficient offensively
Can’t turn the ball over. It’s probably been echoed by everybody. I mean, it’s just that simple. It’ll help us out on defense too, so.
** Hayward on Dante Exum’s next step
I think just being more aggressive, knowing when to take his shots. Seems a little passive, and I mean, that’s pretty normal as a rookie. You’re just out there playing to not mess up, you know, so when he stops thinking and really starts attacking the basket, I mean, he’s athletic, explosive, he’s long, he can really make plays around the rim for himself and others, so when he does that, he’ll be really good.
** Trey Burke on what the the Jazz have to do to be more efficient offensively
It’s turnovers. We gotta, you know, clean up tho–that area, turning the ball over, take care of the ball, and just keep playing defense the way we have been.
** Burke on Dante Exum’s next step
Just for him to be aggressive, you know? He’s gon, you know, he’s gon go through some growing pains, same thing everybody goes through. I went through it last season. You know, so, you know, a guy like him, we just need for him to be aggressive. You know, when he gets in the paint, use his length to be able to score over defenders, get to the line. And you know, I’m sure he’ll become more aggressive.

quin-T

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the game
The first half, I felt — it’s hard to feel like you’re playing good offensively because you’re not scoring, but I thought at least we were getting some open shots. Gordon in particular, I think that was the case; at home last game too, where he had some clean looks, and just want him to keep shooting. I thought the way he started the second half, you know, gave us a little life on offense, and you know, Ger–Derrick [Favors] really had a good game. I mean, he just, he had a presence on both ends of the floor the whole night.
** Snyder, asked about the bench and Rodney Hood’s contributions
I mean, I told our team after the game, I think one of the things that’s nice right now is you have a bench, and it’s a cohesive bench. You know, it’s hard sometimes for a player when the rotation’s not always the same, and although you wanna smooth it out a little bit, ’cause I think it helps players to have an idea when they’re playing and with whom. But it’s also a luxury to have guys that have the amount of character that, you know, they’re in for three minutes and somebody else is playing good, and they’re supportive. And that’s what our bench is playing like right now. I mean, Trey’s been, he’s played better than anyone, really, in the last week, and tonight, you know, Dante was playing real good, and he’s got Dante’s back. And like you said, Rodney, and you know, maybe one of the best contributions tonight was from Jeremy Evans.
** Snyder on his technical
Everybody always likes it when I get emotional…I didn’t want us to turn it over. That was the long and short — I told [Trevor] Book[er] maybe if I’d’ve caught the ball, I wouldn’t, I would’ve got away with it.

quin shaking hands

** Gordon Hayward on the Jazz’s first 3-game win streak of the season
Yeah, besides that Lakers game, you know, we could be on a better run. So, I mean, it’s growth for us as a team. We’ll see how we do tomorrow.
** Rudy Gobert on how his role has changed since Enes Kanter was traded
I mean, I’m starting now, so I’m guarding the best player on the other team, and I feel like the Jazz believe in me and that’s why I’m happy to play this way. And I feel way more confident.
** Gobert, asked about the mid-range jumper he took at the end of the game
Yeah, of course. You know, I’m working on it every day, and I feel way more confident, and I think it’s gonna come pretty soon. It’s supposed to be a surprise, but…

** Jeremy Evans on playing in front of his family
They always come, and most time I don’t get to play, but I’m sure they’re excited, and you know, had a great time.
** Evans on what Snyder said at halftime
Coach came in at halftime and said, you know, if we don’t make shots, we still can play defense, and work and try to win the game.
** Rodney Hood, asked what has changed for the team defensively
I mean, just our focus, you know what I mean? It was, everything was new to us, and we just got the hang of it, and you know, we took some losses, and you know, but now we’re coming together, and it helps to have, you know, Fav and Rudy playing like they’re playing on the defensive end, and you know, the guards just try to contain people. So it’s been great.

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Trey Burke “Trey Burks”: Craig Bolerjack
** People calling Derrick Favors “Cousins”: ESPN (H/T @chang_max)

espn cousins

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Craig Bolerjack: Koufos, riding the back end of Hood.
** Matt Harpring to Boler: I get on you, I expect you to get on me. (H/T @5kl)
** Boler on Snyder’s T: Oh baby, that is a moment of growth for both coaches and players.
** Boler on review of play: We’re being told they’re not satisfied with the angle themselves. (H/T @5kl)
** Boler on Rudy Gobert: The big fella can fill up the rim. (H/T @bjcseven)


Red denotes most recent game.

game 59

Thanks to @OhioHadley for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

