Skip to content

Game 58 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Milwaukee Bucks (23-35)

March 1, 2015

premature confetti

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on Trey Burke
I saw him get upset a couple times at a few teammates for something going on on the defensive end, which I like. You know, it means something when you’re playing hard and you have a breakdown, and — I like seeing our guys talk to each other like that.
** Snyder, asked whether the Jazz overly depend on Rudy Gobert’s defense
I think it’s exactly the opposite…We’ve been good defensively even without Rudy. In fact, I don’t know what the numbers show exactly, but I think, you know, of late, we’ve been equally effective even with him on the bench. And I’ve kinda said it before, I think he, I think his plays — it’s like when [Trevor] Book[er], like, blocks a shot, or you know, Eli[jah Millsap] gets a steal. I mean, everybody’s level kinda goes up, and I think Rudy’s been able to do that for us. But there’s a lotta guys that are taking a lot of pride defensively.

block bros

** Derrick Favors, asked if he “minds” Rudy Gobert is getting all the attention for the Jazz’s improved defense
It don’t really matter to me, man. You know, yeah, he gon get a lot of the attention. You know, I’m a good teammate. It really don’t matter to me. He deserves it. You know, he comes out and play hard every night. You know, he get a lot of blocked shots, get a lot of rebounds. But I just go out there, just try to play my part. You know, the shots that he don’t block, you know, I try to get ’em, or contest the shot so you know, we can get a rebound or whatever.
** Rudy Gobert, asked what’s changed or is different defensively from last year to this year
I think we take pride this year. Of course, we’re getting better and we talk a lot more, but I think it’s just pride…This year, we care about defense, you know?
** Gobert, asked who does more directing traffic on defense between him and Favors
I’m try to talk. You know, coach wants me to talk a lot. I know Derrick is not — his personality don’t talk a lot, but I think he’s doing a much better job of talking. And you know, Gordon [Hayward]’s the same, you know, pretty shy, that don’t talk a lot, but they do a much better job of talking [now].
** Trey Burke, asked if the game has slowed down for him
It’s slowed down a lot. I’ve been putting in a lot of work in after practice, with floaters to, you know, just extra reps. And watching film has been a huge, huge growth for me individually, because I’m able to see the game at a, from a different perspective. I’m able to make reads at a higher level, and I think I’m just growing.

sideboob

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Gordon Hayward “Favors”: Craig Bolerjack (H/T @halloweenhead)
** Talk about random…

bathroom line
** Trevor Booker’s mop play. Related #UDQM below.

Hilarious ESA reactions #trevorbooker #mopplay #ledgie #utahjazz

A post shared by @monilogue on

 

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Matt Harpring on Trevor Booker bucket: Watch this, Boler. This is how you finish. Look at it. Bang, bang.
** Steve Brown on Earl Lloyd: He became the first African-American in this league, of course setting the legacy for a lot of folks to come behind him.
** Harpring: It’s all about the D. All about the D, not about the bass, it’s about the D, Boler. You know, you know what I’m saying. (H/T @mac_jazz)
** Harpring: I’m not trying to get on Dante. I’m just trying to say, hey, you know, take it to the hole. Use your size.
** Harpring: Well, Favs says, “No one’s gonna come, I’m gonna go one-on-one.” And then dribbles it off his shoe.
** Trey Burke, post-game: Milwaukee’s one of the best teams in turning guys over.
** Trevor Booker on the “ledgie”: I needed Rudy. You know, it was tough. You know, the mop was going this way, that way. I just couldn’t get it down, and finally, it just dropped for me…I knew the cameras were watching. I knew people were watching. I knew eventually it would come down. I didn’t think it would take three times, though.
** Media member to Elijah Millsap: When you’re not making shots, is it harder to stay, stay up and keep the hustle high and the effort high?
Millsap: You gonna say that again?
Media member: When you’re not making shots, is it hard to st–uh, keep the hustle as high as, and the effort, as you have tonight?
Millsap: Not really.
** Media member to Rudy Gobert: Which one of you is, I guess, kind of the more, of the signal caller, you know, the guy that’s directing traffic in there?
** Steve Brown to Gobert: Another big presence inside tonight, and you got that little grin, and that’s good.
Gobert: I think I controlled myself pretty good.


Red denotes most recent game.

game 58

Thanks to @dianaallen for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

