Skip to content

Game 57 of 82: Utah Jazz at Denver Nuggets (22-35)

February 28, 2015

abandon hope

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the game
Well, I think, you know, we played portions of, you know, we’ve played portions of games well, and we’ve gotten beaten over the course of the year. But we got a little bit weak and, at the beginning of the third quarter. They turned it up, but we responded, and it was good to see, you know, over the course of the game that our team, I think, had a really good focus and knew what we wanted to do.
** Snyder on the team
Well, the thing that I like most of all is that they’re really coachable. You know, and we had a film session yesterday that wasn’t, you know, we just told the truth. And our guys, you know, for a young group, sometimes, you know, you’re not able to really be introspective enough and honest with yourself to say, “Hey, this is, I did this. I own this, and I’m gonna change it.” And as a result, you kinda move along, but you don’t make as much progress. And I think our guys have been mature enough and tough enough to say, “Hey, that was my fault, and I did that, and I’m not gonna do it again,” and that collectively is what we want…We have a team that competes, and they try. So when they’re not giving effort like [in the Lakers game], to me, it immediately goes to, you know, what’s going on between the ears?

adLove Derrick Favors’ scream face. Gordon Hayward, however, looks like a teenage girl trying to model jeans.

** Derrick Favors, asked how he found success tonight
Just being aggressive. You know, I knew guys was gonna look at me to be the leader out there and get everything going — me and Gordon. So you know, I just wanted — Gordon did a good job being aggressive in the first half, and you know, in the third quarter or whatever. You know, I just wanted to come out and you know, be aggressive, try to get the team going then, and get everybody else in the groove.
** Gordon Hayward on Joe Ingles’ dunk
I didn’t know he could do that. That’s what I told him right after he dunked it. And he laughed. But you know, I s–also, he wouldn’t have got that if I wouldn’t have passed to him. So I said he owes me.
** Trey Burke on the Jazz being a coachable team
[Snyder] came at us yesterday in film session, and it was something we needed because we weren’t the same team the other night at home, and it has to get to the point where we’re the same team every single night that steps on the court, you know, and that everybody holds themselves accountable. It’s more on the defensive end than anything. You know, guys should know where they’re supposed to be, and it’s just a matter of executing and doing what you need to do.

millsap tweets

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Steve Brown on Tom Chambers’ transition from player to broadcaster: You’re so worried about the little thing, you sometimes just forget to let it happen, and rely on your instincts.
Tom Chambers on the transition: When you first get in, you try to do things, you know, all this way. And then when you stop thinking and you just run with it, because you know it and you know what to do, you know, it’s better.
** H/T @dianaallen:

keys to the game

** Craig Bolerjack on bad Gordon Hayward pass to Derrick Favors: That ball a little low, down around his ankles.
** Trey Burke on Derrick Favors and Rudy Gobert: When you have that presence behind you, it’s great to have.


Red denotes most recent game.

game 57

Thanks to @davidjsmith1232 for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    February 28, 2015 6:14 pm

    Who doesn’t want to have a bangin’ good time?

  2. russellkanning permalink
    March 2, 2015 12:15 pm

    we need to hear how that sounds from Rudy, Jingles, and our baby Aussie

Thoughts?

