Skip to content

Game 54 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Portland Trail Blazers (20-34)

February 22, 2015

rudy

Pre-Game Quotage
** Rudy Gobert on his deleted tweet
I just spoke my mind, you know? Sometimes I speak my mind, so. I don’t think that was this bad, you know? That was just a little bit funny, and I just deleted it because I didn’t know — you know, but, yeah. I’ll be careful next time.
** Derrick Favors on having previously said he was more comfortable at power forward
Yeah, I said it in the past, but you know, I feel like I’m comfortable wherever they play me now. You know, I think I was being selfish at first saying I’m more comfortable at the power forward, but you know, now wherever they put me, I’m fine with that.
** Favors, asked if he’s going to start shooting 3-pointers
Not yet. Not yet. I need a off-season to work on it, but you know, hopefully by next year or year after that, you know, I can extend my range to the 3-point line. But you know, right now, just gon continue to play the way that I always played.
** Dante Exum on what he learned from Steve Novak
Steve was a great guy on and off the court. And he helped me a lot, and, just developing kind of that NBA mindset and how it was to be a professional and handle yourself off the court. And just on the court, I, he, obviously a great shooter…And he had a few tips for me [on shooting], so, yeah.
** Joe Ingles on Rudy Gobert’s defense on LaMarcus Aldridge
To have that agility and the length, obviously, on top of it, and being able to stay down and not go for shot fakes, is pretty impressive for a 7-2 Frenchman.
** Ingles on the trade
Everyone knows me and Steve got on really well…so yeah, disappointed to lose, obviously, a friend and a teammate. But yeah, hopefully he can go win a championship or something. Then, yeah, obviously the same with Enes [Kanter]. Great player, and hopefully he got what he wanted to do.

Sadness. (via @lenmahl)

Post-Game Quotage*
** Quin Snyder on the game
I think we played, like, pure. You know, I think, you know, we made some mistakes, but for the most part guys tried to, they played for one another. You know, and when you’re unselfish like that, and you know, you don’t care what happens and you, they were trying to make each other better, and I just think you get rewarded for that. Obviously you gotta make a shot or two, but I, that was kinda what it felt like to me on the floor, that we just kinda played with a purity.
** Snyder on Trey Burke
He’s working. You know, he’s working on his mid-range, his floater. He’s always had that pull-up. I want him to shoot the ball when they go under behind the screen. That’s the next thing for him, but his reads are getting better. And he’s in there, and he’s trying to make the right play…I just think he’s improving. Tonight, he made it, you know, it’s been coming. Tonight, the ball went in the basket for him.
** Snyder on Rudy Gobert’s two early fouls
The reality of the thing was, he was probably excited and he left his feet. I know Alex Jensen was angry, ’cause we showed him about 10 clips, and, “Don’t leave your feet.” And it’s, you know, against a player of that caliber, it’s hard not to. But I, you know, I think both he and Trevor [Booker] were c–were really juiced up and they did a good job when they settled down.

quin wave

** Rudy Gobert, asked if he feels his defensive toughness has had a big influence on the team
Of course. You know, I think that’s what this team was really needing, you know, some character and somebody that, you know, ready on fight and be ready to fight because that’s what you need to win games. You know, and I think this team really need somebody like that, and I think when I do it, everybody following. You know, everybody playing [with] the same fire.
** Gobert on the importance of communication
It’s very important when you, it’s a five game — I mean, it’s a five-on-five game, so the guard — if the, if I want the guard to be able to play good defense on the perimeter, they gotta know what’s coming, because if they get hit by a screen, they won’t trust me and then they won’t play same defense. You know, so they just gotta trust me and know, like, when I call the screen, and the screen coming and know I’m gonna have their back if they get beat.

** Gordon Hayward on the game
Not a lot of complaints tonight. We played really well on the defensive end; that sparked us offensively. Everybody was taking shots that were open. We were making the right play, making the right pass. It was fun.
** Hayward on Gobert
He’s gonna get better on [the offensive] end. He’s learning the role, and he’s gonna be, you know, better with the ball in his hands. But defensively, you know, he’s, I think he’s already an elite player.
** Trey Burke on Snyder praising his pick and roll defense
I think it’s just a conscious effort, you know, every single possession, you know, on the defensive end. Not relaxing, you know, not getting too comfortable if your man passes the ball. You know, getting to the areas where you need to be at. And it’s just all about, you know, doing your job. You know, my bigs did a great job tonight of talking to me when the screen was coming, and you know, it’s all about competing at the end of the day.
** Trevor Booker on Enes Kanter’s absence
Enes was a big part of this team. He was a big-time scorer, a rebounder. But I think we got better defensively, and I think defensively, it carries over to the offense.

* I was listening to the post-game on a plane, so the accuracy of these transcriptions have a margin of error of plane noise.

Random Stuff, etc.
** Steve Novak and Enes Kanter, arriving in Oklahoma City (via @stevenovak16):

** The Kings have called up David Stockton from the D-League on a 10-day contract.
** Only in Utah: Family Package = SIX tickets.

only in utah

** Jazz spelling fail: John Stockton is your all-time seals leader.

most seals

** Quin Snyder said he was giving Rodney Hood a hard time over his new shoes with red on the bottom. So Hood is apparently wearing Louboutin kicks? (This part also has a margin of error of plane noise.)

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Quin Snyder on Rudy Gobert’s defense on LaMarcus Aldridge: He’s just long. And it’s a different — he’s got enough length to make it a little different.
** Dennis Lindsey on Kanter trade: If it weren’t for Enes and his significant basketball ability and age and overall talent, we wouldn’t have received the package that we received.
** Lindsey on Hayward: In years past, he’d miss a shot or have a bad week, and he would shrink.
** Craig Bolerjack to Lindsey: How important, though, when it comes time to make a trade or make a move, when you can say, “I’ll slide in a ‘one’ or I’ll slide in a couple of ‘twos’?”
** Lindsey on jinxes: As soon as you say that, guys, it’s like, bang bang bang, here comes LaMarcus.
** Dennis Lindsey on the Enes Kanter trade: We were able to break Enes up into pieces. (H/T @hessrp)
** Media member to Gobert, post-game: Trey talked about your ability to communicate. Let him know what’s behind him, let him know what’s coming.


Red denotes most recent game.

game 54

Thanks to @UGottaLovItBaby and @j32jam for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jazz Fox permalink
    February 22, 2015 1:29 am

    So glad you caught the “Seals” typo. As soon as I saw it, I figured I’d see it here today. Thanks SO much for all your amazing work! No Jazz game is complete until Moni posts her recap!

    • February 22, 2015 1:34 am

      I aim to please haha. Thank you so much for your kind words. Very much appreciated :)

  2. russellkanning permalink
    February 22, 2015 4:47 am

    Always liked Enes but the rest are great to root for still.
    RuDyyyyyy

  3. February 22, 2015 6:20 am

    Thank you very much for posting all this regularly. This site is one of my most frequently visited in my spare time, and I always look forward to coming here for all updates after each game.

    • February 22, 2015 9:49 am

      Really appreciate your words. Thank you for reading!

Thoughts?

