Skip to content

Bits from Randy Rigby (2/11) and Dennis Lindsey (2/13) Interviews

February 17, 2015
tags: ,

rigby

On being a farm boy, and Valentine’s Day
I’m the farm boy from Farmington, Utah…One time I went out and I bought this really nice sweater. I thought [my wife] would really like it, and, ’cause it was kind of my style, and, being a farm boy. And she didn’t like all the colored stripes, that she felt it made her look like a colorful rainbow, and it went immediately back to Nordstrom’s.

But the, you know, the thought, it’s the thought that counts.

** People calling Derrick Favors “Derrick Favor”: Randy Rigby. (Well, I think we now know how this happened.)
** People calling Alec Burks “Alex”: Randy Rigby.

What is the dynamic like between Quin Snyder and his players?
Well, you know what, Quin is, I notice a couple of things. Quin loves the game of basketball. He loves and takes seriously his role as being the head coach, and his role as a coach and a mentor. He loves developing players, and he, you know what, he wants the best for all of our players. And he really does.

He, and one of the things that, we have a strong feeling and belief in, and that is that we want quality people in our organization. And when we really analyzed Quin Snyder, I came to realize, and now I’ve been able to really enjoy, here’s a man who has a very good heart. And he really desires the best for our players.

And so, and our players feel that and see that. I mean, he’s tough on them, and they, I think you heard it in an intervak–view recently with Steve Novak, and he calls them out…

The players see that, and r–they respect that, there, he is no respecter of persons. He will demand the best out of each one of his players, but at the same time, he knows they care about him, and he, they know that they can come to him and talk about their game and how he can, and things they’re seeing, and so there’s some very good open dialogue and communication.

There’s very good respect that he has for them, and I think that goes a long ways in the development of what they’re doing as players, and the respect they have for him as a head coach. And it’s very important, so I s–we see that, observe that, and I think that’s a very healthy, it creates for a very healthy, positive environment in a locker room.

And I, you know, we’ve been fortunate with Jerry Sloan in the demanding the respect that people have for him. And Ty[rone Corbin]. But we haven’t had bad locker rooms.

And I’ve heard a lot of stories and know of a lot of bad experiences that are just the alter–the alternative of that, in really bad environments, cancers that are going in there, and problems that are having, from, between coaches and players, and player to player.

lindsey

On Enes Kanter’s trade request
I think Enes and [his agent] Max [Ergul’s] comments stand on their own merit…I don’t think it really changes the course of our business. As I’ve mentioned before, we just continue to go about doing what we do, and evaluating value relative to a roster. So, beyond that, we really, you know, we don’t have much comment. Again, I think the comments can stand alone.

If a player doesn’t want to be here, do you really want him here?
It’s a little more complicated than that…My experience, when you have good people on both sides of the aisle, whether it be negotiations or if it’s building a team, usually that will rule the day. And we believe in Enes as a person. We believe in his character and his work ethic, and we like him as a young player.

And so, again, I’ve been in several situations where, when time thickens and heals whatever grievances there may be. Usually, you can use moments like this to grow even closer. So, we’ll certainly, you know, evaluate what we have, but to overreact in our position would be a mistake.

Quin Snyder mentioned that guys often say things they don’t mean after a game where they don’t get a lot of minutes. Is that a possibility?
Oh ho ho. I’d be a hypocrite as an ex-player if I didn’t admit that I had some poor moments with that…I could understand, you know, it was a close, emotional, hard-fought game, and I’ve been there before as a player.

I, there’s been some, you know, post-game things that I’ve said that I’m not proud of. And you grow and you learn, and even Max said this, you know: Enes has to come out and play, and he has to bring it now, like all of our players do if they want more opportunity. …

I’ll say this, we’ve instituted some team meals post-shootaround, and the chemistry amongst Derrick [Favors] and Enes and Rudy [Gobert] and Trevor [Booker] and Steve [Novak], all of our bigs, Jeremy [Evans], has been really good. You know, it’s almost like watching an offensive line gain chemistry on and off the court.

So again, we all, after [losses] it’s like a death. And I don’t wanna, I don’t want to do anything out there to compare a loss to a death, but that mos–that emotion you feel, that post-mortem after the game, that’s real.

And sometimes you say things, and i–that are probably better left unsaid, and heat of emotion, but there’s also a window into motivation and want to do better, and we want all our players to feel that way, just in the context of a team.

If the Jazz season is broken down into thirds, what have you seen and what do you want to see?
Yeah, I think the, certainly the first third of the season, we were rocked and set back a little bit. New system, new coach that the players had to get used to, and vice versa. Certainly, Alec [Burks]’ injury was a setback, and him being in and out of the lineup, just having that athletic ability and someone that puts that much pressure on the rim.

And we had yet to discover Rudy fully at that point in time. Again, we sh–we saw glimpses like we had in the summer, but we frankly didn’t know how to integrate that. And so, that really, I’d say Rudy’s integration into a core piece of what we’re doing going forward, the second third was a dominant theme.

And then as our chemistry has got, improved, our defense has improved. We’ve had some very good offensive output. We still need to be more precise going forward with what we’re doing offensively.

And I would expect the last third of the season, we wanna continue to build upon what we’ve slowly acquired from a young player standpoint. And I think we sit here today and there’s not one person on our roster that I don’t think can, one, improve, but two and maybe more importantly, improve inside of the context of what we’re doing…We want the internal development to be very significant this last third of the season. (1280)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. GO JAZZ! permalink
    February 19, 2015 4:18 pm

    新年快樂!

Thoughts?

