Skip to content

Bits from Joe Ingles (2/12) and Dante Exum (2/13) Interviews

February 15, 2015

ingles 112
Just how big of a supertar and celebrity ARE you in Australia?
Yeah, I’m kind of a big deal. I mean, obviously, you don’t like talking about yourself a lot, but I am a big deal. And it’s just the way it is, so. Dante’s only 19, and Andrew Bogut’s been overseas for so long, there’s no one else they really have to support. So I guess they just, I don’t know, this is my first year actually over here, and I spend a lot of time in Australia, so —

Nah. That’s all a lie. I really don’t, I mean, I think what has helped me with my kind of fan base in Australia is I did play my first three years professionally in Australia, where a lot of other guys have gone to college [in the States], so it has helped and it does, I guess, make a few more people remember me…

[Also,] I’ve represented Australia, have every off-season for the last seven or eight years, so yeah, I’ve got a pretty good fan base in Australia, and hopefully we can keep building.

So are you in the category of, like, a Russell Crowe?

Yeah, maybe just under him. Above Iggy Azalea, and just under Russell Crowe.

On Steve Novak
Yeah, I feel bad. I feel like I’ve been holding him back, ’cause as soon as I was out, he went and made four of five in one game and four of six last night, so I went and apologized to him for holding him back after the game. But I mean, I think everyone knows Steve and what he does and what he does best, and that’s shooting the basketball.

And you know, we’ve seen him in practice. We’ve all shot against him for little wagers and lost. And it’s a pretty amazing thing, really. I mean, I’ve never played with a guy who, literally every time he shoots, it looks like it’s going in.

And I mean, it’s a credit to him to not play for x amount of months, and come out there and — he said he felt pretty terrible the first game, but then the next two, he obviously showed, got his legs under him a little bit and showed what he can do and how valuable he is to this team…It’s a credit to him to stay that professional.

On Gordon Hayward’s hair
Gordon will probably spend the whole seven days working on his haircut and make sure it looks good for when we come back. … It’s terrible, isn’t it? It’s terrible. …

I’m gonna give you a little insight on his haircut, and how long and silly it is…In this last trip, we were rooming right next to each other. Our rooms were basically joined. We had an adjoining door which we opened a couple times to talk to each other. But yesterday, he went to sleep for his little pre-game nap.

I got up, and it was half an hour before we had to leave, and I went to the bathroom and as I was passing through the little corridor to get to my bathroom, I could hear all this noise in his room. And I thought, like, I hope he’s all right. Like, he’s been away from his wife for a while, hope he’s not sad, and he sounds upset, whatever.

And I put my ear kind of next to the window, just — the door, sorry, to hear what it was, and it was the hair dryer going, so. I’ve never seen a man use a hair dryer before, and I knocked on the door to try and see a man use a hair dryer. So, he was in there. I don’t know what he was doing.

I did see the day before that he had, like, seven different hair products and a little comb and the hair, obviously now, with the hair dryer. So, it’s pretty obvious how much he likes his hair. And I think, if you watch during the game, it doesn’t move. I don’t know how it’s possible, but it actually doesn’t move.

What does your fiancee, Renae, like in men’s hairstyles?
She just kinda likes whatever I do. She, the only thing she doesn’t like, which is why I kind of grow it more when she’s not here, is my facial hair. She hates beards, and it’s the only time that I can actually grow it and not get told off ’cause it’s itching her or scratching her or “Don’t kiss me, ’cause it’s rubbing on my face” or whatever, so. She’s away now, so I might, by the end of the year, I might be looking like a werewolf or something.

Is that an Australian women thing or unique to her?

I think it’s just her. Yeah, I wouldn’t know. I mean, I couldn’t tell you what other women like. But I get in trouble by her, and —

She’s not here, Joe. She’s not listening.

Nah, she listens…Someone put [last week’s interview] out there, and she was like, “What are you talking about–” Who were we talking about last week? The actor? Actress, sorry.

Nicole Kidman.

Nicole Kidman. “Why are you talking about Nicole Kidman?” I was like, “Babe, I was just, it was part of the show. I was putting on a show. They were laughing. It was fun.” And then I got told off, so…We’re not talking about women anymore.

** Regarding Enes Kanter not returning to Utah and flying to Pennsylvania after the last game before the All-Star break, Ingles says only three or four players returned to Utah on the team charter after the game.

exum

What is your relationship with Trey Burke like, especially since the roster change?
You know, we both understood what, you know, this change has been about. And you know, it wasn’t because we wanted to demote him or anything. It was just a strategy and what the coaches saw…and you know, he understood that and I understood that. And that’s, you know, why it worked so well.

What goes through your mind when you hear Enes Kanter requesting a trade?
You know, that’s his business, and what he wants to do. And you know, I’ve got no comment on that. But you know, I wish the best with Enes, so.

What’s your reaction to Joe Ingles saying you idolize him so much you probably still sleep in his jersey?
You know, Joe said that he would, once he’s done with his career, would retire and be my ballboy. So I think he’s kind of idolizing me at the moment.

On his rookie year so far
Well, you know, I obviously knew [my first year] was gonna be hard, you know, going against the best players in the world every night. So, but it’s, you know, it’s just about where I expect it. And you know, I knew I wasn’t gonna come out and, you know, dominate my first year, and it’s gonna take a, take some time and be a process, so. (1280)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. russellkanning permalink
    February 15, 2015 9:46 am

    I love these guys.
    now we just need Enes to come back after the break ready to score on Rudy in practice.

  2. bebop permalink
    February 15, 2015 8:07 pm

    Ingles should just do the interviews for everyone.

  3. February 16, 2015 5:53 am

    Ingles is the best interview the Jazz have had in years.

    • February 17, 2015 1:23 am

      So much this! Its been a long time since I get super excited to read your transcripts. Everyone was so generic for the last you know how many years. Now its like Woot! Woot! I get to read Ingles!!!

Thoughts?

