Skip to content

Game 47 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Golden State Warriors (17-30)

January 31, 2015

enes tweet

curry

Pre-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on minute distribution
To be honest with you, this whole, this line of questioning for me is a little misguided…Everybody wants to play more, and that’s my job to make those tough decisions. And I don’t expect any one player, you know, you always want to play more. I mean, that, and that’s good. You know, that means you’re competitive. But the good thing about our guys is they haven’t been hung up on a lot of the things that I get questioned about. They haven’t been hung up on who’s starting. They usually, you know, [are] unbelievably supportive of one another while they’re in the game, and you know, that’s the credit to them.
** Snyder on teaching and critiquing
A lot of our guys, they take criticism as coaching. You know, it’s, I’m not always, you know, there’s very few k–you know, kid gloves. We don’t have time for that. And so, sometimes a lot of the teaching we do can be in front of the group, and it’s not always comfortable to have someone, be it me, you know, telling you in no uncertain terms, like, this isn’t the way we do it. And you know, that’s, it’s a credit to our guys’ maturity that they’re able to sift through that and you know, and not take things personally.
** Snyder, asked if he’s still having fun despite the frustrations of the season
I mean, frustrations are a part of, you know, I wouldn’t know what to do if there wasn’t some level of frustration. I mean, I’d rather call it “challenges.” You know, and “fun,” I feel any time you get to do something professionally that you enjoy doing, it’s pretty special. And I feel like I’ve, you know, got that opportunity, so I appreciate it.

** Gordon Hayward, asked if there’s any disappointment over All-Star selections
As far as me personally? We don’t have enough wins as a team. You know, once we start winning as a team, then there’ll be a lot more people recognized.
** Enes Kanter, asked if he ever watched Klay Thompson’s 37-point quarter
I did, but who cares, you know? I think we have enough talent to guard him and guard, you know, everybody on their team.
** Kanter, asked about Andrew Bogut
You know, Andrew Bogut, big guy. Knows a little Turkish. I don’t know what to say about them, you know? I mean, he’s just, I don’t know, a big guy. I mean, nothing special.

* Despite how these Kanter quotes may sound and how they’ve been overblown in the media, his intent seemed to be more “We have the talent to compete with these guys” rather than “Whatever, these guys are overrated bums.”

jaime lannister

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the game
They’re a terrific team. And you know, we just wanted to, you know, try to play hard and execute. So I think in that sense, it was, you know, to be able to play defense against a team like that, and really focus on it, for us was good. You know, we were fortunate, you know, they missed some shots that, you know, they make. And that’s kind of the, that’s what you need to have happen against a team like that, to have a chance to win the game. And you know, we obviously played hard defensively, but you know, they had some looks that just didn’t go, and we were fortunate in that sense.
** Snyder, asked about sticking with a bigger lineup in the third quarter when the Warriors went small
That’s a, that’s like a, a really, that’s a tough, you know, a tough decision that, you know, comes up. And I think for us, you know, to not chase a match-up situation, given our personnel, you know, that we feel, you know, I have a hard time finding minutes for all four of our bigs anyway. So, I felt like, you know, even, you know, [Trevor] Book[er] is a more natural fit if someone does go small, but you know, we’re challenging our bigs to be able to defend out on the perimeter, and you know, I feel like I need to give them an opportunity to do that. So that’s what we decided.
** Snyder on the guy that hit Dante Exum in the throat
Draymond Green plays hard. You know, he’s one of my favorite players in the league…I like watching him.

** Derrick Favors on the Jazz’s bench
It’s a big boost. You know, sometimes the starters, you know, they’ll be kinda tired or don’t have it that night. But you know, when the bench with Book and Rudy [Gobert] and Trey [Burke], all those guys come in and they give us a lift. You know, they give us momentum, and you know, when the starters come in again we got the momentum going, so you know, we just keep it up.
** Gordon Hayward on the Jazz’s defensive energy
I think we all just came ready to play. I mean, it’s one of those things where you’re playing against arguably the best team in the NBA, so you’re gonna be excited, you’re gonna be hyped up to play. And we need to bring that energy against everybody, play like we’re playing against them every single night.

dante draymond

** Dante Exum on getting hit in the throat
I tried to walk back on the court, and then I walked to coach and I said, “Coach, I’m about to throw up and I gotta go.” … I just knew it was a, just getting hit in the throat, it’s gonna be like that, and a lot of throwing up. But I adjusted well, and you know, it was just about breathing and calming myself down.
You know they called a foul on Joe Ingles on that play?
Yeah, I think Joe pushed the guy into [me].
Is it frustrating to you there was no foul called on Draymond Green?
No, it’s just the game of basketball and how it works, but you know, I definitely had a few words to Joe about it.
** Exum on getting hit in the throat, Part 2
I knew I was fine. I just wanted to stop gagging. I hate that word, but…
** Exum on getting hit in the throat, Part 3
I knew the team was doing well. I was watching here while I was throwing up, but yeah, I wanted to definitely come back out on the court and be a part of the win.
** Exum on Gordon Hayward
There’s a lot I can learn off him. His aggressiveness, and you know, how to lead a team. He does it in a silent way, I gotta say, but you know, he calls me to the side and you know, he gives me a couple words [like] to be aggressive, to stay aggressive, keep shooting the ball.
** Exum, asked why Favors was showing him his shirt
I said in an interview that Derrick has no style, and he’s trying to prove to me that he does. So he pulled out his Gucci today, showing a bit of money.

favors gucci

** Rudy Gobert on the Jazz’s defensive improvement
It’s great. We all know we can do this. The only problem is can we do this every time, you know? Gotta be consistent, and play defense 48 minute every game. And I think we gonna be a great team if we do this.
** Trevor Booker on the game and his performance
Before the game, I was just looking at the TV. I didn’t see my name on the reserve list for the All-Stars, you know, so I got upset…Nah, I just had a, you know, it was just one of those nights where everybody had it going, you know? As a team, we fed off each other. We had the ball moving. It was just one of those nights.
** Trey Burke on his alley-oop to Rudy Gobert
Our chemistry is growing every day. You know, the play was originally for Fav, and his guy started helping over and I saw Rudy, you know, basically giving me the signal. So, I trust him, he trusts me, and I threw it up to him.

quin-spit

Super Bowl Picks
** Quin Snyder: No question [the Seahawks]…I’ve got my hat on, my helmet on my desk. I’m ready to go.
** Derrick Favors: I don’t care. The Falcons not in it, I don’t care who win.
** Dante Exum: Well, I think Seattle won it last year, so I think I’ll go with the other team, the Patriots.
** Joe Ingles: I don’t care…I’m for the Green Bay Packers ’cause [Steve] Novak was, but then they lost, so I don’t care anymore.
** Trey Burke: I’m going with the Seahawks.
** Rudy Gobert: I think the Seahawks. I like the Seahawks.
** Trevor Booker: Imma have to go with the Seahawks, just because I don’t like the Patriots. I think they cheat too much…My Cowboys, they’re not in it, so Imma have to go with the Seahawks.
Do you feel like your Cowboys got cheated?
Aw man, I don’t want to talk about it. It still hurts.
** Matt Harpring: Seahawks.

dante-poke-joeDante Exum as he makes his way back to the bench after throwing up in the locker room. His relationship with his idol Joe Ingles is so cute.

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Damian Lillard “Lilliard”: Craig Bolerjack (H/T @5kl)
** Our Jazzmen may be millionaire athletes, but they are just fanboys at heart (via @joeingles7; @rudygobert27; @gdhayward, who for reasons unknown asked Nikolaj Coster-Waldau to take a picture with a cardboard cutout of himself; and @BrianZettler).

rudy got

kingslayer

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Steve Brown on Rodney Hood’s foot: They’ll just rest it until they think he is ready to go again.
** Craig Bolerjack on Dante Exum: Draymond Green gave him a high, hard one. Exum’s in the locker room.
** Matt Harpring on Dante Exum getting hit in the throat: I’m sure they’re doing all the tests in the back. (H/T @RxMike12)
** Boler: Bogut pushes it inside, Lee finishes.
** Boler: Two big fellas, going at it. (H/T @TaylorLangston2)
** Harpring on Steph Curry shot: You gotta know Steph’s coming down to get a quick one up. (H/T @5kl)
** Steve Brown to Joe Ingles, post-game: As an individual, you got really started quickly tonight. And that’s not the first time. In the last couple games, you’ve really seemed to come out of the box quickly as well. Are you doing anything differently?


Red denotes most recent game.

game 47

Thanks to @chang_max for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    February 1, 2015 7:41 am

    I finally listened to Kanter’s pregame comments. I think its much ado about nothing.
    I am soooo happy we beat the Warriors. I hated all their laughing and pointing and celebrating when they beat us earlier this month. Go Jazz!

  2. Irideducs permalink
    February 1, 2015 7:43 am

    Thanks for the recaps. I had no idea that Q said “you know” so much. Listening to him it doesn’t sound that way, but reading it is another whole deal. Is he from the San Fernando Valley?

Thoughts?

