Skip to content

Game 46 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Los Angeles Clippers (16-30)

January 29, 2015

joey tweet

Pre-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on his expectations of Dante Exum in the next few games
I don’t think his game needs to change based on who he’s playing. You know, I mean, I think some of the things that he, the ways he needs to approach different match-ups, of course, ’cause they’re different players, but I want the same thing from him. I want him to push the ball up the court, offensively. I want him to defend the ball, you know, and I want him to take open shots, so. It’s pretty simple, and, but you know, we gotta do it. He’s gotta get back on defense, and that’s what we need from that position, whether it’s Trey [Burke, or Dante].
** Snyder, in response to “Something about Seattle guys, huh?” (referring to Jamal Crawford)
Yeah, right? Yeah, I don’t have a “206” tattoo.

quinFrom the 1992-1993 Los Angeles Clippers media guide

** Trey Burke on new Jazz signee Chris Johnson
We played against each other in high school. I was a freshman, he was a senior. So I pr–I know him pretty well already, so it’s good to, you know, have a guy on the team, you know, that you know…He’s a slasher, you know, a wing man that can shoot the ball. You know, he stretches the floor. His versatility and his length on the defensive end will help us out a lot, you know, as well as his ability to shoot the ball and kinda stretch the floor. So you know, I’m looking forward to playing with him.
** Burke, asked if he feels like he has a green light to score with the second unit
Well, coach just tells me to be aggressive, man. He tells me to come in and bring a spark on the defensive end, and then on offense, he tells me, you know, if I pass up a shot, he tells me to shoot that shot. So, I don’t know if it’s more of a green light, but I know he wants me to be, you know, just as aggressive. And when I’m out there with the starters, you know, I just play my regular game. You know, look for others and then when the shot’s there, take it. So, it’s different for me, obviously, ’cause you know, I never came off the bench, but you know, it’s something that you know, it’s getting easier because, you know, that second group, you know, I can be the leader out there, and you know, kinda run the team.
** Burke, asked whether the move to the bench was hard to accept at first
I mean, it’s for the team. So, if it’s for the team, I’m all in. You know, [Snyder] said he thinks that the second group needed another, a guy out there that could, you know, be as aggressive and score the ball, so it’s something that I, you know, accept because it’s for the team. You know, anything for us to win.

Dante Exum’s Rookie-Sophomore Game jersey (via @daanteee)

** Chris Johnson on how he got the news of the call-up
I was in Iowa, you know, the night before our game, and you know, my agent called me, and he just said that, you know, just, congratulations, you’re gonna get called up to the Utah Jazz. So, I’m just fortunate to be here, you know, just gonna take full advantage of the opportunity.
** Johnson on what he brings to the Jazz
Just defensive mindset. You know, just doing little things to help, you know, just to spark the crowd. You know, help the team win. You know, defensive rebounding. You know, knocking down shots. And just doing whatever the coach ask of me.

jerry 128

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the game
They were pretty physical. We’ve gotta learn to play through physicality at the end of the game. You know, the game just gets more physical. You know, we have to be prepared for that. And you know, I just thought on the whole, we really f–we really competed, and, to play defense the way we did against the, you know, the best offense in the league. I’m pleased with our team.
** Snyder on the team keeping its composure in the face of the Clippers’ extreme bitchiness, and the team’s phone fines
I mean, it’s something we’ve talked a lot about. You know, and — [someone’s phone rings] — you know, what was — that’s a $500 fine on our team. Of which I have to pay one too. It’s happened to me — the, I like where we’re going with that. I think it’s important to have composure, and to find a balance between composure and emotion, you know, where you’re not just laying down on things. You’re playing tough. You’re playing physical. You’re competing, but you’re not, you know, it’s not going overboard, where your, you know, your team’s getting penalized for you losing your temper.
** Snyder, asked why Rudy Gobert only played 10 minutes tonight
Yeah, he didn’t play as well…We have an idea of how much we wanna play guys, but you know, I’d be crazy if I wasn’t flexible on that. And you know, I thought Enes [Kanter] had a really good game early. His activity was good. That was basically, you know — and Rudy’s played great too. That’s not to diminish anything Rudy did, but you know, Rudy played, I think, more minutes than all bigs the last game, I think. So, I think for those guys right now, it’s gonna vary based on sometimes the flow of the game, match-ups and you know, all kinds of things.

quin-spitting

Artwork by @its_computers

** Derrick Favors on the game
You know, the Clippers, they tried to, you know, be a little physical with us, start trying to foul us hard, and trying to do all this other crazy stuff. So you know, we picked it up a little bit, and you know, came, played hard. And you know, it was a good game.
** Favors on what he takes from this game
You know, just how to start the game out. You know, just gotta be physical from the get-go. Don’t wait ’til a team get physical with us for us to get physical with them.
** Enes Kanter on the game and “edge”
If you want to be anything in this league, you have to play with an edge. So, I think that’s what we did tonight. We passed the ball. We shared the ball, and I think on the offensive and defensive end, I mean, Clippers is the most scoring team in the NBA. So I mean, I think we did a really good job on defensively. But in the end, they just made some shots, so I think we could’ve did better, but we just have to forget about it.

Random Stuff, etc.
** Turkish Delight in Salt Lake City (via @utahjazz):

** People calling Gordon Hayward “Haywood”: Clippers announcers (H/T @5kl) and Thurl Bailey (H/T @OurLucille_2)
** People calling Trevor Booker “Millsap”: Clippers announcers (H/T @5kl)
** People calling Derrick Favors “Kanter”: Craig Bolerjack (H/T @dianaallen and @jediandjerms)

** The NBA’s foremost expert on general flopping and head flops, Chris Paul, demonstrates his mad skillz:

Chris Paul's head flop how-to demonstration

A post shared by @monilogue on

** Memo and Bear selfie (via @mehmetokur13) and Memo and Bear taking the selfie (inset; via @tribjazz):

memo and bear

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Trey Burke on Chris Johnson: I’m just gonna continue to stay in his ear, you know, kinda teach him the plays and try to fill him in as quick as possible.
** Craig Bolerjack: Tip saved. Hayward gives it up, and Favors puts it in.
** Matt Harpring on Jake “The Snake” Roberts being in the arena: Bring out the Python!
** Harpring when Boler puts Baron von Raschke’s “claw” on him: You came at me like a Jedi mind trick.
** Harpring to Boler, a few minutes later: I’ll bring out the Python! (H/T @UGottaLovItBaby)

mating rituals s


Red denotes most recent game.

game 46

Thanks to @davidjsmith1232 for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2015 10:16 pm

    i knew it was over when i saw Johnnie Bryant after half..

    (thx for posting my pic!! and for making a gif lol)

    • Matt permalink
      January 29, 2015 11:42 pm

      When is UTA going to bench J Bryant? For the love of G*d, don’t bring him in front of the TV when we’re playing the whining Floppers!

      • January 30, 2015 6:57 am

        Given how this game went with the Clippers’ non-stop bitching and whining and the refs trying to please them, I’d say this loss of all losses can’t be blamed on him :)

  2. RHJazz permalink
    January 29, 2015 11:40 pm

    I believe that the win-loss record picture is slightly wrong. In this particular game (https://jazzfanatical.wordpress.com/2015/01/25/game-44-of-82-utah-jazz-vs-brooklyn-nets-16-28/), Brad Jones recorded his 2nd win and Greg Miller his 7th. Enjoy reading your post. That is all.

    • January 30, 2015 6:58 am

      Thank you RH! So grateful you caught this relatively early on and I only had two to change!

  3. james permalink
    January 30, 2015 1:03 am

    I just think it’s ridiculous that a flopper like chris paul is making fun of other floppers

Thoughts?

