Skip to content

Game 44 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Brooklyn Nets (16-28)

January 25, 2015

And the winner of the Smug Graphic of the Night Award goes to…

smug cg

Halftime Quotage
** Brad Jones on the first half
The ball’s really moved, and we’ve played a pure offensive game, where we’ve made the right plays, and that’s why–the shots usually go in when, instead of “my shots,” it’s “our shots.”

sad-deronDeron Williams was a sad flight attendant on the Nets bench.

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on Joe Ingles’ shooting
Honestly, and I’ve told him this…He needs to not consider whether he should shoot. Like, he’s kind of, you know, pensively waiting to just catch it and shoot it. And Dante [Exum] too. It must be like a, something from down under that they, but both of them, when they catch and shoot and they don’t hesitate, I think Joe’s a better shooter…If he doesn’t shoot those, Dan–we usually, he usually ends up with the ball again, a lot of times at the end of a clock, with a virtually impossible shot. So it’s better when we take those when they’re open, and he made ’em tonight.
** Snyder on Trey Burke’s performance off the bench
He was one of the guys that is finding a good balance between scoring and play-making. And the other thing that I thought he did, you know, is he guarded. And the, when your point guard is at the point of attack, is tough-minded defensively and is willing to talk, I think that anchors your whole defense. So, I did like his aggressiveness off the bench. I like his aggressiveness all the time. But in, when he’s out there with that group, there’s usually more of a need for buckets.
** Snyder on Dante Exum’s passing game as a starter
I think it’s kind of counter-intuitive, but the more he attacks with the ball, the better a passer he is. You know, he’s not kinda telegraphing his passes. He’s not trying to fit passes. He’s just playing instinctively, and he’s got really good court vision. He’s a good decision-maker, but it’s a little bit like I said with Joe. I want him to make the read before he gets the ball, and when he does that, you know, he’s capable of making plays.

favor'sUtah Jazz spelling/grammar fail (via @timbontemps, H/T @seanp33)

** Trey Burke on scoring 15 points in the second quarter
Yeah, you know, coach just told me to be aggressive. He told me, you know, I had a couple shots that I passed up, you know, but I’m still, you know, determining when to shoot, when to pass, and I think that’s one of the, you know, tough areas for a point guard in this league.
** Burke, asked if he feels comfortable coming off the bench
Yeah, I mean, it’s new to me so I don’t know if I was comfortable with it, but I know I had to be ready to play. You know, it’s a different view fr–of the game because, you know, you’re not in the game right away. And you know, but you definitely get to see how the game’s going and things like that, and you know, how you can affect it when you go in.
** Burke, asked if he has more freedom offensively in the second unit
Well yeah, you know, coach tells me to be more aggressive in the second unit, but you know, as a basketball player, it’s kinda like you gon, you’re gon take what they give you, you know? I’ve been on myself, you know, about, you know, taking tough shots, you know, or shots that may not be, you know, a great shot or something, you know, a shot that we could get something better. So I’m just trying to, you know, try to continue to get in the paint, you know, find my teammates and make plays.

** Gordon Hayward, looking ahead as the All-Star break approaches
Yeah, well, I think, you know, we just take it one game at a time, especially with how, you know, young we are. We might, you know, come out and come out flat or whatever, or do some of the stuff we’ve done in the past. So hopefully we don’t do that [and] we learn from this and we can grow from it, and we look forward to the next game.
** Joe Ingles on scoring a career high
I didn’t even really notice, to be honest. But yeah, I’m just glad we won.
** Rudy Gobert on his presence in the paint
I just feel like lately, [opposing players] don’t go in the paint that much, you know, when I’m here. They just shoot more jump shots. So it’s pissing me off, because I want some blocks, but (laughs) it’s great for the team.

B8KEpzzCQAIkLkC
Happier times, pre-game. Photo via @utahjazz. (I don’t know why all the pics are of Deron today. It just worked out that way.)

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Steve Brown during Wally Price tribute: Hi, everybody. I’m Steve Brown, and I’m standing at the players’ and coaches’ entrance in the rear entry.
** Craig Bolerjack: Ingles had it in, and then it came out. (H/T @bjcseven)
** Steve Brown to Rudy Gobert, post-game: It was one of those things too, the outside game was going, you might not have gotten as much action inside as your normally do.

Why no in-game UDQMs? I had to mute most of it due to the presence of the children of the worst and most inconsiderate parents in Utah again sitting behind the scorer’s table and screaming their heads off for the entire damn game. A pox on the lot of you.

kids of worst parents


Red denotes most recent game.

game 44

Thanks to @davidjsmith1232 for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Weswulf permalink
    January 26, 2015 2:24 am

    Those kids need to be banned from sitting anywhere near a microphone.

  2. January 26, 2015 6:43 am

    Those kids were driving me effing insane. Unbelievable the Jazz have allowed it to go on all season. Sadly they couldn’t give a crap about fans watching at home that didn’t pay for tickets, because only the opinions of $$$ paying fans matter to them.

  3. cabbagepatchkinesiology permalink
    January 26, 2015 9:31 am

    Where do I sign the petition to relocate the shrill noised kidz of ESA back to their natural habitat? (nose bleed seats)

  4. OhioHadley permalink
    January 26, 2015 10:13 am

    This will be unpopular, but I do not mind the screaming kids. It takes me back to my youth and the excitement of sporting events. Knowing in my heart I could jinx a player, cause a missed FT or will my team to victory. Oh the innocence!
    Who listens to Boler and whomever anyway? I’d rather watch the game and scream at my TV!

  5. Kashif permalink
    January 27, 2015 3:29 am

    Ugh, I hate those kids so much. Whenever they are at a game they make watching the game so hard to do. Like you said, you basically have to mute it because it’s so bad.

Thoughts?

