Skip to content

Game 41 of 82: Utah Jazz at San Antonio Spurs (14-27)

January 19, 2015

sad-bench

P.S. I love Pop.

pop quote

Pre-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on goals and expectations for Trey Burke
I want Trey to play better defense. You know, I think he’s been running our team, and he’s started to do some things offensively that, he’s finding a little bit of a groove, and I want him to be able to pass the ball with his left hand, you know, in pick and roll, and, the way Steph Curry can.
** Snyder on goals and expectations for Enes Kanter
The one thing that kind of sets Enes apart, you know, and it’s something that I don’t think he was able to at the beginning of the season, is he can guard smaller guys on the perimeter. You know, he went through a stretch where he was guarding Kevin Love and you know, they, he was guarding Blake Griffin. And some of those matchups, they’re tough matchups…and I think he’s really been focused on that and he’s got pretty good speed. You know, we just gotta make sure he starts in a stance all the time and is alert. So, he’s another one that, you know, you just gotta keep working at it.
** Snyder on goals and expectations for Dante Exum
I’d like to see him just kinda let it loose more. You know, just, you know, attack and be aggressive. And he’s such a conscientous kid, that he’s often trying to make the right play or make a play for a teammate. And I just like, I like when he’s really aggressive offensively, and I can live with some of those mistakes ’cause I think with his ability over time, that those’ll, you know, he’ll get more and more efficient. But the other thing that he can do today, you know, that is really important, is he can defend the ball. And with his length, you know, he should be, you know, he should be able to really bother people. And he’s unique in that sense, even within the West. There’s, he’s one of the bigger guards. And if he can, you know, embrace that right now, I think that’s the part of the game where he can be effective and make an impact.
** Snyder, asked what he knows now that he didn’t know at the beginning of the season
One thing just pragmatically and that’s purely basketball is, we found out right now that some of our habits make it harder for us maybe to play as fast as I originally thought we might. You know, I thought, you know, I think Alec being out is a big part of that…and Rodney being out, some of those ball-handlers, there’s not as many of ’em. I think we’re more physical inside than I thought we would be…Those are two things that kinda jump out. And personally, I felt like I needed to be resilient on the way in, and I think that’s probably been, I realize not only is that important, but it’s even more important when we go through some hard times, for them, to make sure they see me believing and confident and maintain a vision for them.

piece rudyEveryone wants a piece of Rudy Gobert.

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the game
We ran into a team that was really physical with us. We weren’t, I don’t think we were prepared. You can talk about it as much as you want, but they made the game, they made it really hard for us offensively. And we weren’t determined enough. We didn’t play with enough force on that end…We just were really out of sync, and everywhere we turned, there was really no, there was no rhythm that we were able, could get into offensively.
** Snyder on playing the Spurs
They’re champions. You know, this is a team that, they’re champions. And as far as, you know, if we can be in that classroom, it’s a good thing for us. And tonight, we were in a classroom.

putin haywardThat hair. (H/T @dianaallen)

Random Stuff, etc.
** Remember the Earl Watson behind the back to Andrei Kirilenko behind the back to Ronnie Price for the bucket play?

Well, League Pass showed a montage of highlights from the 90s during a commercial break and Jeff Hornacek, John Stockton and Karl Malone did it first.


Red denotes most recent game.

game 41

No comments yet

Thoughts?

