Skip to content

Game 37 of 82: Utah Jazz at Oklahoma City Thunder (13-24)

January 10, 2015

If there’s such a thing as a good loss, this was it. The Jazz are looking good. Real good. As good as they’ve looked in five years.

Now, let’s turn our attention to Trevor Booker’s shot:

Just another video of Trevor Booker's unbelievable shot #trevorbooker #utahjazz

A post shared by @monilogue on

 

Pre-Game Quotage
** Trevor Booker on the team’s confidence coming off a big win
It feels great. You know, to get a big win like that in Chicago against a good team, it just boosts our confidence up, and we’re looking ahead to OKC with our confidence high.
** Joe Ingles on what Quin Snyder has done for his game
Really, [he has] given me a lot of confidence, really…Just the confidence to get out there and play. And I mean, you never know. I played in Europe for six years and you never know if you really are good enough to make it over here or what the reasons are that you’re not playing there. And then to get the opportunity now to play some minutes and I guess prove to myself and a lot of other people that I can compete in this league and hold my own pretty well.
** Ingles on his relationship with Dante Exum
It’s great. I’ve known Dante the last two or three years. His first couple years with the [Australian] national team with, the coach actually asked me to room with him just because he was young, and I was a bit older and had been around a little bit. So, we’ve actually been roommates the last two or three years, and yeah, we have a great relationship. I mean, I know what he’s gonna do out there most of the time and vice versa, so yeah, he’s a great kid and yeah, I think he’s really, like Rudy [Gobert], has gotten a lot better as the year’s gone on.
** Ingles on his beer of choice: Foster’s or Victoria Bitter or….?
I don’t like any of them, actually…I’m more of an imported guy. I like all of the stuff that you guys have and that Europe has. So, if there was one that I have to give you, it would be called Hahn Superdry…Hahn Superdry is a great drop of beer.

sad gh

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder, post-game
The result is disappointing, but you know, two of the best players in the world, you know, picked their game up…I’m just proud of our team. You know, I thought we didn’t make anything easy for ’em. They made some plays, and I thought we, you know, I thought it was a really good effort. … I don’t want to get fixated on the, you know, the score at the end of the game, ’cause I think it belittles some of the work and the progress that we made. And again, I’m obviously not content with that. You want to win.

quin book

** Gordon Hayward, post-game
You know, for the most part, I thought we controlled the entire game there, until late, and you know, they happen to have some really good closers on their team. You know, and they did what they did, and you know, I think just made a couple more plays down the stretch that allowed them to get the win. But you know, we played extremely well, for the most part, I thought. You know, like I said, just a couple plays here or there, we would’ve come out on top.
** Trevor Booker on his shot
I didn’t know the play, so first I just went to the rim for the lob. It wasn’t there, so I just tried to give G[ordon Hayward] an outlet. I knew I couldn’t catch the ball, so he bounced it, and I know you won’t believe me, but I really do practice those shots. Yeah, it’s kinda funny, because my cousin Jordan Hill, he texted me after the game. He’s like, “They probably won’t believe it, but we practiced those shots all the time growing up.” I guess you could say the hard work finally paid off.

jgn tweets

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Joe Ingles “Joe [Spanish word for ‘English’]”: OKC announcers (H/T @Mark_R_Pereira)
** If you haven’t seen the Jerry Sloan anti-aging cream sketch, you must.

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Trevor Booker on Rudy Gobert’s impact on Derrick Favors’ game: I’m sure it’s huge, you know?
** Craig Bolerjack: Oh, Rudy. The Gobert factor felt early on a tip-in.
** Boler: Gobert protects the backside! (H/T @dforsyth47)
** Ron Boone on Thunder defense on Trey Burke: They’ve done a great job of stretching Trey out.
** Thurl Bailey on Gobert: He knows he has the tools, and he uses them well.
** Boone on Gordon Hayward foul and Kevin Durant and-1: You know, sometimes you’re just afraid to push too hard, and I think that’s what Gordon was right then…Right here, great opportunity to grab that–he did. He grabbed the right hand and just put it in with the left.
** Boler: Good to see Hayward firing it from downtown.
** Utah Jazz Twitter (H/T @Mark_R_Pereira via @SurlyMae):

jazz tweet


Red denotes most recent game.

game 37

Thanks to @OhioHadley for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Berdj Rassam permalink
    January 11, 2015 1:44 pm

    To remember the days of Stockton to Malone, and compare it against what the Jazz play like now, is just not fun for any Jazz fan.

Thoughts?

