Skip to content

Game 23 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Miami Heat (6-17)

December 13, 2014

The funny:

novak-no-foul

The facepalm:

ingles-inbound

The fanciful:

another sellout

Utah Jazz fans: Best in the league at masquerading as empty seats!

masquerade

Pre-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on Rudy Gobert’s development
Alex Jensen’s done a phenomenal job. Like, that’s the right word to–I mean, his free throws, you know, just being able to, you know, to string plays together. And I, you know, and [Jazz strength and conditioning coaches] Isaiah [Wright] and Mark [McKown] have also been terrific if you look at his balance, and you know, how he’s able to move laterally. He’s able to put himself in position to block more shots. You don’t see that until he gets out on the court and he’s able to make more plays. You know, I think just his ability to finish has really improved.
** Snyder, asked what is the next step in Gobert’s development
I think it’s continuing, you know, he’s an intelligent guy, and continuing to have that intelligence transfer to the court. Understanding, you know, what to do, when to do it, timing, you know, precision, and not just get by on his length and ability. You know, for him to, you know, he’s gonna have to pay attention to detail to continue to develop. That’s what, you know, otherwise you’re a guy that’s long and comes in and you know, can change the game a little bit, but as far as consistent presence, you know, you can’t be that without, you know, the discipline and the focus. He’s competitive…He can do it.

wall punch

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the final inbounds play
We didn’t have any awareness of the clock. And it’s the same thing. You know, we had plays called, and there wasn’t an, there’s gotta be more force and urgency to get into those plays. You know, they try to deny you, and you’ve gotta work.
** Snyder, asked what it is he likes about Joe Ingles inbounding the ball
One, he’s got, you know, he’s 6-8. You know, when, anytime you have height like that in that situation, it’s an advantage. And you know, he’s rewarded that confidence that we have in him, you know, and just that, to, you know, we didn’t execute the play with enough force. They knocked us off, and you have to do what you need to do to get space and get free. You can’t just fucking,* it’s not like 5-on-0 where you’re just gonna go where you wanna go. And unfortunately, that was the case. He’s been, you know, that was all of us, you know? Everybody’s got a role in that execution late-game.
* I may be wrong, but that’s what I heard.
** Snyder on Enes Kanter
I’ve been really pleased with, you know, I’ve coached Enes hard. You know, and I think he’s needed [it], so, and sometimes that can knock you back a little bit, and challenging him, and I’m pleased the toughness, the mental toughness he’s shown. You know, to, the resolve to do the things that he’s been challenged to do. And the offense comes, you know, he’s played, he’s pla–tried to be really unselfish too, which I think is commendable. But defensively is where I see his focus. You know, he keeps his focus defensively, the offense comes easier.

** Gordon Hayward on the final inbounds play
We’ve executed our plays before to win basketball games. You know, that one just didn’t work out. I think they did a good job taking away what we wanted, and for whatever reason, we couldn’t get the ball in. But you know, we work on ’em every day in practice, so. Just didn’t work for us tonight.
** Trey Burke on the final inbounds play
Well, we, you know, we had a couple options. You know, I think they did a great job of denying us, and you know, I think Joe [Ingles] felt like he had a extra second left. And you know, obviously it was five seconds, but you know, it was definitely good defense on their part. You know, I felt like we could’ve kinda cut a little harder to get it, you know, get the ball in and get a shot off, at least.
** Burke on the game
Obviously, losing [Derrick] Favors, it was tough, you know, on both ends of the court ’cause he’s kinda like our defensive anchor down there. But Turk [Enes Kanter], and you know, Rudy, they stepped up big for us. Just couldn’t pull it off.

** Enes Kanter, post-game
I don’t really like to, you know, talk about myself. I’m, I like to talk about my team. You know, I think that this team is just getting better. I know we’re losing some tough games, and I know we losing some games that we sh–we supposed to win. But I think that this a long process. This team is, you know, I think we have really something special, and this team, like I said every time, this team has enough talent to beat every team on every court. But we just have to, like I said, just play with more pace and just get a better start.
** Kanter on Quin Snyder
He’s a really good coach, ’cause he understand players. I mean, he has that communication. He has that relationship with the team, that you wanna play for, just go out there for, play for. So, he’s, I mean, he’s teaching us really something really unique, and we just have to, just give him back that answer, and for play [with] more energy.

** Rudy Gobert, asked what changed defensively in the second half
You know, I think, like, maybe my teammates feel better about being aggressive when I’m behind them, and just make everything harder for the other team. Like, in first half, we, I mean, we let them do whatever they want. Just go lay up in the paint, and after they get confident, you know, once you’re confident, they are good basketball players, so when they confident, they just play like pickup game. Just shoot, they feel good, you know, they get to the free throw line. I think we need to put more toughness and make sure they don’t get comfortable at the beginning of the game.
** Gobert, asked if he thinks about keeping the ball inbound on blocks
To be honest, I just try to [block shots]. I need to learn this, try to catch the ball in the air. I might do it later, but I’m just trying to block it. In the moment, it’s hard to think, you know, about catching the ball. But I think about it sometime, but it’s, on the game, I don’t think about it.
** Gobert on new/old teammate Patrick Christopher
I was young when he came [to] play in France. I was 18. And it’s good to see him…I don’t know how old is he…27?…Yeah, he’s pretty old.

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Alec Burks “Alec Burke”: Craig Bolerjack
** Here are Cholet Basket teammates Rudy Gobert and Patrick Christopher in 2011, playing hoops with and signing autographs for kids. Rudy’s pants are falling down for most of the video, but it’s SFW:

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Gordon Hayward on Rudy Gobert, shootaround: His hands have gotten a lot better.
** Media member to Gordon Hayward on Gobert: Did it take you a little while to figure out, maybe, where he wanted it?
** Quin Snyder on Gobert, shootaround: I think for him, you know, tasting some of it, you know, continues to hopefully feed his, you know, his desire.
** Matt Harpring to Craig Bolerjack on EST tipoff: You gonna be up by then?
Boler: Oh, I’ll be up. Yeah. (H/T @its_computers)
** Boler: Alec [Burks] slows down, waits for [Gordon] Hayward.
** Harpring on LeBron James: I’m just not a fan of guys not getting up for other stars coming in your building to play.
** Quin Snyder, post-game: Luol Deng played on top of Gordon, and he went backdoor.
** Steve Brown to Enes Kanter, post-game: Just another one of those games where you have to come from behind again, and I know you’ve done it before, but tonight, just too much.
** Steve Brown to Enes Kanter, post-game, Part 2: The other night, you came from behind and you were able to do it. Does that maybe give you a little bit of false security that you can do that?


Red denotes most recent game.

The curse of the green tie was not to be denied.

game 23

No comments yet

Thoughts?

