Skip to content

Game 21 of 82: Utah Jazz at Sacramento Kings (5-16)

December 9, 2014

So, how about those good ol’ days when EnergySolutions Arena and Sleep Train Arena were, respectively, the Delta Center and Arco Arena?

Good times. And as you can see in the video above, Arco Arena had the second best crowd in the league.

Pre-Game Quotage
** Rudy Gobert on what’s surprised him about the NBA
When I got [to the NBA] last year, yeah, that was way more physical for me. So, that’s why I worked in the weight room all year…At the end of the season, I was feeling way better. I was practicing better, but I still wasn’t really in the rotation, so I couldn’t really show it in the game.
** Gobert on his goals
I want to be starter. I mean, not, may–if I’m not this year, then three years, yeah. I want to start…I want to get, like, 10 dunks, try to get 10 dunks a game. And I don’t know what my role will be on offense. I know I’m not gonna shoot a lot of shots. I’ve just got to finish and…do the right play at the right time.
** Gobert, asked whether Quin Snyder has talked to him about his role
Of course, of course. And he really believes in me, and that’s what I like, you know? He really p–give me confidence, and he knows what I can do good, what I can do not very good. So, he knows I can pass. I showed before summer league…I can really pass. So now he try to give me more the ball.

kanter kiss

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the game
I think the result was different, for me at least, in that I felt like we, I think our approach to the game on the defensive end was better than it’s been. Obviously, still, you know, you can always do better, but I felt like we competed, particularly, you know, the first and the third quarter. And then some things got away from us in the second and particularly the fourth, where they made some plays and they made some shots, and we weren’t able to make the same plays offensively that they were making.
** Snyder on Derrick Favors picking up his fourth foul at the beginning of the second half
That’s a tough situation for our team to be in. I think everybody’s, I mean, I’ve been told numerous times about our record without Fav, and you know, although at the same time, I thought Rudy [Gobert] really responded and gave us some good minutes. It’s just, you know, I thought we weren’t–[Favors] anchors us a little bit offensively too, and we didn’t have that as well.

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Ramon Sessions “Raymond Sessions”: Matt Harpring
** People calling Nik Stauskas “Stock-us,” “Stau-kas” and everything in between: Craig Bolerjack
** Sadly, the Tyrone Corbin reunion/revenge game was not to be, as Corbin tore his Achilles’ tendon playing pickup with the other Kings assistant coaches.

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Matt Harpring on Rudy Gay, pre-game: You gotta get to him, put a body on him, and make it haaard… (H/T @5kl)
** Harpring on Rudy Gobert: Hollins wanted to go up right away, but noticed the length was there and then was forced to make another move.
Craig Bolerjack: You know, and Ryan Hollins is a big guy, but Gobert, look at him! (H/T @5kl)
** Boler: Gay backs in on Hayward. Stops, pops.
** Harpring on Favors picking up his fourth foul: Favors, I’m gonna have to get on him.
Boler: Favs is going to have to ride the pine.
** Harpring on Enes Kanter throwing his mouthpiece: I can’t get behind that. Even though I’ve done that.
** Kings commentator on Gobert: He’s kinda like the cartoon guy, the Rubber Man. Just extends up, and keeps going.
** Boler on Nik Stauskas: Mike Malone is riding the young man as far as he can.
** Boler, trying to sell tickets: Holiday package. (H/T @5kl)


Red denotes most recent game.

game 21

Thanks to @JazzGameNight and @candybarr15 for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

