Skip to content

Game 19 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Toronto Raptors (5-14)

December 4, 2014

quin-casey

Pre-Game Quotage
** Derrick Favors on staying positive after losses
We learned from last year. You know, we lost a couple games last year, we start, you know, being negative towards things. And you know, and a lot of stuff just happened. So I mean, we learned a lot from that last year. So this year, you know, we losing a couple games, a couple close games, so we just try to stay focused, stay positive, stay together, and you know, try to get a win for the next game.
** Trey Burke on staying positive after losses
Just gotta stay focused. You know, obviously we feel like we could’ve won some of them games that we lost, you know, in the past, but you know, we have to get better every day, continue to grow. Coach [Quin] Snyder, he’s staying on top of us, you know, to hold each other accountable on both ends of the court. So I think the level of focus that we come out with tonight will be important.

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the game
We were there, but we weren’t there. You know, I don’t think they, you know, on a shooter, but not aggressive enough. You know, many of these guys are, you know, they don’t feel you if you’re in the area. I mean, you’ve gotta impact the ball. … I think we need to compete harder, really, in the, on the defensive end.
** Snyder, asked if there’s one thing defensively that troubles him more than others
I think it would be naive of me to say, “Hey, it’s this. If we fix this, we’re gonna all of a sudden be where we wanna be.” I think it’s, you know, it’s hard, you know, when you feel like you can’t stop a team. It’s, you know, it hurts. But it’s, you know, you keep going. And there’s a lot of things, you know? We’ll do the same thing. We’ll go back and look at the tape, figure out where we can be better, work on it, and hopefully come out and impact shooters more than we did tonight. Be more v–you know, more aggressive in our contests. I thought that was a big thing tonight, if we’re talking about one thing in this game. It felt like that, to me, that we weren’t as, you know, we, you go into the game with them and you, think they’re, I think they’re second in the league in free throw attempts. And we, you know, we showed, we had seven different clips of guys shot-faking us, falling on ’em last game. So then you’re a little bit afraid to foul, and all of a sudden, you know, you’re there but you’re not really there. So, there’s a balance there, and you know, we gotta do a better job of finding it.
** Snyder on keeping players positive after losses
I’ve said from the beginning, you know, the, we can’t fixate on our record. Certainly, it’s, you’d like for it to be different, but it’s, you know, it’s reflective of where we are right now. I don’t, there’s no magic pill, that all of a sudden, boom. You know, we’re a young team…and I don’t want them to get down. You know, I want them to wanna get better, but I w–I don’t want them to be despondent about the record. I want them to feel despondent about how we play, and want to play better. But I don’t know that our record reflects our commitment.

** Gordon Hayward, asked if the losing streak shows what guys are made of
Yeah, we’ll see who’s got some fight in ’em for sure. And I think for the most part, all of our team, the guys aren’t gonna quit on anything, so. It’s just one of those things where it’s frustrating, you know, so.
** Hayward on the difficulties of a young starting group
I mean, it’s just a little bit of a lack of experience. But I mean, that’s, to me, there’s enough of us out there who’ve played in big time moments that it doesn’t, shouldn’t matter.
** Derrick Favors, asked what is the biggest issue on defense
You know, I think, you know, we communicating well out there. You know, we following the game plan, but you know, I don’t know. I think it probably just mental breakdowns sometimes. You know, coming out, you know, play good defense, and a guy hit a shot. You know, I think guys just get down from that. So I think it just mental focus. It just mental, I think.
** Rodney Hood on the Raptors’ 3-point shooting
Yeah, I mean, sometimes it’s deflating. You know, you playing hard. You know, you getting stops. You get a little bit of juice, and they hit, you know, tough shots. But you know, we just gotta control what we can control, and hopefully it works out for us.

sad bench

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Media member to Trey Burke at shootaround: Good to have the big guy, one more big guy behind you when you play?
** Craig Bolerjack: Quickest release is former Jazzman Kyle Korver.
Ron Boone: Yeah, that’s as quick as I’ve ever seen. I mean, he just, he’s just flat out ready to shoot.
Boler: [Jeff] Hornacek had a pretty good release himself.
Boone: And very accurate too.
** Booner on Kyle Lowry: Look at that backside. I mean, he puts that on you and he knocks you off balance.
** Boler: Booner, the MO of this Jazz team’s unreal. Dig yourself a hole, and then mount a comeback.
** Boler: Trey Burke goes inside with the left hand. Kanter misfires.
** Boler on Lowry shot: I saw the official put up the two fingers.
Booner: So now he has a career high.
** Steve Brown, asking Rodney Hood about game speed: Do you feel that’s coming slowly?
Hood: Yeah, I mean, it’s coming slowly.
** Steve Brown to Trey Burke on the losing streak: Is it tough to put it out of your mind when you go out to play, or is it now in the back of your mind and it gets bigger?


Red denotes most recent game.

game 19

No comments yet

Thoughts?

