Skip to content

Game 15 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Chicago Bulls (5-10)

November 25, 2014

end-1124

Well, the fourth quarter was good and that undercurrent of Delta Center viciousness running through the ESA crowd was pretty damn awesome.

Pre-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder, asked about Enes Kanter’s defense
I mean, I think our whole team needs to better defensively. I’m not gonna single anybody out and say they’ve been great, ’cause I don’t think that’s been the case. So, but we really, collectively, we need to help each other and we all need to be better.
** Snyder, asked whether he thinks about resting players with the long-term picture in mind
Yeah, no question. You know, we’ve been, with Rodney Hood out, we’ve had a little less depth, but it’s something that I’m aware of. And you know, particularly for us too, the opportunity to, you know, we gotta let our young guys make some mistakes and develop. And sometimes it’s hard. You want certain guys, you know, if they could play 48 minutes, sometimes you’d be happy with that, but it takes a toll.
** Snyder on what makes the Bulls defense special
They really help each other, you know, with their initial position. They make you play on the other side of the floor, and they make it hard to do that. I mean, your ball has to move side to side, or they’re locked in. They’re just committed to it. You know, I think that, you know, I haven’t, obviously I haven’t played for [Tom Thibodeau] or worked for him, but you know, the commitment to their habits are so good, and clearly that, you know, that starts with him and his commitment to teaching, really.

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the last shot
I felt like we got what we wanted. Just didn’t make that one, you know?
** Snyder on the Jazz’s slow starts
I guess I’d rather look at it right now on wh–how well we played, you know, in the second half. That’s not to say that we–you know, we need to start better. You know, it’s just, there’s a, we made mis–we, it’s mistakes, you know? And I don’t know if it’s, I don’t think we’re nervous as much as just kinda we’re waiting to see what the game’s gonna, how it’s gonna turn out, instead of trying to impose our will. And it makes you a little tentative, actually.

** Gordon Hayward on the last shot
Great look. Shot I’m capable of hitting. You know, it just, dug ourselves a hole, so. It’s tough.
** Derrick Favors, asked if Quin Snyder was upset or pleased after the game
He was upset. I mean, he was pleased that we battled back, but you know, at the same time, you know, he was kinda pissed about how we started off the game…Next game we play, we gotta be ready.
What is the key to being ready and avoiding a slow start?
I don’t know. Probably just focus. Energy level. Just, a number of things. Just gotta be ready.
** Trey Burke on what needs to change in the first quarter
I just think it’s, it’s just focus, a level of focus, you know, that we don’t have yet. You know, I feel like we have it, but I just don’t think we go out there and we’re really, you know, I don’t really know what, what’s the word is, but it’s a repetitive thing. It’s a repetitive thing that’s been happening, you know, for us, you know, playing behind and coming back. And it’s not good, you know? We have to change it. … You can say we need to do this or do that, but it’s really just a level of concentration more than anything.
** Joe Ingles, asked about his “skirmish” with Jimmy Butler
Nothing happened, really. I went to chase over a screen. Whoever was screening me bumped me as I went over, and we hit, and that was it.

occupied

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Matt Harpring “Mark”: Craig Bolerjack
** Rudy Gobert shares some thoughts:

rudy tweet

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Dante Exum on rookie hazing and having to sing “Happy Birthday” to himself: I was kind of awkward. But I didn’t want to not do it, and then they made me do it by myself after, ’cause I had Rodney and Niels Giffey’s doing it with me. So, I just wanted to get it over and done with. But it, yeah, it was awkward.
** Matt Harpring on Derrick Rose: I’m not a fan of a player jumping in, to a player…He kind of goes into Trey.
** Craig Bolerjack on Rose 3-pointer: You leave him wide open, you know what happens? Down she goes.
** Harpring on Enes Kanter long two: Just another inch. Only if he had a size 12.
** Boler on Camp Kostopulos: Brownie, I love it up that way.
** Steve Brown to Trey Burke, post-game: You guys came from such a hole to get back into it.


RIP Antonio Lang’s perfect record.

game 15

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2014 10:54 pm

    I saw Lang with the halftime interview and thought, “Oh, no. There goes his perfect record.”

    Almost got it though.

    • November 26, 2014 8:03 am

      Pretty sure there would not have been a comeback at all had it not been Lang that did the halftime interview.

      • November 26, 2014 8:58 pm

        I seem to remember during one of the halftime interviews they mentioned that the assistant being interviewed is the one who scouted that particular team. Was that a coincidence or the usual? If it’s the latter you might be on to something…

        • November 27, 2014 6:31 am

          I’ve never heard that! But if that is the case, like you said, it adds a new element to the stat.

Thoughts?

