Skip to content

Game 12 of 82: Utah Jazz vs. Oklahoma City Thunder (5-7)

November 19, 2014

#quinsnyder #wakeup #utahjazz ❤

A post shared by @monilogue on

Pre-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder, asked if there’s an area where the team is further ahead than he’d expected
Not really. You know, I, it’s hard. You know, I like our team. I like our guys. I think, you know, the thing that I’m most happy about is that they are on the same page, and they’re on the same page with me. So regardless of where we are right now with my expectations, I think the key is for us to keep, you know, keep grinding and keep moving forward and keep getting better.

** Derrick Favors on how to deal with plantar fasciitis
Basically rest, really. I mean, it ain’t pretty much nothing else you can do. You gotta rest, put ice on it. It gon take awhile to get back healthy, but you know, main thing to do right now [for Rodney Hood] is just take your time and rest.
** Trey Burke, asked whether execution down the stretch is something the Jazz can get this year
I think it’s something we can get this year, for sure. You know, we’re, one thing that’s good about this team is that we learn at a high pace, at a fast pace as well. And coach Snyder, he demands a lot out of, you know, everyone, including the coaching staff. So, it’s something that we’re gonna have to consciously buy into, which is the defensive end more than anything. You know, offense is gon come, but when it comes down to those last, you know, six minutes in the game, it’s tight, you know, both teams are battling, you know, it’s gon come down to really defense.
** Burke, asked which aspect of defense the team can throttle down and improve vastly in
Yeah, I think it’s just collectively playing team defense. You know, a lotta times, if a guy gets hot, the guy that’s guarding that hot guy may, you know, start, you know, just worrying about him instead of the team, and, instead of trusting the team. So I think everyone has a job off the ball. You know, on ball, I think we’re doing, you know, a pretty good job, you know, of guarding guys. But off the ball is really where we can improve.

pinballJazz bigs playing pinball with Dante Exum

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on his technical foul
I think sometimes when you’re pulling this and pushing that, and you know, I was getting on my team, and I was getting on my staff. I was beating myself up for not having us ready. I just felt like, you know, there was no answers. And you get frustrated. Sometimes that frustration spills over into other parts of the game.
** Snyder on looking for juice
Those games when you come off the long road trip are always, the come-home games, are always a tough game…We didn’t have any energy. So, anywhere you can find it. That’s what we told ’em. Any, you know, look under a rock, look in each other. Anywhere you can find some juice, try to find it.
** Snyder on the team effort
Jeremy [Evans] came in, even though it was only two minutes. And you know, everybody had a little part in trying to pick us up. And you know, what Alec [Burks] was doing defensively and on the defensive glass, to me, was crucial. I mean, he’s a guy that, he had juice. And so did Trey [Burke], I thought, you know, running the team. It’s the best job Trey’s done of just keeping his composure, and a lot of guys had good efforts in the midst of a difficult situation. Dante [Exum] hit some big threes. You know, Enes [Kanter] did a good job around the bucket. You know, when [Derrick] Fav[ors] and Gordon [Hayward] don’t play their best game, we have to have other people that have their back. And we did tonight.

burks-brownAlec Burks, thrilled to be interviewed by Steve Brown

** Derrick Favors, asked about the young guys extending the lead while they were on the floor
Man, I don’t even know who the younger guys are. Y’all been calling us the young guys for five years. So, it was good to see those guys come out there and hold it down while me and Gordon [Hayward] was getting a rest or whatever. They did a good, a great job.
** Trey Burke on what triggered the comeback
I think coach Snyder did it all. You know, his tech basically set the whole tone throughout the whole building. You know, he got on us when we went to the locker room and he held us to a higher standard…We needed a spark from somewhere, and coach Snyder gave us that spark.
** Alec Burks, asked what Quin Snyder said to him when he challenged him in Toronto
Just, I ain’t gon say what he said, but you know, just, he just challenged me, you know, man to man, you know? He talked to me, you know, in front of the team, so I took it, I took the challenge on.
** Enes Kanter, in response to a question on the crowd
I just wanna say that too, you know, that, how about Alec Burks? You know, played unbelievable, you know, got second double-double straight from his second game. I think if he’s keep playing like that…this team’s gonna be good.
You had your own double-double.
Well, I wanna give the credit to my teammates, so.

** Dante Exum on Alec Burks’ double-double
Quin talked to, called Alex*–Alec out in one of our team meetings and said you should be getting rebounds, like, 10 rebounds a game. The last two games he has, so it’s about, you know, raising that expectation, and everyone knows he can do it, and he’s gone out and shown he can.
* People calling Alec Burks “Alex”: Dante Exum
** Exum on Quin Snyder
He’s played the game, and has that love and passion for the game. So, we all respect him in that way, and showing, him showing the passion and how he has our back. And he challenges us in a way that no other coach has. … We just needed that wake-up call, and coach was very energetic in making sure, as he say, like, we need to find our juice. And you know, I think we found it, so.
** Joe Ingles on Quin Snyder’s tech
I was actually asking [Steve] Novak something at the time, so I didn’t see him until he was all the way over…I think he was standing next to [Scott Brooks]. So I couldn’t really hear what he said, but yeah, I mean, that’s, he’s a passionate guy. Yeah, it’s great, and I think that got us going at the end of that second quarter. And then came in and did his thing at halftime, and we came out ready to go…He was emotional…He’s great at that…It was a pretty perfect thing.

dante-3

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Dante Exum “Diante”: Craig Bolerjack (H/T @bjcseven)

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Craig Bolerjack on his “buckle up”: They’re coming earlier, aren’t they?
** Boler on Trey Burke and Derrick Favors: Burke penetrates, and gives it to Favors.
** Matt Harpring on counting an airball as an assist and sounding rapey: Boler, I don’t know if I’d ask. (H/T @Mark_R_Pereira)
** Harpring on Anthony Morrow and Dante Exum: When Morrow went up, he actually went into Exum to shoot the ball. He didn’t go straight up.
** Boler on Serge Ibaka miss and Rudy Gobert rebound: Bangs it hard, Rudy with the tip out.
** Boler on Steven Adams’ free throw technique: It’s almost like he cups the ball. Look at this, the right hand.
** Harpring on “Where Are You Watching” submissions: C’mon, give it to me. Niiice. (H/T @5kl)
** Harpring on Joe Ingles celebrating a made 3-pointer: I’m going to dinner with him on the road…I’m changing partners.
Boler: Ha ha ho ho.
Harpring: All you have to do is give me that reaction. I mean, I’m waking you up on the road. I’m like, “Boler, let’s go. Wake up. Wake up.” (H/T @dianaallen)
** Steve Brown to Derrick Favors, post-game: Was it simply a matter of you just needed the prod?
** Steve Brown to Derrick Favors, post-game: How physical was it in there? Because it looked pretty physical.
** Quin Snyder on Trey Burke saying his technical sparked the team: Whatever Trey needs to do or use to get going, I’m okay with it. I don’t plan on doing that all the time.


game 12

Thanks to @dianaallen, @bjcseven and @chang_max for the assist with the W-L record tonight.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    November 19, 2014 10:35 pm

    I’m all about red ties and coach Lang halftime interviews

  2. Matt permalink
    November 19, 2014 11:37 pm

    Awesome job, Moni! Thanks. I especially love the Q video.

  3. Matt permalink
    November 19, 2014 11:42 pm

    LOL at Burks reaction to Brownie! He’s like “Other teams get like Summer Sanders or Hannah Storm but we have to get effing Steve Brown”

  4. russellkanning permalink
    November 19, 2014 11:51 pm

    sometimes instead of yelling at the guys to wake up …. the mighty quin will just stare the opponent down and put on his red tie

Thoughts?

