Skip to content

Game 9 of 82: Utah Jazz at Atlanta Hawks (3-6)

November 13, 2014

memo tweet

Pre-Game Quotage
** Everybody loves Quin:

quin tweets

quin-bud-hug-s

** Derrick Favors, asked how far has he come and what he’s improved on
You know, when I first got here, I really didn’t know what it took. You know, I just thought I’d just go out there and just play, just use my natural ability. But you know, playing Al [Jefferson] and Paul [Millsap], you know, I learned that, man, I have a lot of stuff I gotta work on. And then coming into last year, you know, I figured out what I need to work on. Like, yeah, I can score on guy, use my natural ability, but then throughout the season, they start taking certain stuff away. And that’s the stuff that I worked on this summer.
** Favors on how far he’s come since the day he was traded
Dealing with the trade and dealing with a lot of personal issues…I just wanted to get past that. And to be here now, where the Jazz gave me an extension and I know Imma be here for awhile–hopefully they don’t trade me or nothing–but you know, I know Imma be here for awhile, so that kinda help me out. It kinda help me open up a little bit more. It help me feel a little bit more comfortable here. And you know, that’s one of the main reason why I spend my whole summer, whole off-season, in Utah.

fav-spin

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the game
That’s tough, ’cause we played really well, and we had some shots that we’ve been making, and some of ’em were in the basket, and some of ’em were, you know, just, it’s tough. Missed a couple free throws, and did a lot of things well. Took care of the ball really well, which we haven’t been doing as much. And you know, I just thought a couple breaks down the stretch, and, that didn’t go our way. … There were some plays that we had a chance to make [at the end of the game] that we couldn’t make. And I don’t think it was for, you know, some egregious mistake that anyone made. It’s just one of those things.
** Snyder on what was drawn up at the end of the game
Well, you know, we drew one thing up out of the timeout, knowing that they would probably foul ’cause they had a foul to give. And we had another play that we execute–we just, at the end of the game, you have to be tougher, stronger. You know, it’s less about, you know, knowing what you’re gonna run, which we did, and you know, getting to where you need to go at a time when the games gets really physical.

milsap

** Derrick Favors on the game
I think overall we played a good game, you know, until the fourth quarter. Atlanta started executing they plays, and kinda locked down defensively. And we were just missing open shots that we normally make. So I mean, I think we played hard. We were just, Kyle Korver just started hitting shots. Paul started hitting shots, and you know, we just couldn’t hit shots.
** Favors on shots falling for Trey Burke and Alec Burks tonight
It was good to see, man. Trey been having a rough time with his shot, so it was good to see his shot start to fall and him gain confidence. And Alec, you know, he started doing Alec Burks things, you know, going to the basket, making all kind of crazy shots, making things happen on the offensive end. So it was good to see them start hitting they shots, and that opened up the lane for me.
** Favors on being 1-2 instead of 3-0 on the road trip
I think it just stuff we need to learn, down the stretch in the fourth quarter. You know, both games in Indiana and against Atlanta tonight, you know, we gave it away in the fourth. So I think it’s just an experience thing, that we’re gonna have to learn to execute plays in the fourth quarter, really lock down and focus on the defensive end, and you know, just win the game.
** Favors on playing at home in Atlanta
It’s always good to come home. I love coming home. I mean, I love Utah too, but ain’t nothing like coming back down south to Atlanta.

** Trey Burke on finding his shot tonight
It was definitely a night where I got some, you know, go–better looks than I have, you know, lately. You know, I just gotta stay with it, man. I think, you know, when your shot’s not falling, you have to find other ways to affect the game, and you know, I feel like I could be one of those guys who can, you know, get eight or nine assists, you know, around that area, every game. You know, I have to just be able to continue to create for my teammates, you know, and, you know, the shots are gonna come.
** Burke on a locker room that is disappointed but more positive than last year due to players knowing what they have in the new coach and everything else
Yeah, it’s definitely, you know, we do have a positive attitude right now. I think we’re all kinda disappointed, you know, that we didn’t come up with the win. You know, being up eight or nine points with five minutes left, we definitely felt like we were in control of the game. But you know, you gon have some games like that, you know, where, you know, I feel like all of us, you know, we missed shots that we usually hit, and you know, we just gotta learn from it and move forward.

fav fam

Random Stuff, etc.
** The Utah Jazz: World Leader in Deleted Content.

deleted bday

At least we still have this:

** Quin’s hair tho.

quin hair

** Ugly Christmas Utah Jazz sweater now available online. Not ugly enough for an ugly Christmas sweater though, if you ask me.

ugly sweater

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Matt Harpring on Rudy Gobert and Paul Millsap: The length of Gobert really bothering Millsap. (H/T @dianaallen)
** Craig Bolerjack: Horford lost the handle trying to bang with Gobert.
** Bob Rathbun: The length and girth of the Jazz certainly a big story…We have seen Favors, Kanter, Booker really do some damage.
Doominique Wilkins: They’ve gotten the job done, inside. (H/T @prodigal_punk)
** Wilkins on Enes Kanter: Big fella has a stroke! (H/T @dianaallen)
** Wilkins on Gobert: You get a lot of use out of a guy that size. (H/T @dianaallen)
** Boler on Dante Exum: Boy, I’ll tell ya. Being long, is a plus. (H/T @JuMuJazz, @jfasioe and @hessrp)
** Ron Boone on Kyle Korver: They really kept Korver from getting off. (H/T @@801Loaf)


game 9

Thanks to @J1mmyOlson and @TaylorLangston2 for the assist on the W-L record tonight.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Diana permalink
    November 14, 2014 9:30 am

    I was thinking I’d actually like to wear that sweater, then I saw that the smallest size is a men’s size medium so yeah that doesn’t work :(

    I love all the praise Snyder has received from former players he coached and fellow coaches. What a nice change of pace :)

Thoughts?

