Skip to content

Preseason Game 1 of 8: Utah Jazz vs. Portland Trail Blazers (1-0)

October 8, 2014

enes-3-f ÜÇLÜK!!!

Pre-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on why he moved shootaround to the practice facility
There’s more baskets. It gives us a chance to get more shooting. We’re here all the time anyway, so in a lot of respects, it’s, you know, it’s an easier routine. You know, a number of reasons. We wanted to go at 11 [a.m.], so we don’t have to be off the court right away at 11 when the visiting team comes in, so there’s just some conveniences. Not that we’ll always use the whole hour, but it gives us some flexibility.
** Snyder on Gordon Hayward
One of the most important things for him is to have perspective, and understand that, you know, his opportunity, to me, lies in something as simple as passion. He’s got so many different types of skills. If he just lets it out, and is not afraid to make a mistake…Instead of having a list and saying, “Gordon, do this, do this, do this, do this,” just play with passion. Not just hard, but, like, play with juice. Like, if people were watching the game, let’s let them say, “Man, Gordon loves to play.”
** Snyder on Alec Burks and Derrick Favors
Alec is a guy, he’d be the other guy, along with Fav, that I feel like has just shown a thirst.

snyder tendrilDid Quin Snyder intentionally and meticulously place this tendril of hair? Yes or no?

** Gordon Hayward on how this team will play with injuries mounting and only 17 guys available
Who’s injured?
Rodney [Hood]; Ian [Clark]; Carrick [Felix].
Oh, okay. Yeah. I mean, that’s what happens in training camp. You know, people get bruised up a little bit. You know, it’s unfortunate, but they’ll get better. We’ll be all right.
** Hayward, asked if he’s still the union rep for the team
I don’t know about tha–we haven’t talked about that. Last year, I was the backup or whatever, so. I don’t know…They were trying to groom me for the role.
Do you have any thoughts on the new TV deal? Were you involved in any talks to prepare players?
I was not really involved in any of that, so. Maybe Dahntay Jones or Steve Novak might’ve been more involved.

enes mouthpiece

** Trey Burke on how much of the offense has been installed, or has the focus been completely on defense
Yeah, I think, you know, they’re emphasizing, you know, both sides of the court. Mainly defense, though. But I think on the offensive end, we’re playing with much more pace, so you know, a lotta times we’re playing, you know, out of our reads. It’s not just a stagnant offense, or you know, it’s not robotic. You know, we’re going off of what we see out there, so you know, it should be exciting tonight to see where we are. You know, Portland’s a good team, and you know, I think we’re ready for the challenge.
** Burke on what he personally worked on the most this off-season
I think just getting in the paint more. You know, developing my shot, or, allowing it to be more consistent. Getting in the paint, making reads for myself and for others, and I think the more that I get in the paint and not settle for jump shots, the more it opens, you know, things up for other guys and you know, myself at times. So, as well as attacking in transition. You know, not being as conservative as I was last year, but attacking; trying to get in the paint.
** Burke on Quin Snyder
He’s a coach you can relate to. You know, he comes to me a lot after practice, during practice and sometimes calls me just to let me know what he sees and things that I can work on and that I con–can continue to improve on. So, he’s definitely a guy I can relate to and you know, I’m excited playing for him.

burks-move

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on the game
I thought we were a little nervous at the beginning of the game…I thought that we definitely played hard, particularly at the beginning of the second half, and I thought we tried to do a lot of things we’ve been talking about. You know, it’s not realistic to expect too much right now, to be honest with you, but I think there was a real focus to try to play the way we want to play.
** Snyder on how well the team played defense
Adequate. You know, I think there was a real effort. Again, I don’t wanna, you know, I’m pleased with much of what we did defensively. It’s just, you know, it’s a long road, and we reminded Rudy [Gobert] that we’re in a slightly di–he’s not supposed to be up on the floor like he is with the French national team. I want him back near the basket where he’s blocking shots…Rudy had a great summer. I’m kidding, obviously. And you know, he’s an impactful player around the basket, and did a good job changing shots. He’s a perfect example of a guy that, I mean, his habits will continue to improve. I think that’s true of all of us as a group.
** Snyder on Dante Exum’s performance
I thought he was a 19-year-old rookie. You know, there were some good things. You know, I liked his spirit. I felt like he didn’t get discouraged about anything that, there, you know, he got challenged by some guards that are quick, physical. You know, Steve Blake’s been doing that in the NBA for a long time and is a heck of a defender. So, for him to have to play against that is great.
** Snyder on how the team shared the ball
I felt like we were unselfish. We just didn’t, maybe we didn’t make some shots that, you know, off the assists. There was a number of plays I thought that we didn’t convert. There’s one that comes to mind when Trey drove and you know, he and Enes [Kanter] connected and Enes was in a great position, spacing-wise, that he really hadn’t been in previously. So I think when we continue to find those situations, we’ll get more efficient executing, and I thought Trey did a terrific job running the team.

kaman tweet

** Derrick Favors on what Enes Kanter’s range can mean for this offense
Get me more assists…I told him I was gon do it, you know, if I get the ball on the pick and roll or anything, you know, if they guy, if their guys come in and try to take the roll away, you know, I’m always looking at the corner, always looking out the corner of my eye to the perimeter, just trying to find the open guy. And you know, Enes guy came in and helped. So I saw him in the corner, and I just hit him with the pass, and he hit the shot for me, gave me the assist.

** Enes Kanter on the win
I know it’s the preseason, but just getting that game, winning that game and come in this locker room and just seeing the smiles on people’s face, it’s just priceless.
** Kanter on being in a happy locker room and getting to play basketball again
Oh man, I want that feeling long time…I think we have some–really have something special here. I mean, this team can get along really good and can be a really, really good friends, and that friendship can, we can show them on the court. So, I think it’s really important. I mean, all the basketball stuff, okay, it’s important…but friendship and the communication I think the most important thing. And then I think we gonna have really good friendships in this team.
** Kanter on his new defensive focus
[Last year], I was really focused on [offense]. But now this year, with coach Q’s, you know, defensive mind, I’m really focused on defense because, I mean, somebody’s gonna score the ball…But I think the most important thing, just going out there, and just stop that ball. So, like, gives you a really good feeling.

jody tweet

** Gordon Hayward on his comfort level in the new system and if he enjoys it
Yeah, it’s getting there. There’re times where it’s fun out there, and you know, when you play with the pass and you’re running and it’s easy, that, you, the, I mean, when you have an open guy make an open pass, and cut through and he makes another pass, and somebody gets a layup, a dunk, a wide-open shot, it makes the game a lot easier. It slows it down even though you’re going fast.

** Trey Burke on his performance
The game has just slowed down a little for me. You know, I tried to find my shot out there tonight. You know, it was a little off, but you know, I think the shots that I took were good shots. But it’s slowed down for me. It’s not as fast as it was last year. You know, I’m not in such a hurry out there, and I can see, you know, I can make plays for others as well as myself out there at a higher level.

** Dante Exum on his first taste of [preseason] NBA basketball
Came [in] a bit nervous. You know, I came in and tried to, I think I held my own. You know, just still finding my feet a bit and where I can get my opportunities, but you know, I’m always trying to do as much effort as I can on the defensive end.

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Toure Murry “Torrey”: Craig Bolerjack (H/T @5kl)
** I’ll take “Images That Are Unrecognizable as Utah Jazz Ticket Ads” for $200, Alex.

lbj ticket

** Armless Al may be no more, but his armless crew has grown:

armless
** Meanwhile, in Louisiana, Karl Malone got his first kill of the season (via @mamail):

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Media on off-season and other teams being in the playoffs: You’re eager and anxious for this thing to get going.
Gordon Hayward: I am.
Media: Did you watch? I know some guys don’t want to watch.
Hayward: It’s one of those things where a lot of my friends watch, so I’ll go over to somebody’s house…It’s like a social thing, I guess.
** Quin Snyder on Rodney Hood’s injury: Yeah, he did something to it last night. Had a little pull.
** Matt Harpring: McCollum’s a nice player that can go both ways with his hands.
** Steve Brown on Rudy Gobert losing a contact lens: That’s what it was, was the ball hitting him in the eye.
** Harpring: I’m not sure if Steve Blake was outside that restricted area.
Craig Bolerjack: Goes back to the muscle, though, right here.
Harpring: Well, he was outside. I thought he was moving though.
** Harpring on Quin Snyder: He’s gonna fill–fit in nicely here in Salt Lake.
** Boler: You have to push through the hump. (H/T @5kl)
** Snyder on his post-game interview setup: I’ve got a nice seat and a big mic.
** Dante Exum on not overthinking: It’s, you know, it’s getting hard, but you know, I’m trying to work through it and it’s working for me, so.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

