Skip to content

Quick Hit Odds and Ends

October 4, 2014

One. Andrei Kirilenko cut his hair. Finally! I’ve only been waiting for this for four years lol. (Note AK’s little Masha harem behind him.)

10693665_732726853473789_1786541489_n

Two. A rare look at the serious side of Kyrylo Fesenko: He’s trying to make the Timberwolves roster so he can bring his mom, wife and other family members over from Ukraine.

He is a half-world away from a home he last visited in August, but he’s reminded of the conflict every time he thinks of a neighbor who was killed when a Malaysia Airlines jet mistakenly was shot down over the country in July.

“It was really tragic. That’s when it actually finally hit me that it’s for real,” Fesenko said. “That it’s not somewhere out there.” …

He was asked if it was unsettling to watch his country being split by the crisis.

“It is. I think war is the outdated solution to any conflict,” said Fesenko, a 2007 second-round pick by Philadelphia who was traded to Utah and played four seasons for the Jazz. He hasn’t played regularly in the NBA since 2011. “It’s just ridiculous and stupid and I’m very worried about my mom, my wife, all my friends. Two of my friends already enlisted in the army and I really don’t want that to happen. I’m all up for fighting the good cause, but I just don’t want to lose any of my childhood friends.”

Three. (At least partially) why practice was canceled on Thursday:

snyder baby

Four. Rudy Gobert wants everyone to know that six inches isn’t that big.

rudy 6

Five. What a difference a year makes.

2013 2014 coaches

One Comment leave one →
  1. bebop permalink
    October 5, 2014 4:37 am

    New coaching staff is dressed so much better. I cannot wait for this season to get started!

Thoughts?

