Skip to content

Bits from Practice, 10/3

October 4, 2014
tags: , ,

** Quin Snyder on yesterday’s canceled practice (and the arrival of his baby): It worked out well. Alec told me that I should have more children so they get more days off.
** Snyder on Rodney Hood’s shot
I think the biggest thing for Rodney is to be confident, that we want him to take open shots. And if he’s open, it’s a good shot. I don’t care how many he’s missed or made.
** Snyder on training camp goals
Our goal is to get better throughout the year, and try to get better each day. It sounds like a little bit of a cliche,* but if we can do it, it’d be a good thing.

* If only he knew. LOL.

** Derrick Favors, asked if Steve Novak is providing leadership
Yeah, he always talking, always saying stuff and you know, he always get us going even before practice. You know, he come in, talking, bring a lot of energy when he out there, and you know he help us out a lot.
** Favors on whether Novak talks a lot of junk when he makes shots
Novak? Yeah, he might say a couple words after he make a jumper, ’cause everybody know he can shoot but somehow he still get open. And you know, everybody be mad, like, “Hey, why would you leave Novak open?” And he’ll just start talking, so he’ll say a couple things.
** Favors, asked if he knows Rodney Hood from AAU
I don’t know…We probably played against each other, but to tell you the truth, I don’t know.*

* Rodney Hood on draft night: Derrick Favors, I played against him back in high school…He was a senior in high school. I was a small kid. You know, he was, so he probably doesn’t remember me.

** Steve Novak on who’s played well so far
You know, the big guys have played well. You know, D-Fav and Enes [Kanter], today, specifically has shot the ball really well from the perimeter. Enes, I think, hit two threes in practice. You know, D-Fav has just done a good job using his body and scoring the ball. And Gordon [Hayward], I think, is just, to me, the thing that stands out is how physical he is, how strong he is. I think, just, he’s just stronger than I thought.

** Dante Exum on what he’s learned from Trey Burke
Yeah, you know, it’s been really good. You know, coming into practice everyday against a good-caliber point guard, you know, and just, it’s giving me an opportunity to learn, you know? That’s why I put myself in this situation so I can get better everyday, and you know, Trey’s helped me with that.

** Trey Burke on whether he feels better prepared for this season than last season
You know, I know what to expect coming this year. You know, last season it was kinda like, you know, you come into a league full of grown men and you don’t really know what to expect. You hear about the 82 games, but your body’s not used to it. So you know, I definitely think, you know, I’m more prepared this year. I know how to prepare, you know, for practice and prepare for games better.

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines (UDQM)
** Derrick Favors on the rest day: I think we needed it. We been going for a long time, and you know, I think coach just wanna give us a, let our bodies recup[erate].
** Dante Exum on what’s been an adjustment: It’s just how hard everybody goes, each and every day. You know, there’s no second off. And if you do take a second off, coach is on you in a heartbeat.
** Trey Burke on Exum: He’s kinda, like, in the position I was in last year, lotta stuff coming at him.
** Quin Snyder on wanting the ball to break the paint: If there’s one fewer guy, you know, one fewer man in there, it’s good.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

