Skip to content

Bits from Utah Jazz Draft Workout: Jarred Shaw, Markel Brown, C.J. Fair and Noah Vonleh

June 17, 2014
tags: , ,

perrin

** How did the workout go?
They did everything we asked them. Shooting wasn’t as great as we had hoped, but it’s understandable, again, because of the way they worked during the workout. So, I thought it was a very good workout.
** On Noah Vonleh
He got through the workout. I don’t think he struggled that much. Struggled a little bit, but I think he’s in pretty good shape. Now, is he in shape for, through 82 games here in Salt Lake or Denver? No. But you know, we can get him that way…He’s got a little ways to go [on defense], but he’s got a body where he’ll fight and he’ll bang, and his feet aren’t bad…I think he picked up 20 lbs. from the year, from the time he left high school to college. Can he get stronger? Yes. Upper body and lower body. He’s, as big as he is, he has to learn how to utilize his body a little bit more…[His athleticism] is not bad. Not great. He runs the court extremely well, so that’s good, but we probably would, wherever he goes, you gotta work with his vertical [so he can] get up quicker.
** How mature is Vonleh for his age?
We didn’t get a chance to sit down with him in Chicago [at the draft combine], ’cause we had him on our list but the league didn’t give him to us. So I don’t know for sure. From whatever, everything that we’ve heard, he’s a great kid. Fairly mature for his age, but we’ll find out more once we sit down with our interview.

shaw

** Second workout with the Jazz. Sixth workout; has worked out for the Knicks, Clippers, Nets, Celtics and Jazz. Has two more scheduled with the Magic and Kings.
** What were you able to show off in this workout that you couldn’t in your first workout with the Jazz?
Just making shots, man. Just trying to stay consistent with my shot. Shoot the same shot every time, and I feel like I did that.
** What can you bring to the Jazz?
I can bring, like, stretch four man. Stretch the four, knock down jumpers. I can guard the four and the five position. Just somebody that’s off the bench, quick offensive, come in offensively and make a few shots, and probably pick up the starters and give them a lift [as] a backup guy.
** What do teams want to know during interviews?
Just what kind of guy I am. See if, how I’ve redeemed myself. I know I got into some trouble off the court, and just show ‘em that I’ve changed, and making strides to become a better human being.

brown

** How did the workout go? / Comment on the altitude
It was pretty good. A lotta three-on-three and two-on-two. Pretty sto–tough from the start because of the elevation, not really used to it, but still a good workout.
** What are you trying to show teams?
I present athleticism and defense, and scoring. I think coming into any team and this team, I can step in and be a defender, and a scorer on the other end. It’s not really too many two-way players in the NBA, so I feel like I can present that.
** Expects to be drafted between 20 and 35

fair

** 12th workout; has a few more scheduled
** How did the workout go?
It went good. You know, we had a great group of guys out here. You know, we competed hard, and you know, I think I did a pretty good job for myself. I competed on both sides of the ball.
** What can you bring to the Jazz?
I feel as though, you know, I’m a guy who’s gonna work hard on both sides of the ball. Imma be a consistent player. You know exactly what you’re gonna get out of me. I’m a player that can knock down the open shot. Create his own shot for his, myself and others, and a great rebounder and defender.
** Knows Trey Burke from playing against him in college and has worked out with John Lucas III this summer

vonleh

** Has worked out for the Magic, Celtics, Lakers and Kings. This is possibly his last workout.
** How did the workout go? / Comment on the altitude
I think I did pretty good. It was a big adjustment with the altitude here, and then, and in Denver, so it was a little bit of an adjustment, but I think I did pretty well.
** What are you trying to show teams?
Show them my versatility. Show them I can take guys off the dribble, play inside the post and create for others.
** What do you know about Derrick Favors, and can you play alongside him?
Yeah, I’ve been watching him since he was in high school, and I saw him a little bit while he was in the NBA, and I think I’d complement him pretty well. I could s–I could be like a stretch four, he could play the five, and I think we’d go well together.
** What do you know about the Utah Jazz?
Coach Jerry Sloan was here before, and now they just got a new coach. I don’t know too much about him, but he looks like a pretty good guy. He’s really young. And I know they had guys like Karl Malone, John Stockton. Carlos Boozer and Deron* Williams, I watched them a lot when they were here. And they got Trey Burke, who played in the Big Ten, and a few other guys.
* “Duh-RON”
** Is there a team you want to go to, or do you just want to be drafted as high as possible?
Whoever takes me, I’m willing to be happy to go in from Day One, work hard, and better myself as a player. And help my team get better.
** What is your offensive go-to move?
Either a right jump hook or a left jump hook or a up-and-under or face-up-drive-it-spin. Do different things like that. Mix it up.
** Is there any player you pattern yourself after or compare yourself to?
No. A lotta people say Chris Bosh, LaMarcus Aldridge and a few other players like that, ’cause they can step out, shoot the three, face up. And I guess you could say that.

Other players that worked out for the Jazz with no interviews made available: John Bohannon, Bryon Allen, David Wear (second workout with the Jazz in the family) and Jamil Wilson (second workout with the Jazz).

No comments yet

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

