Skip to content

Get to Know: Tyrone Corbin

April 16, 2014
tags: ,

From David Locke’s “Get to Know” series.

corbin 1019

First team ever played on: Park and recreation team in Columbia, S.C.

First buzzer beater: With the Hawks in a game against the Sixers.

First dunk: Jumping off a chair in my old neighborhood.

First pair of basketball shoes: Can’t remember.

First time you ever saw yourself on TV: When I was in an elementary school math competition.

First nickname: Cornbread.

First CD: Still waiting to buy one.

First video game ever played: Pokemon.

First day off in Utah: I was here with Coach [Jerry] Sloan so I probably slept all day.

First poster: Ice Man. The one with him sitting on an ice cube seat.

First sports jersey owned: Probably one of my older brothers’ that I took from them when they were done with it.

First autograph: Probably a Larry Bird autograph that I took from my mom when I played in Atlanta.

First time you ever got in trouble as a kid: Probably when I put my hands on some money that wasn’t mine. I remember getting that beating.

First pet: Probably a goldfish. I’m not a big pet guy.

First kiss: That I want to talk about, was with my wife.


Best game ever played: Basketball? High school state championship game.

Worst game ever played: Freshman year of college when we lost in the first round of the NCAA tournament.

Best place ever traveled to: The Atlantis in the Bahamas.

Best meal ever: I’m a big-time eater. I love my mom–my wife’s a great cook. I love my mom’s cooking. Imma go easy, and go spaghetti with the South Carolina sauce that my mom and wife make. And some cornbread.

Maddest you’ve ever been: Probably when somebody was messing with my kids.

Earliest you ever woke up to work out: Probably just after I went to sleep about 1 a.m.

Best friend in the league: Let’s say, right now, Sidney Lowe.

Best movie ever: Lean on Me.

Dinner with three people, dead or alive: Jesus; Martin Luther King; Barack Obama.


What’s your mom like? The wisest, most consistent, most honest person that I know. She’s more of a lover now, but she was, when I was a kid, a very, very, very, very good, strong disciplinarian.

You knew you were in trouble when… You were in trouble first. She would swing and talk later.

You made your mom most happy when… Graduating from high school, and then graduating from college, and in there were so many moments of achievements that she’s been excited about for me.

Good day in the house when… When the weather was bad outside and we all had to stay in the house.


Last sport played besides basketball: Golf.

Last vacation: I go on trips, but my wife don’t really call those vacations…I hear it all the time, trust me.

Last item bought: We remodeling our house in South Carolina, so it’s been many items.

Last music downloaded: Frankie Beverly and Maze.

Last time you were scared: What time is it?

Last time you were incredibly happy: My daughter graduating in June.

Last book you read: That I read completely? Just finishing up John Wooden’s book. Can’t think of the name of the book.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

