Skip to content

Jerry Sloan, Senior Basketball Advisor

June 20, 2013
tags: , , ,

Introductions

rigbys Randy Rigby: Coach Sloan, are you there?

jerry sJerry Sloan: Yeah, I’m here, Randy. Ready to roll.

rigbys Randy Rigby: It’s really an honor for me to be able to announce that we have come to a multi-year agreement with Coach Jerry Sloan to serve on our, be part of, continue to be part of our basketball team, and our basketball operations, and to act as a senior basketball advisor for the Utah Jazz.

And to have a basketball mind, to have a Hall of Fame coach, and to have Jerry part of this team, is a great honor for all of us.

jerry sJerry Sloan: Thank you Randy, I’m happy to be here and I’m happy to be back in the organization. Looking forward to it.

What does a senior basketball executive do?

jerry sJerry Sloan: I’m willing to do anything they ask me to do. That’s the way I look at it. I don’t have all the answers, but I, when I was a young coach, I needed a lot of guidance. I put a lot of faith in Frank Layden who was, who I replaced, and he helped me tremendously …

[I] hope that I can do something that will help the team become a better team. And I’m a Utah Jazz fan, and it’s hard to be a fan if you’re not involved in the organization, from my standpoint.

rigbys Randy Rigby: [Jerry] is respectful of, also, the role of a, of the head coach. Respectful of, also, the role of general managers, and senior basketball people like Kevin [O'Connor].

But from our vantage point, as we’ve talked about things from both the Miller family, Greg, and Gail, Steve, as long, as well as with Dennis [Lindsey] and Kevin [O'Connor] and myself, one of the things that we’ve looked at this in this role for, that we need, really, from Jerry as well, is really having that additional mindset of a coach and a basketball expert like Jerry Sloan, to be able to help us as we go to these camps in Chicago.

As we go to Portsmouth. As we go to, also, places like, with our summer league that goes on. And to have his mind and his basketball knowledge to be there, as a extra set of eyes, to just, things that we might want to think at, of.

What will be the extent of Jerry Sloan’s involvement with the team?

jerry sJerry Sloan: Hopefully I can work with Ty, who has asked me to be on board, and maybe some suggestions here and there. And I’m gonna be out of the way. I’m not looking for a job. I’ll try to stay out of their way. I’ve been reluctant to jump in there because it puts a lot of pressure on the coaches, and I’m not one to do that. I want to try to be able to help.

rigbys Randy Rigby: [Jerry]‘s not gonna step or go anywhere that he’s, you know, he knows is, would be inappropriate from a coaching standpoint or from a basketball operation. But still just share some words of wisdom and then some insight and to be there as a support for us is gonna be valuable.

How did the process of getting back into basketball come about?

jerry sJerry Sloan: Well, it’s not a coaching job. This is a different aspect of it. I thought maybe that something might come up in basketball. I had a couple, one offer that I should’ve maybe looked at and taken, but that’s hindsight. …

This organization has been a terrific organization for many years, and I was just fortunate enough to be a small part of it. And that’s what the excitement for me was, that I get that opportunity and if something along the lines of coaching I think would be worthwhile and not here, but somewhere else, may pop up, I don’t know, but I feel like being involved in basketball has kinda saved my life.

You feel like you want to jump off a tall building after being away from it a couple years.

On new big man coach Karl Malone

jerry sJerry Sloan: For him to give himself up to come in and work with these players, I think it’s quite an accomplishment on his part and tells you what he’s about. He still wants to see the Jazz succeed.

You can’t be in one place as long as I’ve been and not want them to succeed because you’ve bled purple for a long time here,* and then hopefully get back into it again. So Karl is, you don’t know, he might want to go fishing. So you gotta be careful whenever he shows up.

* “Bled purple.” I love that.

What do you think of Derrick Favors?

jerry sJerry Sloan: I haven’t seen him work out. I’ve only watched his game, but I think the biggest thing with young players–are they hungry?

Karl Malone was a hungry guy that would succeed and make himself better. And he was, whenever he stepped on the floor, there wasn’t any nonsense about him. He stepped out there, and he loved to compete.

And I don’t know what the situation is with Favors. He’s a tremendous athlete. How hard does he work? Those are things that will determine how bad he wants to really be a great player, and that’s what, Karl Malone had those attributes.

And I’m just an outsider looking in. [I] know that he’s got tremendous talent. And it’s up to the player, you know? Karl Malone, you can talk about him all you want, but he’s a guy that made himself a better free throw shooter. He’s a guy, changed his whole body. And he had those desires without having to be told over and over again.

And hopefully Favors will have that opportunity to work with Karl, ’cause I think he can make a big difference in his career if he’s willing to do the work.

How involved have you been in the draft process?

jerry sJerry Sloan: They were very kind. They, I, they asked me if I wanted to go to [the draft combine] in Chicago, and I went. I’m far behind; I didn’t watch a lot of college basketball because I spent most of my time watching the NBA, which, for the first time in my life, I had a chance to watch it and not get too upset as I watched the game.

And I think that was nice of the Jazz to, Kevin and Dennis, asking me to come to Chicago and watch the tryout camps. And then I’ve been watching the practices here…

It’s some of the best basketball I’ve seen at a camp like this, and in a situation like this. So it’s been fun for me, because I, you love to watch players compete against each other and everyday that we’ve been there, I think you’d have to walk away and say, “Boy, these guys played hard today.”

How can Jerry avoid stepping on toes as far as channels go when he can help a player, coach, or executive?

rigbys Randy Rigby: We have, everyone in our organization knows Jerry Sloan. And everyone knows the heart of Jerry Sloan and what his intention is, and that is to honor and respect people’s roles and responsibilities.

And so people are gonna be feel, will feel very comfortable of asking for his help and knowing that when he gives his suggestion or some advice, it’s gonna be well-received and there will not be stoes that a–toes that are being stepped on.

Does it show how mature Tyrone Corbin is to agree to bring Karl Malone and Jerry Sloan on board and not be threatened by it?

checketts Spencer Checketts: [unwelcome interruption as Jerry talks]

rigbys Randy Rigby (to Jerry Sloan): You know, in my opportunity of watching you is, is that great coaches have the confidence to be able to surround themselves with other great people, who can complement them and add to their abilities, but bring with them, also, their own unique strengths.*

And I’ve seen, as we’ve watched Tyrone as a young coach, but you know what, has that same kind of confidence and abilities, and is not intimidated by having a great pe–a group of people around him, and a great coaching staff,** and also having the desire of having individuals like Coach Sloan also being there as a resource, so that we can just be as good as we can be, and he can be as good as he can be.

* By that same token, do Corbin’s choices for assistant coaches show insecurity and immaturity?
** I wonder if Rigby was able to say this with a straight face.

checketts Spencer Checketts: [unwelcome interruption as Jerry talks]

Jerry reflecting on the past two years

jerry sJerry Sloan: I think I’ve probably changed a great deal after watching a lot of the games…One thing that I wish I’d done a better job of in my coaching was, been able to do a better job, getting along with the officials.

I never was too good at that, but it was, I think I hurt our team a couple of times when I got a little too carried away with wanting to win so badly and sometimes you can’t do it unless you have a great, great team. Sometimes we didn’t always have that.

We lost 56 games and I still kept my job, and that’s a tribute to Larry Miller and the Miller family, and I always appreciated that, because it’s so easy to be replaced anymore. And I was lucky to be able to be in one place for as long as I was, as a head coach.

How involved will Jerry be in terms of frequency of communication?

rigbys Randy Rigby: It’s not necessary that he be involved day-to-day. W–it’ll be, is, it’ll be a lot of it on an as-needs basis between what Jerry and his schedule, our coaching staff and our basketball operations.

But he will be to–our organization is open to Jerry Sloan to be there, literally as much as we feel and as Jerry feels is necessary, to keep helping this team, to grow, and be as good as we can be, and to continue to build towards a championship-caliber team.

Gordon Monson proposes a “Sloan Phone” hotline.

jerry sJerry Sloan: I don’t answer phones very well. I just drive over there and make it real simple for myself.

checketts Spencer Checketts: [unwelcome interruption as Jerry talks]

Jerry Sloan’s final thought

jerry sJerry Sloan: Looking forward to working with the Jazz again.

(1280; Spencer Checketts photo property of mugshots.com)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Brent permalink
    June 20, 2013 9:28 pm

    So happy about this news. Jerry’s one of those individuals that belongs in the Jazz organization for life. Here’s to hoping Corbin utilizes him as much as possible.

  2. SurlyMae permalink
    June 20, 2013 11:26 pm

    I love that the one thing he wishes he could change “officials” is what made me love him in the first place. Ironic.

  3. JLT permalink
    June 21, 2013 12:26 am

    Haha is Spencer Checketts’ photo there a mug shot? Too perfect!

  4. BC7 permalink
    June 21, 2013 2:53 am

    There is nothing that you have posted that has ever made me happier than seeing Spencer Checketts’ mug shot used in this matter. You win the internet for one year!

  5. June 21, 2013 7:15 am

    @SurlyMae Me too! Can’t express in words how much I always loved watching him go after refs.

    @JLT It is, and it is one of many.

    @BC7 I knew you would appreciate it :)

  6. Jim permalink
    June 21, 2013 6:04 pm

    Can’t believe your post didn’t mention how Jerry thought how unfairly Ty had been treated in difficult circumstances LOL

    Obviously Jerry was just toeing the company line so you left that part out.

    Another hatchet job. BRAVO

    • June 21, 2013 6:10 pm

      This post is a transcription of the radio interview on 1280 when the announcement was initially made (June 19). The comment you are referring to was made during the press conference on June 20. I haven’t posted that yet. But thanks for your comment!

  7. Jim permalink
    June 22, 2013 5:23 pm

    Listen again….

    • June 22, 2013 9:54 pm

      I’ve listened to this interview five or six times. Again, the quote you are referring to is from the press conference, and is included in that post.

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

