Skip to content

Get to Know: DeMarre Carroll

November 19, 2012
tags: ,

From David Locke’s “Get to Know” series with Jazz players.

“DeMarre Carroll. 6’8″, 212, University of Missouri.”

Mom
I think of love, ’cause she always love me…A nice sweet person that always talks about the Bible, talks about religion, and keep God first…She wasn’t strict. She was the nice parent. She always pampered me. That’s why I’m a mama’s boy to this day.

It was a good day in the home when…
When I got breakfast in the morning. [What was the breakfast?] Pancake, sausage, omelette, bacon, toast and cereal.*

* AKA the Enes Kanter Special 1/4 Serve. — change brought to you by @Texas

In the context of Black History Month, who do you think of as someone who’s sacrificed before you?
I have to say my grandmother. She’s really into doing for others rather than doing for herself…I stayed with her every weekend. She lives in the projects, but she always thought of me and my brothers and sisters first before she thought of herself.

Greatest high school sports moment
Being down by 10 in the state championships at Alabama, and we was 35-0, and we was on risk of ruining our perfect record. And we end up setting history in the state of Alabama, 36-0…Won the state championship, and I got MVP, so it was a great moment in my life. [I had] 25 and 15.

Knocking off the guys in Alabama that got all the props
A lot of them. One guy, he was in the league for two years or a year, Walter Sharp. He went to Detroit Pistons. And even one of my teammates was a very high prospect…when we was in high school. He was really the one that everybody thought was gonna make it, but I’m here now.

First teacher/coach/mentor to see something special
I have to go back and say my uncle, my uncle that coached me at the University of Missouri. Now he’s at the University of Arkansas. When he was assistant coach at Arkansas with Nolan Richardson, he always thought I could maybe make it one day, and he saw a lot of talent in me. He was the first person that really just told me, “Keep working, and keep coming back to the camp.”…Played for him for two years at Missouri, and I think it was the best two years of my life.

Rapid fire
** First pair of basketball shoes: Pump-ups. Reeboks…They really didn’t work, but it just felt good that everybody had ‘em on.

** First car you ever drove, and how old were you: My first car my father got me, it was like a 1989 Lumina, and I drove it all through high school. He wanted me to just know that I haven’t made it yet, so he gave me a loan…I was 16 years old.

** First car you ever bought: My Audi I bought when I was a rookie, that Audi I got now to this day.

** Favorite meal: Fried chicken, collard greens, macaroni and cheese, and candied yams.

** What was on the walls of your childhood room: Ninja Turtles…I was a big [fan of] Raphael Ninja Turtles. He was my favorite Ninja Turtle.

** If you were an actor, what kind of actor would you want to be? I wanna be a actor like Denzel. I wanna be one on “Training Day.” I wanna be the bad guy. I don’t really want everybody to just like me.

** If you could have dinner with three people, dead or alive, who would they be? Have to be my mother, my father, and can I say Jesus?

** First-ever game winner: Seventh grade, middle school…I hit it from half court.

** First dunk: Eighth grade…it caught me off guard, ’cause I tried it everyday before practice.

** Superpower you’d pick: I wanna fly. Just fly to wherever I wanna go. Get there quicker, and maybe take people along with.

** First video game ever played: Double Dribble. Nintendo.

** Who would you rather play with in their prime, Stockton or Malone? I would go with John Stockton, ’cause he can get me the ball. Karl Malone, I have to give him the ball.

** Best Halloween costume: Flavor Flav…The watch necklace, and the wave cap and everything.

** Best Christmas present: A golf car. Got a golf car just to drive up and down the street my dad bought for us. I really didn’t use it on the golf course. I just used it to drive up and down the street.


From a series of videos being uploaded by @da_breezman:

** Worst NBA Arena: Sacramento Kings’ arena. Their fan base is not the best, and then their locker room is a little bit small.

** Favorite Road Restaurant: Fleming’s. Old veteran Jamaal Tinsley put me on Fleming’s and I been liking it ever since.

** Best NBA Dancers: Miami Heat. They have a lot of exotic women out there, so you know, it’s nothing wrong with exotic.

** Best Trash Talker: Joe Johnson.


Get to Know: Alec Burks aka Alex Borks
Get to Know: Al Jefferson
Get to Know: Paul Millsap

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2012 9:45 am

    thanks for posting these. i don’t listen to locke.

  2. November 21, 2012 4:27 pm

    You guys are very welcome and thanks for reading :)

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

