Skip to content

Shocking news (it’s a stunner): Jerry Sloan does NOT win COY!

April 22, 2010
tags: , ,

Breckin Meyer Scott Brooks wins; Jerry finishes fourth with 98 points, including 10 first-place votes (which was one more first-place vote than third-place finisher Nate McMillan received).

Just to re-visit a COY-themed post I wrote a few months back:

–Jerry Sloan has never won the NBA Coach of the Year award, despite being the only coach to have amassed 1,000 wins with one team and despite there having been 234 coaching changes (now 239) in the league since he became head coach of the Jazz.

–Jerry Sloan is the only Utah Jazz coach to have never won the award.

Every coach that has ever been affiliated with Sloan the player and Sloan the coach (apart from his rookie year coach), has won the award.

–Sloan is also the only coach in NBA history with more than 1,000 wins to have never won the award.

–[Sloan] and George Karl are the only two coaches in the top ten of most coaching victories to have never won the award.

As T-Mac might say: Media, it’s on you.

No comments yet


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: