Skip to content

Bits from Randy Rigby Interview, 7/30

July 31, 2014
tags: , ,

rigby

Have season ticket renewals met your expectations?
We have had very good success…We’ve had very good renewals. We’ve had over, I think it’s, we’re right now at about 78 percent renewal on our season tickets, which is very good. We’ve had very strong new season ticket renewals, which is saying, our fan base is saying, “You know what? We’re excited about this new team. We’re excited to wanna, now, be a part of it.”

And that’s the one thing I’ve been encouraging fans to do, saying you know what? Now’s an exciting time to be with this and say, “I was part of a, I got on with this team as it started up with this new, now, group of players and hopefully our future Stocktons and Malones and Hornaceks.”

** Rigby on partaking in a barbecue event with Hans Olsen, Unintentional Dirty Quote Machine: Well, I, you know, when I was told, I’d asked if I would do it. I was told that Hans would be doing it, and that’s why I said I want, I said, if Hans is doing it, I’m on. I wanna be there if Hans is doing it, I’m there. I’m a good, you know, side for Hans. And so, I’m not worried about him, ’cause I know he’s there to protect me.

You are a man of prominence in Utah. What were some of the worst jobs you’ve ever had?
Well, the worst job for me was, literally, I was, you know, I’m a farmboy from Farmington, Utah. So you know what, growing up from literally when I was six years old, I remember driving the tractor. I was taught at a very young age, before I could buck the hay, dad and brother were out on the hay wagon. So I got to just drive the tractor until I was old enough.

And then I became kinda, my brother always said I had the more brains and he had the brawn. So I always did the stacking on, I had to stack the wagons so that, you know, you made sure that the hay didn’t fall off. So, I was the geometry guy that knew how to really stack good hay, and so probably the g–the hardest thing for me starting out as a young man, working on a farm, and doing that hard work.

And then I worked for a wholesale florist, and we did work there.

** Rigby on his experience in blue-collar work, UDQM: It also made me realize, you know what, I’m gonna go get an education so hopefully I can use more my brain and less of my body.

What are your early impressions of Quin Snyder?
Well, I’ll tell you, Quin has, he not only said yes on, to Dennis [Lindsey] and myself, and Greg Miller, on a Friday, he was there on Saturday, and literally, he hasn’t stopped working since. He’s jumped right in and done a remarkable job.

He’s constantly not only working with the players, but he’s working mentally, and thinking and preparing and has a great game plan. Has a very bright mind, and a very, and really analytical mind of the game of basketball and how to maximize the most out of his team and looking at the talent.

He was down this weekend, down with Dennis, and again, back in Las Vegas watching Gordon [Hayward], and he’s been out seeing some of the players, talking to players, working with our coaching staff. I’ve loved his work ethic. I love how his mind works and his commitment to players, in helping them in their development of their game. And we’ve had great responses from our players, as they’ve talked about their interaction, early interactions with Quin, of their excitement to go to work for him.

When he was down in Vegas, as an example, he ran into Paul Millsap, of which, he, of course, worked for only one year with Paul in Atlanta. And Paul couldn’t stop ranting and raving about what a great guy Quin was and [that] we stole his guy, and the relationship that they have developed in less, in just a year’s time. And that’s a pretty darn good endorsement. And I know that DeMarre Carroll felt the same way when we hired him, and you know, expressed his congratulations to Quin, and to the, to Utah for getting him.

So, I think, you go-guys, we’ve got a really, a real gem in Quin Snyder that we’re gonna be really excited about, what he’s doing and what he’s bringing, to the Utah Jazz.

Not arguing that Hayward’s not worth $63 million, but what were your thoughts when you saw that number come across?
Well, $63 million is still $63 million, and we’ve still gotta, you’ve gotta, you have to have a respect for money, and a respect, ’cause that money is made up of the hard work of not only the Millers, but also of our sponsors, of our ticket holders, of our strategy, of the work we’ve done with our TV contracts.

And so, we have to make sure that we’re covering those dollars and covering the total. But we do have to step back and look at it in total and not only micro-cosmically is that individual player. And the one positive thing is we’ve looked at the Gor–at Gordon’s contract. Would we have liked to…maybe pay a little less? Yes, but we’ve probably liked to do that with all 15 of our players.

But we’ve also looked at it and said, “You know what, in the total perspective of where dollars are going, and what the investment we have in this young, in Gordon Hayward and his potential,” you know what, it was still, we wouldn’t have made that, we wouldn’t have pulled the trigger if we didn’t feel it was still a value that was well worth it. And we really feel that it is, that, you know what, we’re gonna make that investment work. …

We feel we’ve got a very good asset in Gordon Hayward, and, but again, we have to watch, financially, our investments and treat our money very safer in what we’re doing. But we feel very good about where we’re at right now. (1280)

No comments yet

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

