Skip to content

Vegas Summer League Game 2: Utah Jazz vs. Milwaukee Bucks

July 15, 2014

Please welcome guest recapper, Derrick Favors:

favors recap

rodney-rudy8

Too many highlights to .gif!

Just watch these, courtesy of @memoismoney:



 

Post-Game Quotage
** Quin Snyder on Rodney Hood’s performance
I thought he did a good job playing defense, staying in front of his man. We want him to shoot when he’s open. In fact, the best thing about [his shooting night] is he didn’t hunt his shot…I was just as happy with him the other night, ’cause he took the same shots.
** Snyder on Trey Burke
I was really, really pleased with Trey, the way the ball moved. You know, he set the example…[Leadership] is something that we’ve talked about, all the little things, you know, all the little things that go into it. Helping his teammates, whether it’s on the court, off the court, in film. You know, he had a couple comments in the film session the other day about pick and roll spacing, and where he needs people to be so he can find them. You know, that’s the kind of stuff we need from him, and we need guys to listen to him, ’cause he, I think he has a really good understanding of the game.
** Snyder on Rudy Gobert’s development
He’s putting himself in position to make more plays defensively. I think when the ball is in front of him, you know, he’s long and tall and he’ll block some shots. I think he’s doing a better job protecting his teammates. Hopefully, he’s got confidence that when he leaves to come over and block a shot, that, you know, his teammates are gonna crack down on his man and [can] help rebound.
Can you see him playing a bigger role this year?
You know, if he plays like that and defends like that, you know, he’s got the opportunity to help our team. You know, we got a number of guys that we wanna rely on. We wanna have a bench. We wanna have a good bench. I wanna trust the bench. And you know, I think Rudy can be a part of that.
** Sndyer on Dante Exum’s performance
I want him to keep attacking. You know, I thought there was a couple times when he could’ve caught and drove the ball, where he was, just kinda, he was pausing for a second. And you know, part of it’s that he’s so unselfish, and he knew what kind of night Rodney was having. He was trying to move it, which, you know, we’ll take that any time. And you know, I thought he attacked the other night. We just gotta keep, he’s gotta know that that’s okay to go at it all the time, ’cause I have confidence in him that when he does that, he’ll find open people as well.

jerry game 2

** Rodney Hood on his game tonight
First game…all the shots felt good, but you know, I tried to, I wasn’t holding my follow-through. I was just shooting it. And today, I felt way more relaxed. I got open shots, you know, from Trey and Dante, especially with Rudy playing like he was playing. The floor opened up, and you know, after practice, I j–I mean, I always been a confident shooter. You know, some days I’m gon have bad games, and some games I’m gonna have, like, games like tonight, so it’s just part of it…Today, I told myself I was gon start off going to the basket and get into the lane. First couple shots were in the pla–or, mid-range shots. And once I felt comfortable–Trey got mad at me for passing up a couple, but at the same time I had to get comfortable. And I was trying to, you know, pass the ball, do other things, defend, and then my shot will come.
** Hood on what he wants to show during the remainder of summer league
Just trying to win. Every single game, we trying to win. You know, obviously everybody wanna play good individually, but at the same time, you know, everybody know we can play. So, it’s just about winning.
** Rudy Gobert on how different his role is under Snyder vs. under Tyrone Corbin
I mean, every coach love when I block shot for sure, but it’s just a different, like, different basics, you know? Like, every coach got his own way of coaching, and I really like the way [Snyder] put me in confidence. And he help me a lot. (Utah Jazz)

Random Stuff, etc.
** People calling Kyrylo Fesenko “pretty much an apartment complex on his own” yesterday: Minnesota – Washington announcer
** And your nightly Fes moment:

fes hanging

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Craig Bolerjack on Dante Exum: There’s talent inside that young man’s body, and I’m anxious to see how it grows.
** Boler on Rudy Gobert: Impressed a lot of people down there. I heard a lot of rumbling of excitement of how he’s handled himself.
** Boler on Malcolm Thomas: They like his body. They brought him, remember, in off waivers in late January and never really got a chance to find a role under Ty Corbin.
** Mateen Cleaves: Rudy Gobert, once again, he goes there. Rudy Gobert, he goes.
Vince Cellini: Over and over.
** Cleaves: Look at guys like Paul Pierce. Look at Carmelo. They’re not muscular guys. You don’t see muscle just popping out everywhere.
** Cellini after Hood checks back in and hits a shot: Hood is back in and doing THAT!
** Boler after Hood checks back in and hits a shot: Hood, after a rest, is back and the rhythm is still there!
** Jared Greenberg to Hood after the game: Honestly, how good did it feel to do it with Jabari on the other team?
Hood: Nah, I mean, it felt good.
** Quin Snyder, post-game: I don’t want our guys to think about positions. I want ‘em to think about each other.

No comments yet

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

