Skip to content

Bits from Summer League Training Camp Open Practice

July 11, 2014

(*In grandfather from The Princess Bride voice*) The arena was filled as never before to hear the announcement of the great coach Quin Snyder’s Jazz-to-be.

BsOjyzbCcAI4HNH.jpg largevia @utahjazz

Okay, not as “never before,” but it was more filled than during games last season.

quin tweets

A couple of plays:

trey-jones

rudy-slam

exum-to-hood

Note Brad Jones’ reaction on the Trey Burke shot. From what I saw–little though it may be–Jones was very active on the sideline, constantly popping out of his seat, talking to guys, directing guys, etc…

jones exum


snyder
** On Dante Exum
Obviously, he’ll shoot the ball better. I think he’s nervous. He got tired. And, but again, both he and Trey [Burke are] passing the ball. I mean, they can get it into gaps, and they make plays for other people.
** On Rudy Gobert
If Rudy embraces the things that he’s good at and the things that our team needs, he’ll have an opportunity to play and really have an opportunity to succeed. If he continues to run like that, we’ve created a lane for him to run, okay, and we call it the “alley.” He’s an alley big, where he’s the trail big. And if he can do that, they’ll throw him the ball. Our guys are good about sharing it. And obviously, on defense he’s a presence down there. We’ve asked him to come out more right now. We’ll be smart about, you know, keeping him in a position where he can impact the game. And again, if he’s focused on the right things, you know, he’ll be impactful.

people callingQuin Snyder already has a leg up on everyone on the previous coaching staff and everyone in the front office.

** On Rodney Hood
I think it’s true of a lot of shooters. It just takes a little to get your legs, you know, relaxed and you can see even when he missed, that he’s got a good stroke. I liked him too, he’s down in a st–I like seeing our guys in a stance.
** On Trey Burke
I think part of the summer league, for him to lead, for him to have a presence. I’ve been on him maybe more than anybody, about making defensive–one of the best plays tonight was he got up in his guy on the pick and roll, and he tried to go over the top and he drew a foul. And if he can keep doing that stuff on the ball and really set an example, that’s a big thing to me.
** Can we keep a mic on you every game?
I was afraid of the microphone. I got the handheld just ’cause I didn’t know, you know, you gotta be careful. Didn’t want to turn the fans off right away.

BsPQI-8CAAE1IXZvia @DJJazzyJody

burke
** How big is this summer in terms of your personal growth?
It’s really big. I think for me, I just want to be the, be that leader. The voice on the court, you know, for the young guys, and for, you know, the guys that’s coming in, you know, for summer league. So, I think today was a, you know, a good, like, preview, going into Vegas. You know, I think we all were kind of shocked and surprised with how many people was out there. I think the biggest thing is we all played hard. I’m glad my team got the win.
** What are the offensive differences between this year and last year’s coaching staffs?
I think we just got a little more freedom…[Quin Snyder] lets us just go. He lets us play in the pick and roll. There’s more drag screens. And I think that kinda opens up the court more, and I think a lot of you could see out there, you know, we were just playing. We weren’t really as stagnant as we was last year, and I think that’s going to be to our advantage.
** On Derrick Favors being in the house
Well, we need him around. He’s one of our leaders…It was good to see him out there. You know, I’m glad, I know the crowd was glad to see him, you know, still being here even though he doesn’t have to. So, it was good seeing him. I think we needed to see him.

exum
** Were nerves a factor?
No, I didn’t think so. Like, coming in the changing room, I was fine. I knew it was gonna be a lot of people, but I think when they started clapping for me it was kind of, it kind of hit me a bit.
** Did it take awhile to feel settled in the scrimmage?
Yeah, when you get in and your adrenaline’s up, you just wanna run, run, run, and it kind of took me a bit just to kind of settle down and just start playing my game. My shots weren’t falling tonight, but you know, it was just about getting my teammates involved and I think I did that well.
** Were your legs an issue?
Yeah, the legs are always gonna be [tired] from practice, but you know, I’m going into an 82-game season, so that can’t be an excuse. And it’s just something that I have to work on.
** How do you think you played in the pick and roll?
It definitely, when the offensive end isn’t working for me, I look to go into the defense and make a difference there. And I f–I made it my mission to play as hard as I can on the ball, and definitely the pick and roll. And [Snyder] has emphasized pick and roll defense is something that we really need to work on, and I, so it was just about playing hard and getting over screens.

hood
** On 10,000 fans showing up to watch the practice
Man, that was crazy. You know, I got chills just walking out there on the court. I mean, I just appreciate our fans coming out.
** On nerves
I had a little jitters, just going out there for the first time, and, me and Dante both. But once I got going, you know, it was good. I got a little rhythm.
** On keeping the floor spread
Spacing. That’s what coach been preaching, you know? All the time, just spacing. It gives him room to operate, and it gives us a chance to, you know, make a play or knock down shots. So it’s been great for me, especially, because I can shoot.

Unintentional Dirty Quote Machines of the Night (UDQM)
** Quin Snyder on Trey Burke and Dante Exum’s passing ability: They can get it into gaps.
** Snyder on Rodney Hood: It just takes a little to get your legs, you know, relaxed and you can see even when he missed, that he’s got a good stroke.
** Snyder on Burke: I’ve been on him maybe more than anybody…If he can keep doing that stuff on the ball and really set an example, that’s a big thing to me.
** Snyder on being mic’ed up: I got the handheld just ’cause I didn’t know, you know, you gotta be careful. Didn’t want to turn the fans off right away.
** Exum on nerves: Coming in the changing room, I was fine. I knew it was gonna be a lot of people, but I think when they started clapping for me it was kind of, it kind of hit me a bit.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. The Jorge permalink
    July 11, 2014 10:05 pm

    So Excited!

Trackbacks

  1. Looking Ahead: 2014-15 Season - SportsHoopla.com Sports Forums

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

