Skip to content

Off-season Odds and Ends

June 16, 2014

One. Here’s an excerpt from the first interview Tyrone Corbin has done since being let go (as far as I know) where he talks about how he viewed his role as coach:

I think it’s a leadership role, father figure, authority figure. Modern day athletes seem to have a harder time with respect for authority and how to deal with being told “No”. They have a harder time dealing with what’s best for the team and not what best for “me”. And at the pro level it’s really difficult because that may be the first time they have heard it.

I have had to tell them “I don’t care what’s best for you I have to do what’s best for the team.” They have to accept that while they are making a lot of money doing it…It’s an interesting dynamic. The coaches have to play that father role a lot more now than when I was a player.

We grew up respecting any adult – 21 and older that was an adult. We had to listen to that adult. They were the grown up you were the kid. Shut up and listen. Period. It’s a different animal now. It’s a whole different approach to be able to communicate with kids and reach them without compromising who you are and what you stand for in the process. These kids are used to breaking those barriers down to get to where they want it to be which may not be the best thing for anybody.

Two. Corbin was also asked about his future plans:

It depends on how much longer I want to work. I’ve always enjoyed coming back to Columbia to live. I’ve always planned on making this our permanent residence. I don’t know what God has for me next. We’ll just have to wait and see.

I’m in a good place now. We still have a lot of opportunities – in the business and out of the business. I still enjoy coaching. I look forward to still doing that a little bit. I’m open. (Momentum)

Three. Walt Perrin on Marcus Smart not having worked out for the Jazz, June 5:

If we like him at [the fifth pick], and he doesn’t come in, we’ll still take him.

Marcus Smart on June 15 (tweet since deleted):

smart tweet

Four. We know that Karl Malone has a man crush on LeBron James. Sounds like John Stockton might have one too. :)

stock lebron

Five. Derrick Favors (@dfavors14) getting cryo’ed at P3:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2014 11:16 pm

    Dennis Lindsey: “I love you.”
    Derrick Favors: “I know.”

  2. Jordan Cummings permalink
    June 17, 2014 3:26 pm

    Corbin sounds so butt hurt in that interview.

Trackbacks

  1. 2014 NBA Draft - SportsHoopla.com Sports Forums

Thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 140 other followers

